Skip to content

Attending Bloggers Meets

March 3, 2008

Wonder if any of you have been to bloggers meets? Haven’t been to any myself but keep hearing of them. The most recent one was the one held on 15th February in Mumbai. Another Mumbai meet was organised by Sakshi Juneja and was held on January 31st.

A meet was held last month in Bangalore, this time organised by indiblogger. There’s even a Googlegroup of the Bangalore Bloggers. And the Bangalore bloggers are organising some sort of Blogathon in April. It says:

This April, bloggers in the nation will unite for a seven-day blogging epic to get together and voice our concern, opinion and solutions to matters of social importance that India faces every day.

There’s a Blogathon India group as well and they are also on Twitter.

There’s a Bloggers meet in Pune on the 15th of this month, organised by indiblogger.

Earlier this month indiblogger organised a meet in Hyderabad as well. And there was a WordPress bloggers meet in Kolkata.

Delhi bloggers seem to be really well organised if this write-up is anything to go by! A meet was held in January this year. An agenda which reads more like an agenda of a formal seminar.

Mumbai and Delhi and Bangalore seem to have had these bloggers meets going for quite a few years now and they seem to be having fun! Here’s a write-up on the Bangalore meet held on Microsoft premises.

The reason I have never been to one is that from I read, most people seem to go with someone, or in a group. I really do not know any bloggers personally. In fact I have never taken on online friendship into real life. So far I have met just one regular reader of my blog, but it was very briefly. And I will be meeting a blogger friend at the end of the week, in fact will be spending a whole day with her! :) Am looking forward to that. That is what got me thinking in fact….wondering why I have never attended a bloggers meet. I am a social person and love people but I guess have always viewed online friendships quizzically. Also I admit, I feel I will probably be a fish out of water at these meets! I am neither a college student nor a young working professional…and these are the people who seem to frequent the meets.

I have even thought of organising a bloggers meet in Mumbai myself and trying to get people of all ages to attend…

Well, I will probably attend a meet one of these days, but maybe I won’t. I really don’t know!

(Note 1: The list of some bloggers meets given above is not a comprehensive list by any means. I find it necessary to add this note in case anyone feels hurt that I have left their city out or because they feel I have not made a professional list. You are welcome to add any other details in the comment form if you wish to).

 

20 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2008 10:14 am

    Nita, I think I am in the same boat as you, do not know many of my bloggers, and really am apprehensive about meeting people from online.
    I wonder what people discuss in such blogger meets, I did get an invite for the bangalore meet, and I ended up deciding nto to go.. may be next time around.

    I think you should go if you live in Bangalore Rambler. It’s a young crowd out there, you will fit in. If you follow the link I gave to the mutiny site, you will find detailed write-ups on the bangalore meets. – Nita.

  2. March 3, 2008 10:48 am

    I have always wanted to go to a Blogger’s meet. Unfortunately, not been able to, so far. The next time I’m in a city where there is such a meet, I’ll make sure that I attend it.

    Btw, nice pic :) This is the first time I’ve seen a full blown pic of yours. You look quite tiny.

    If you are in Mumbai during a bloggers meet, send me a mail! As for the photo, thanks. Not yet 5 foot three and no hopes of growing either except sideways! :)

  3. March 3, 2008 11:08 am

    So THAT’s what Nita looks like :-) oh, and thanks for the crosslink.

    Btw – I don’t agree at all, that one should be skeptic of meeting bloggers in the offline world. They’re generally a fun lot, some geeky, some crazy but all in all it’s a whole lot of fun. You’re bound to meet someone or the other, in fact, via Mutiny and BarCamps I’ve met folks that I’d certainly call really good friends that’ll go with me to the grave, so I’m dead sure you ought to drop in.

    Although I’ve not heard the nicest of things about Bombay blogger meets, but next time you’re in Pune / Bangalore / Delhi, why not?

    Yeah, I’ve been wanting to attend the Pune one, and almost did once as Harsha had persuaded me. But it didn’t work out and I wasn’t sure whether I was disappointed or not! – Nita.

  4. March 3, 2008 1:52 pm

    Chennai also hosts bloggers meet. I have not attended a meet so far as lam blogging for last five months only..

  5. March 3, 2008 7:31 pm

    Oldsailor, I don’t think that the time you have been blogging matters…in fact there are many who want to blog who also attend. I think it’s an informal thing, and I strongly suspect that if you know people, you go.

  6. March 3, 2008 9:56 pm

    Nita, are you aware of twitter(http://www.twitter.com) It’s a micro-blogging service, where people constantly update what they’re doing. Just yesterday there was a Mumbai Twitterer’s meet, ( http://www.twitter.com/mumbaitwit ).
    PS: If you haven’t tried twitter, do try it out. It’s addictive ;)

  7. March 4, 2008 10:16 am

    I really don’t like attending huge bloggers’ meets. I like one-to-one meetings or meeting of 2-3 people at max. This will give us enough space to get to know each other better. A couple of years back, I had traveled to Chennai and met three blogger friends out there. Also went to Bangalore and could meet some blogger friends and most of them are now in the good friends circle. I also could meet many music bloggers here in my hometown in Kerala when they come to visit India. This includes mostly music bloggers from south India. I plan to visit Mumbai once and meet the blogger friends out there. :-)

  8. March 4, 2008 10:40 am

    Sathya, I am not a twitter type person I think. However I shall certainly check out Twitter! I have read a couple of blogs on Twitter though…

    Joe, that’s great, that you have managed to connect with so many bloggers! I haven’t met a single blogger so far and that’s why I am curious and yet something holds me back. My husband is not at all keen to join me at these places! And going alone is not my cup of tea, call me conservative!

