Skip to content

Twelve things to be wary of while eating out

January 30, 2008

restaurant.jpg 1. Familiar with Today’s Special? Well, these are often over-priced. Often, the only special thing about them is that they are seasonal. Actually seasonal dishes should be cheap, but ‘Specials’ aren’t, and the only thing special about them is often just the price!

2. Impressive looking buffets are often great at disguising stale food. You are attracted by the price at which you get a wide variety of dishes, but chefs can be pretty ingenious in couching stale food in innovative salads and vague looking curries.

3. In any case don’t assume any dish is fresh unless you’ve seen it cooking yourself. Hotels frequently use frozen ingredients. The danger is that one doesn’t know how often it has been re-frozen.

4. There’s the question of colours too. In India, a wide range of colours (including thosepasta.jpg banned in developed countries) are allowed in food and there is little supervision from the authorities. This means that colours and flavours are used liberally in hotels in India and also in mithai. There is far more control on the usage of synthetic colours and flavours in packaged and branded food sold by companies than the usage in food sold in hotels.

5. Synthetic and processed thickeners/powders are routinely used for soups, curries and sauces, yes even in five-star hotels.

6. At times you get impressed when you hear that a certain celebrity frequents a particular food joint. This comes across as news, but it is usually ‘arranged’ and paid for.

7. Nothing is free really. Even if you get bread sticks free or Kimchi, rest assured that it’s all factored into the cost of the dishes.

8. There are some restaurants which levy a service charge. There is this restaurant called Ruby Tuesday which levies a service charge even on their salad bar! Here the waiter does nothing but bring you the bill. And even otherwise, the service charge is levied whatever the quality of the service.

9. If you are in a hurry and ask the waiter if a particular dish will be ready in ten minutes and he says yes, he actually means not on your life! Waiters and cooks in restaurants live in a different time zone. Our ten minutes equals their 20. They want you to linger…why you just might order that drink you didn’t want to! Mark-ups on drinks are usually very high.

10. We all have been disappointed at the size of our servings haven’t we! But what about when restaurants don’t tell you that ordering one dish is enough? Recently we ordered Sarson ka Saag at this restaurant called Only Parathas and found that it was enough for two people! But it was too late to cancel our other order.

11. A trick restaurants use to justify the price of dishes is to use fancy, foreign sounding names.

12. Don’t take restaurant reviews in newspapers and magazines to heart. Reviewers get special treatment!

money.jpg

(Photographs are by me. While most of the tips are from my own experience and observation I have also referred to this Guardian article)

Related Reading: Chemicals and colours in food.
The lure of fake food

42 Comments leave one →
  1. January 30, 2008 12:34 pm

    I agree with several points mentioned here. Reviews and celebrity visits, both are bought for.

    And the practice of stale food in buffet is common. I had hotel management graduate who worked in a 5-star as roomie, she told me it i pretty common for chefs to re-serve the stale food or left-over sometimes! Can you believe that. Id dint until she showed me around. Their re-served dishes too look pretty,

    Never drink water from a glass in banquet of a 5-star. They never wash it. She said most of them are too tired to wash it. :(

    People glady pay at Ruby Tuesday without realizing what for service charge they are paying. :(

  2. January 30, 2008 12:47 pm

    Poonam, thanks for those additions. That was what I was hoping for…people adding their own tips! I’ll tell you one thing more…once a friend of mine forgot something in her room at Hotel Carlton, Bangalore (5-star) and she went up to get it after they had checked out. When she walked in through the open door she saw a worker wiping the used glass with a used pillowcase!

  3. January 30, 2008 12:49 pm

    this is a nice post

    i prefer joints that r simple and have great food

  4. January 30, 2008 3:06 pm

    Interesting :) I should send this link to my room mate, whose hobby is to taste whatever varieties of food that he can put his hands on..I am not that creative when it comes to dining outside… ( even though most of my week days are away from home )….. now a days we r trying hard to influence each others’ food habits lol.. :)

  5. January 30, 2008 4:57 pm

    At an expensive restaurant in Cochin…We ordered for pastries and asked the waiter “Were these prepared today?”
    he said “Yes sir, else we would move it to the buffet !!!!!!”
    he added “oops !!!!”

  6. January 30, 2008 4:57 pm

    Nice article.

    Can I put your articles in my website?

