Skip to content

Summary posts of the last week

July 29, 2007

This summary post sort of helps me (I hope it helps readers!) to look back on what I have written the previous week and think about the subjects I have written about. Generally when I write I do not plan what to write on a particular day as I have several ideas and posts going on at the same time. What actually appears on that particular day depends on whether I am satisfied with the research I have done on that subject, or whether the post is about a current event, or how strongly I feel about something. At times I want to write about a particular topic, but keep postponing it, thinking that I cannot add much value…so basically what comes out is not a result of weekly planning, but as a result of weekly outpouring…I don’t know whether I am making much sense. Anyway, here is what I wrote during the last seven days:-

  • Fake publicity stunts by political parties should get wider coverage

    The news about a political party staging a publicity stunt was not reported widely, at least I didn’t see it in the national newspapers. But this is a very important piece of news and an eye-opener for the public because this sort of thing is common behavior with certain kinds of political…

  • How does India treat the north-easterners?

    Although India is a good example of a country having within itself a multi-cultural and multi-ethnic society, there are certain parts of India who feel alienated from the ‘mainstream’. The north-east is a prime example.Maybe I did not think too deeply of this earlier because I was insulated from…

  • Tackling sound pollution caused by heavy traffic

    India is developing at a fast clip and nothing reminds us more of this fact every single day than the growing number of vehicles on the roads. Usually its the traffic jams, lack of parking space and accidents that we complain about. All these are terrible for motorists….but what about the price…

  • Trade is better than Aid!

    I think its not such a bad thing that the the U.S. has decided to call India a “transforming country” instead of developing one and as a result is going to cut aid. I think its a matter of pride. Basically, I am glad that the US has not clubbed India with countries such as Iraq, [...]

  • Why is eve-teasing so common in India?

    When I first heard of this incident where a group of boys in Mumbai followed some young girls and then almost ran over one of them in their eagerness to attract their attention I was shocked. The injured girl (just ten years old!) was shown on TV and it was reported that she could be [...]

  • Movie Review Zodiac

    Just when India was feeling happy about Hollywood movies being released here at the same time as they are in the U.S….comes this one. Zodiac. A thriller based on a real life serial killer – the Zodiac. Its been released in India almost 4 months late. Disappointing…the late release I mean. Was…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2007 4:13 pm

    You’re making perfect sense, and yes this summary is helpful because you’re so prolific!

  2. July 29, 2007 4:51 pm

    Thanks Mahendra. You are as prolific, if not more!
    Actually I used to write more posts a month at one time….it has reduced slightly. I only occasionally upload my printed articles nowadays, and put more effort into each post. It is very satisfying when I find that I have actually helped someone with the information.

  3. July 30, 2007 9:15 am

    I like this summary concept…haven’t seen in any blogs so far. Useful for non-regular visitors…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 430 other followers