  9. March 4, 2008 9:22 pm

    Nita, what a lovely post! I was actually wondering if there are meeting of bloggers in Mumbai (there must be lots of people blogging there!!)

    I would love to meet people whom I met though blogging, but the most fascinating is to meet somebody form abroad:)

    I remember reading somewhere that “online lives on offlie” in the sense of communication. And I think it is a natural thing to wish to meet people you know from their writings..

    At least it is the case with me. I can not say I want to meet every blogger – but one thing is sure: bloggers are very special kind of people :)) and they must have much in common, and much to discuss (we can spends hours discussing blogging alone!)

    Love to meet you!

    Looking forward Axinia! :) – Nita.

  10. March 4, 2008 10:28 pm

    @Nita, at first even I thought twitter’s not my cup of tea, after trying out though, my opinion has changed :)

  11. March 6, 2008 3:14 am

    Hi Nita, there an IndiBlogger meet coming up in Mumbai as well – we hope to see you there! :-)

  12. March 7, 2008 10:02 pm

    Sathya, maybe one day…
    Renie, thanks for the info! Will try to make it.

  13. March 8, 2008 10:06 am

    very candid :-)

  14. sunil jogdeo permalink
    March 10, 2008 10:10 am

    hello, i am interacting for the first time on this blog. Its a very innovative concept to meet by bloggers and sounds very interesting as well as productive. Thanx Nita for sharing this. I blog on http://www.jogdeo.blog.co.in. pl share your own blogs so that i can interact.

  15. March 14, 2008 2:17 am

    Nita, have been to the Bangalore blogger’s meet with an open mind and it was better than expected. Apart from the meeting new people and fun element, some serious discussion also took place. Read more att:

    http://www.bangalorebeats.com/bangaloreblog/index.php/indibloggerin-bloggers-meet-in-bangalore/

  16. March 21, 2008 4:28 pm

    Hey!
    sexy blog. I haven’t looked at the whole thing yet, and will definitely get back to you with a proper-proper feedback asap!
    Talking of bloggers’ meets, there is one you can attend!
    Manipal Media Students’ Convention will be held in Manipal on April 18 and 19, and its open to all. What’s more, 40 people will be brought down to Manipal – all expenses paid – to encourage participation. There’s an un-conference on blogging as part of it. I think you’ll be interested in the speakers who’re coming down – Kiruba Shankar, Annie Zaidi, Nishant Shah, Peter Griffin….
    check out http://www.mmsc-manipal.com

  17. March 23, 2008 3:58 am

    Nita,

    Nice summing up of all the off line activity that the city bloggers do, we love to socialize don’t we…and yet I see a lot of them not too keen to come out in real life….

    Thought would point out a few things. The link you gave to Delhi Bloggers wiki, it’s sad to say, that is not the real Delhi Bloggers Community.

    The delhi bloggers meet was first orgainsed exactly 4 years ago on 13th January 2004 initiated by Priyanka Sachar (more popularly known as Twilight Fairy) and some of her friends. In the past 4 years this community have been engaged in various activities from social to recreational to cultural and have been covered by various media including the BBC world radio show Digital Planet, which incidentally was organised by me. I have been an active member of this community before I moved to Bangalore.

    The group you have linked to is actually a result of a fall out between Priyanka and the group moderators on one hand and some unethical members on the other. Following the rift in the group the original DBM blog was hacked and Priyanka lost control of most of the online space owned by DBM including her personal rediffmail ID using which she had created the DBM rediff blog.

    In early 2004 DBM was probably only the second (first being Mumbai) in the country to have thought of a bloggers meet, at that time these members weren’t even around.

    oh btw I am the one who is currently leading the Bangalore Bloggers community, thanks for linking us :) and I am also coordinating the Blogathon. Thanks for the link again :)

  18. March 23, 2008 9:41 am

    Sanjukta, thanks for that info. What you said about the hacking is absolutely shocking! I had heard of rifts and suchlike in the Mumbai community, but not the Delhi one.

  19. April 25, 2008 4:51 pm

    Hey Nita,

    Thanks for giving an overview of all the communities in India :). I came by to correct a few things which were grossly wrong in the post (the link to the delhi bloggers community for one). But I see Sanjukta has already done a good job of that! Thanks Sanjukta :).

    Would highly appreciate if the correct links are put up for the Delhi bloggers community :). The one you have mentioned has in any case not been meeting “for years”. It just started this year as a result of (as sanjukta mentioned) a fallout between mods of the original group and some unethical members. Thanks in advance :).

    PS. you can try twitter.. not so bad :P.

  20. April 26, 2008 5:11 pm

    These meets dont make much sense unless the agenda is well defined :(

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 440 other followers