  7. January 30, 2008 5:09 pm

    Prax, I too prefer places which are inexpensive and simple but have good food!

    Dinsan, thanks! :

    Xylene, looks like the buffet thing is an open secret!

    Satish, copying my articles isn’t allowed. That is clear from the sidebar on the right where I have said ‘do not copy’. You need to write your own stuff…at the most you can write an introduction and give a link to this particular post (if you like).Thanks. :)

  8. Vivek Khadpekar permalink
    January 30, 2008 5:58 pm

    Last week I took a friend, visiting from out of town, to dinner at a decent restaurant which is a bit pricey, but they serve fairly large portions of fairly good food. Since we are both fond of fish, we ordered a fish curry. Then my friend decided that she would also like to order egg bhurji (for dinner!) because she hadn’t had it in a long time.

    When the food arrived we found that the bhurji was unlike anything that either of us had either seen or tasted before — smothered in a generous dollop of gravy. Anyway, it tasted good, so we had no complaints except for the nomenclature. Midway through the meal my friend ventured a guess that it was egg curry from lunch, which they had served after mincing the boiled eggs!

    So that’s one more way of innovatively recycling leftovers.

  9. wishtobeanon permalink
    January 30, 2008 6:35 pm

    I wonder about the hygiene part too. How hygienic is the restaurant kitchen or the bathroom? – that is another question we need to ask before venturing out to eat, I think. I wonder if there is any health inspection checks at these restaurants? If the restaurants were given ratings (on cleanliness, fresh food etc.) by the health inspectors based on their findings, it would have been an ideal world.

  10. January 30, 2008 6:45 pm

    Vivek, I am not surprised at all! Innovative is what these cooks are!
    wishtobeanon, forget about hygeine! :) Don’t you know bacteria and worms add to the taste. :D Well, we have strong stomachs here you know! Even then we need to de-worm regularly.

  11. Vivek Khadpekar permalink
    January 30, 2008 6:54 pm

    Regarding service charges at restaurants: one would have imagined that since they are built into the bill, there is no question of additionally tipping the waiter. But so many of us do tip anyway — and not because we are particularly pleased with the service either. And the waiters also seem to expect it: notice their dirty looks or sulky expressions when they find there is no tip, or too little. I understand from people in the restaurant business that the salaries of waiters in particular are pegged deliberately low because it is
    presumed that they WILL earn handsomely in tips.

    BTW if you are paying by credit card, you may have noticed that both the merchant and customer copy of the payslip has a blank space after the bill amount for “Tips”. If you are not tipping (or tipping separately in cash) make sure to draw a line or a squiggle through this blank space (particularly in the merchant copy), and rewrite the bill amount in your own hand against “Total”. A friend of mine got ripped off at a renowned restaurant in Delhi by the waiter (or someone further up the line) adding an amount equivalent to 50% of the bill, and a corresponding enhanced total. How anyone could derive personal benefit from this I don’t know, but caveat emptor!

    I can, of course, visualise a situation in which a person with an expense account, regularly patronising the same restaurant or hotel, can have an “arrangement” with an employee in the establishment to receive a cut against the bills [s]he runs up. In theory, every bill submitted to one’s employers for reimbursement is subject to audit, but I imagine people senior enough to have expense accounts are not scrutinised all that closely unless they are already under a cloud and the management is looking for something to pin on them.

    A furhter caution: If you are ordering hard liquor by the peg at a “classy” bar, check that you are being billed for what in fact you ordered. A common fiddle is being charged by the full peg (60 ml) against orders for half pegs (30 ml). Some bars deliberately keep the menu vague, specifying rates without mentioning the quantity, and when you question a bill twice as large as what you you estimated, they coolly tell you the prices printed in the menu are for half-pegs, whereas what you were served were full pegs (which they well may have been, but it is still a sneaky way of making an extra buck).

    Another thing to look out for, particularly if you are in a large group of drinkers and ordering upmarket brands, is whether, after the first couple of rounds, you have indeed been served the brand you ordered and are paying for. It is a well known fact that after a couple of drinks many people cannot discern the difference between a Glenmorangie and a Haywards No. 1!

  12. January 30, 2008 7:07 pm

    Thanks for those tips Vivek! Specially that one about the credit card. Those who travel and use their credit card regularly need to be careful of that.
    Of late though I am wary of giving my credit card in restaurants. There are stories of scams where waiters are hand in glove with crooks. I have now made a rule for myself. Never let my credit card out of my sight.

