Skip to content

A funny battered car

April 28, 2007
tags:

This is for real. A battered Santro driving on Mumbai roads. Near Sion circle. We Indians don’t like to throw things away, but this sight was too funny to be missed and luckily I had my cell phone with me to capture the sight. And those guys in the car happily waved out to me, grinning from ear to ear. They even obligingly slowed down. What amazed me was that this car was still running! This my friends can happen only in India!

Related viewing: Funny signs
Amul hoardings
Sweet Salted Translations
Funny signs from Pune
Bal Thackeray’s election campaign ads
Freaky electronic scenes

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2007 11:47 am

    Yes Nita our India is great peoples are modernizing day by day but we never try to forget our old days or our old things or our old friends.

    Its happen only in India.

  2. April 28, 2007 8:50 pm

    Subikar is right. It happens only in India. So much creativity comes out of this chaos. I love it.

  3. April 29, 2007 2:45 am

    Oh, Nita – this makes me smile and remember my first car a 1953 Hillman convertible my friends called “The Swimming Pool” – the roof, of cloth held water all the time, birds could bathe in the top, and there is a lot of rain in BC! It was finally ordered off the road by the police after i tried to outrun them and hide in a garage in a back alley, and they caught me and made me walk away. I loved my little heap so much, but this gem you show here is priceless. I love this! :-)

  4. Nika permalink
    April 29, 2007 12:48 pm

    This made me smile too! Kind of reminds me of that sktch in Goodness Gracious Me – where they show those mechanics mending a space ship by banging on it with little hammers! wonder if that’s what these guys do?!! Lol!

  5. April 30, 2007 6:53 pm

    You have not seen anything. Go to Nigeria and you will see vehicles held together not by bolts and screws but by ropes, strips of wire, determination and then prayer

  6. June 6, 2008 1:22 pm

    Hey nita.
    It was very entertaining the way you explained the picture. The picture was pretty self explanatory but you explanation just added some spice to the picture…

    Seeing your picture reminded me of an old Malayalam movie “Ee Parakkum Thalika” ….I cant translate it in English accurately…Its about an old bus and shows how the owner takes care of the bus although its pretty old. It shows how he uses the bus as his house with kitchen, bedroom, terrace and even bathroom with showering facility.
    We Indians really know how to use things to their maximum potential. I think it comes from our habit of being very stingy. We do not like to spend much money and we bargain a lot if we ever buy something. I am proud to be an Indian..haha..

    Keep posting wonderful photos about India.

    Kannan

  7. June 6, 2008 1:30 pm

    A bit late to thank you all for your responses, but they say better late than never! I was not diligent about answering comments on this blog earlier, but I have improved. Thanks again!

  8. January 30, 2010 4:29 pm

    i think its a condemned car(may be in an accident) for disposal of the remaining parts they are taking to the disposal spot

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 415 other followers