  13. Raj permalink
    January 30, 2008 8:07 pm

    Nita,

    Thanks for these tips! I was aware of some of them,but now I will take extra care.And I am grateful to Vivek for the tip about cards.Everyone is getting more careful with their cards these days,thanks to the awareness created by the media about the scams.But still,there are occasions where we have to use them as carrying cash around is worse.Taking a little extra care about cards should do the trick,though.

    Talking about hygiene in restaurants,a friend once told me that he had been to the kitchen of a five star restaurant and there were quite a few cockroaches scurrying about.I personally prefer to eat in places where the kitchen is visible through a transparent partition,but even then one can never be sure about the hygiene thing.

    And thanks for the tip about reviews.Now,I know why restaurant reviews are so mildly critical when compared to movie reviews!

  14. January 30, 2008 8:39 pm

    By the looks of it, you all need to stay home and cook your own meals. :-)

  15. Vivek Khadpekar permalink
    January 30, 2008 9:29 pm

    Count ME out of that Shefaly! I do eat at home most of the time, and therefore keenly look forward to the occasional change — novelty being the spice of life and all that jazz.

  16. January 30, 2008 10:18 pm

    Count me out too. I cook two meals for four people twice a day and I need a break of at least two meals a week! :)

  17. January 30, 2008 10:47 pm

    @ Vivek and @ Nita:

    I beat you both! :-)

    I cook 5 breakfasts and 5 dinners a week (dinner left overs are also lunch sometimes, else toast), and I eat lunch out once a week, which precludes the need for dinner. And I bypass formal eating in favour of oranges, carrots, bananas, a croissant, coffee and several newspapers (which I do not eat but with them, I do not notice food) once a week.

  18. January 30, 2008 11:00 pm

    I beat all of you :). I not only cook, breakfast, lunch and dinner for me, but also for my roommate five days a week. Plus I like to host, so weekends are busy :P

  19. wishtobeanon permalink
    January 30, 2008 11:24 pm

    :-) Nice discussion!
    :-)

  20. January 30, 2008 11:35 pm

    @ Nita: Having thrown a random remark in the comments section, I think you will enjoy reading Anthony Bourdain’s book ‘Kitchen Confidential’ (‘enjoy’ being a highly subjective emotion because it may put queasy ones off eating out altogether). I read it in hardback some 7 years ago. And I have also enjoyed reading his other books – equally brutal.

    I read a lot of foodie books as you can guess! Ruth Reichl’s autobiography in 3 parts is great. She is/ was the editor of Gourmet magazine and a food and restaurant critic for the NY Times. Her latest book “Garlic and Sapphires: The Secret Life of a Critic in Disguise” will easily challenge your view that “Reviewers get special treatment!”. I would change it to DISHONEST reviewers get special treatment.

    Two good and typically British (in their cynicism) restaurant reviewers are AA Gill and Giles Coren. One of the former’s restaurant reviews was where I extracted the excerpt on manners versus etiquette on.

  21. January 30, 2008 11:58 pm

    11. A trick restaurants use to justify the price of dishes is to use fancy, foreign sounding names.

    The way to avoid getting conned by this is quite simple. Ask them what it is. And if the reply is a concise, “its a dish with ingredient A, B and C in a brown coconut curry”, the waiter is yanking your chain or he doesn’t know anything. Ask for the manager. If the dish is authentic, the waiter/manager will have no problem telling you in detail how it is prepared.

    As for buffets, I have been to a few buffets where I entered a few minutes before the actual time. I asked to see the kitchen while I waited. I am not sure if they just obliged me, or if it is a rule that they should allow customers. Any clarification will be welcome.

    As for the cooking battle… I cook everyday. Atleast 2 meals. Sometimes all 3. I eat out about once in 2 weeks or a month. I usually cook whatever it is I want to eat out. I find it to be an unusual stress buster.

  22. January 31, 2008 12:02 am

    @Priyank: So your roommates are just along for the ride??? :O

  23. January 31, 2008 12:12 am

    And all this while I thought The Depressed Doormat was a woman… :-)

    [Sorry, Guqin, I forgive you for thinking I was a guy!]

  24. January 31, 2008 12:50 am

    Ouch!!!

    What gave me away though :P

  25. January 31, 2008 2:16 am

    No great secret. I just clicked through on your link. :-)

  26. January 31, 2008 2:39 am

    I live in an agricultural community with access to whole foods and organic produce for a good portion of the year. We are fortunate that much of the food (in-season) is purchased locally, but when I leave town, I’m terrified of eating out. Our last trip to NC, I decided to stop at the local markets and co-ops and made it a point to eat what I carried with me. This helps, bt certainly isn’t very easy!

    Those eat-out occasions are definitely more about the social delight than the cuisine.

  27. Vivek Khadpekar permalink
    January 31, 2008 5:54 am

    Shefaly,

    //…bypass formal eating in favour of oranges, carrots, bananas, a croissant, coffee…//

    Yikes!!! Brings back memories I’d rather forget. Fortunately you didn’t mention apples, which I hate (notwithstanding the benefits to health claimed on their behalf).

  28. Vivek Khadpekar permalink
    January 31, 2008 6:23 am

    DD, Nita, Shefaly:

    As long as ours was a nuclear family, and we had no cook, I used to enjoy cooking — including cleaning up afterwards :-) — and I agree it IS a good stress buster. However, my wife always felt I was too keen to make a cultural statement with anything I cooked, and my sessions in the kitchen tended to become a theatrical production. With a purely functional and pragmatic view of cooking, she decided I was best left out of the proceedings.

    So now my adventures in the kitchen are limited to the occasional tea or coffee or an omelette.

    The omelette, by the way HAS to be a theatrical production if you want to get it nice and fluffy the way I do (when allowed to). And talking of theatre in the kitchen, I wonder if any of you has read Arnold Wesker’s “The Four Seasons” — a quartet, one of which features a character making apfelstrudel. Wesker, at the beginning of the script of the play, gives detailed directions on the dramatic movements inlvolved in preparing the pastry jacket of the strudel (they read a bit like our khansamas preparing rumali roti) and insists that if actors can take the trouble of learning fencing when a role demands it, they must equally learn to make apfelstrudel when the need arises.

    Well, a fluffy omelette or an apfelstrudel are theatrically in quite a different league than a sizzler — which is all noise and fumes and no art. Also (a bit off-topic) in restaurants I stronly feel there should be a separate area for those who order sizzlers — in the smokers’ area, maybe?

  29. January 31, 2008 7:59 am

    Priyank, Shefaly, DD, not fair! Cooking for one person and cooking for several is a big difference!

    Priyank, aren’t you paying any rent? :)

    Shefaly that dishonest reviewer point is interesting. Could it be that it’s different in the UK? Here even if an honest reviewer here pays for his meal, he is known to be reviewer and therefore gets the best treatment. The really dishonest ones are often treated to free meals not just for themselves but for family/friends.

    Vivek, sorry to hear about your being chucked out of the kitchen! :) I am still trying to figure out though what theatrical food productions actually are.

  30. Vivek Khadpekar permalink
    January 31, 2008 9:07 am

    Nita,

    I think I gave at least three examples of culinary theatrics in my post, of which at least the rumali roti one you must have been witness to; and fluffy omelette, involving carefully separating the yolk (taking care not to burst it until it’s thoroughly separated) and the white, and adding them to the frying pan in two stages, is something you must have done yourself. Come to think of it, even rolling a chapati (especially the “ghadi-chi-poLi” that we have in Western Maharashtra) without letting its shape become like something out of an atlas, does involve some drama.

    At a far more elementary level, there is theatre in the way halwais in many parts of North India serves hot milk by the yard.

    Regarding cooking for one person against many, I don’t agree with you. When you cook just for yourself, that takes much longer than actually eating the meal, which is a crashing bore.

  31. January 31, 2008 9:24 am

    vivek, I tend to be a bit of a perfectionist too so I didn’t see anything theatrical in that. Anyway, not that I do it everyday. can’t afford to.
    Btw, have you tried cutting a kilo of vegetables a day? Or grinding fresh masalas every few days (I don’t buy ready-made ones)? I have a bai to make chappattis but with the abseentism I land up making the atta and chappattis too off and on. Plus my bai chops a limited amount of veggies once a day, so i have to cut loads…as we are voracious vegetable eaters…salads, vegetables with every meal. Overall I think cooking for four is quite a tedious and time-consuming job…more masalas, more vegetables to chop (more shopping!)…more soaking dals and washing them, more frying, but I think you haven’t done it so find it difficult to realise it!

    p.s. you must be wondering why we don’t keep a cook, well I have tried but I am too much of a perfectionist. I pride myself on being the health manager of the home and ensure to have a wide variety of fresh food on the table, cook with less oil, and we have separate (different dishes) meals for lunch and dinner. We have at least 2-3 dishes for each meal to get a balanced meal and this is not including salad or raita. For breakfast we eat fresh fruit mostly. I am a foodie too I am obssessed with fresh food cooked in a healthy way. No cooks for me please! In fact I don’t like to keep chopped vegetables for more than a minute. I detest re-heating either. If I freeze it’s immediately after cooking and it’s used just once…I could go on and on…

  32. Vivek Khadpekar permalink
    January 31, 2008 10:27 am

    Nita,

    No. I admit not having done half the things you mention, and I can see it becoming too much of a chore to bust stress.

    For us, because both of us work (I am not suggesting that you do not, but you are self-employed and, I guess, doing an entirely honorary job, and this blog does not as yet have a commercial angle), having a cook is a necessity.

    We have hired one through a working women’s cooperative, which means paying more, but they are quite professional. If the cook has to take leave she gives advance notice, and they arrange for a substitute, whom we have to retrain to cook the way we like (low-oil, low spices etc.) but at least we don’t end up either starving or ordering home-delivery pizza!

  33. January 31, 2008 10:34 am

    Vivek, besides running the home I also free-lance and also work at my novel!
    And when I was was working full-time at ET I picked up fresh veggies from the station on the way back (around 8 p.m) and cooked for all of us. true, I didn’t cook lunch I had a bai who made poli bhaji in a dabba. But at the time we cooked breakfast as the kids were younger, but yeah, my husband helped. I don’t think it’s necessary to hire a cook only because one is working and/or earning a lot of money, but yes, if you find a good professional cook who does things the way you want, yes! I am looking for one too!

  34. January 31, 2008 11:48 am

    @Nita: I must concede. Off late I have been cooking for myself, or at most, 2 of my roommates included. But last year, I had 4 other roommates, and we had cooking turns (they should have told me about this before I came to the US, I would reconsider). So I have cooked for 5 people. I hate it. It is not the cutting of veggies or rolling the rotis (only done that once for the entire group) that annoys me. It is the cleaning task after, the catering to 5 different tastes. It puts a limit on your creativity. Thats what makes cooking fun!!

    http://ihyphenhate.blogspot.com/2008/01/heat-changes-food-change-it-right-way.html

    As for freezing veggies, that is hardly a matter worth fussing about. Most freezer friendly veggies have a reason they are frozen. Take corn for example (which lasts just 2 days in the fridge). Add bleach and lime to it, and bacteria and enzymes in the corn cease to be a problem. Storage time, 2 weeks.

    Or take for that matter peas. Peas “lose” 40% of their sugar to starch conversion in the first 24 hours of picking. Hence the freezing of shelled peas is quite logical. Unless of course you are guaranteed to get fresh produce. The last time I had that privilege in Bombay, I cannot recall.

  35. Vivek Khadpekar permalink
    January 31, 2008 11:57 am

    Nita,

    //…and/or earning a lot of money…//

    Not really! Just enough to lead a modestly comfortable existence.

  36. January 31, 2008 12:01 pm

    @ Nita: I have to second TDD here. Harold McGee’s book on the science of cooking is an instruction manual all aspiring cooks should posses and be familiar with.

    There are many ways to cut down preparation time for many people’s meal because cooking takes roughly the same time for 2 or 10 people. Especially for nutrition-conscious people. The use of frozen vegetables is especially recommended for spinach, broccoli, peas and carrots, especially if someone wants to eat healthy.

    I have had a housekeeper but her job was to clean. I never outsource my cooking. I do not trust anyone that much! Besides if I change my mind, do I always have to eat what the Bai cooked? (Aside: we used the term ‘Bai’ in Gwalior but in UP, it was a different story altogether! A woman would run after you with a jhadoo if called a Bai in Lucknow. Usually the term refers to professional dancers…).

  37. January 31, 2008 1:03 pm

    Shefaly, DD, I am very familiar with all those things you mention. One full cupboard on my kitchen has books on cooking, freezing etc! But no I don’t believe in it, I prefer fresh. Call me old fashioned. I have not read Harold McGee though…but if he is talking about freezing, he is not for me.
    In any case we don’t have a freezer and the one that is attached to my refrigerator is usually packed to the brim with non vegetarian food, mainly fish, prawns, chicken. Yes, that is usually the only thing I freeze…meat, fish, ice and ice-cream! Left over veggies are given away.
    As for buying cut vegetables, I recoil in horror at the thought! I think my way is the healthiest, but ofcourse I maybe a little old-fashioned and refuse to change. And I do most of the work myself, and do it willingly and with a joy deep inside that I am keeping my family healthy. Also I buy fresh vegetables every day or two too!

  38. January 31, 2008 2:21 pm

    @ Nita: I am surprised you say “but if he is talking about freezing, he is not for me.” :-) I did not have you down as a person who closes her eyes to evidence.

    In any case, we could argue till the cows come home about “fresh”. People in urban areas – unless they are picking some vegetables from their kitchen garden and cooking them instantly – cannot really claim to be eating fresh. It is amazing what the human mind can condition itself to believe.

    You may not agree about frozen stuff but eating so-called fresh spinach – which in reality was picked many hours if not days earlier – is like eating any random grass! Some foods lose enzymes faster than others, once they are picked. Spinach, broccoli, peas and carrots are amongst these foods. So unless you are picking them from your kitchen garden and cooking them instantly, frozen is the better way to than buying them “fresh”. Note I do not recommend other vegetables in frozen form.

    Having these veggies in frozen form is also a great way to make a stir fry – since you have all those meats and fish already – within minutes. So you can feed any ‘atithi’ properly covering all food groups and providing enough vegetables and ruffage. That and my own ravenous hunger at times, when I have no time to cook, are always driving concerns for me.

    Harold McGee’s book is about how cooking modifies various products. It is about the science of cooking. It would be an eye-opener for many Indians who over-cook, over-season and murder any food summarily before it comes to the table.

  39. January 31, 2008 2:36 pm

    Shefaly, I am very particular about not overcooking, the main reason for not keeping a cook! I lightly saute veggies in a minimum of oil. And perhaps for me the fresh food thing is psychological. It’s not that I don’t believe the scientific evidence, I simply do not feel comfortable with eating frozen veggies.
    If you say this Harold person can add to my knowledge, why not. But about freezing, no! If it’s a question of fresh vs frozen, for me fresh will always win. And I mean fresh. We get really fresh vegetables here, well, certainly not from our gardens, but they come to the market within hours of picking. With the hot weather they deteriorate very fast and stale vegetables are sold at half price…
    Maybe frozen vegetables are more nutritious than fresh ones (as you say they are not cooked instantly) but my mind cannot accept it. I will always buy fresh.

    p.s and we buy our leafy green vegetables from a garden in a factory right in front of our colony. Most people in India have such sources. Because of poverty, you find that a lot of people grow vegetables on a small scale and sell them, absolutely fresh. And today we had a spinach raita made from spinach grown right inside our colony! there is a group which grows them but I do not usually get these.

  40. January 31, 2008 10:36 pm

    “Harold McGee’s book is about how cooking modifies various products. It is about the science of cooking. It would be an eye-opener for many Indians who over-cook, over-season and murder any food summarily before it comes to the table.”

    Touché.

  41. February 1, 2008 6:53 am

    Nita have you seen the episodes of a show called “When chef gets angry” :)

    Being a self proclaimed foodie, I tend to move around the city watching for new places to eat, always street side food has appealed to me the most, mainly because I have a notion, I am helping someone eating there. Most importantly the taste is never the same with high caution towards cleanliness :D

  42. February 8, 2008 10:44 am

    “5 star” & others in the this category are always subject to question!
    I did my interns in B’lore and had an opportunity to stay there for a month… I started explring almost every restaurant i came across or that was referred to me.

    I would have visited atleast 25 places in that 1 month and realised – the restaurant behind our PG which was JUST a 6 seater served much better food than any big one! Infact I found cockroaches flying all over the place in a restaurant named Queens which is v v famous for punjabi food..!
    Lucily my works allows me travel to diff places.. happened to goto Taj bandra, Mumbai. I was wondering what was the charm in eating stale food with a silver spoon! so what if it was Taj and so what if all the top ppl of the city frquent that place!

    Ur right i guess, the ppl and the reviews r bought.. or may b there r given a diff treatment fr better rating/reviews…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 429 other followers

