Skip to content

Summary Post and two tags

March 14, 2009

It’s been more than a month since I wrote a summary post, something I used to do on a regular basis, weekly or fortnightly. As you’ve guessed I didn’t do so as I haven’t been writing that much, and was also on a break as I moved house.

I received a few awards recently. Amrutha was kind enough to give me the Resonance award, the Versatile blogger award, the Lovely Blogger award, the Kreativ Blog award, the I love your blog award and the Emerald award. Poorna gave me the garland award. The awards are put up on this page. Thanks for this!

There are also two tags to do. One is by Odzer, who tagged me to find the sixth folder in my photo gallery, and then the sixth picture in it and publish it. He has said to write a post about that, but well, the picture already has a post attached to it so I am simply publishing the photograph, which I think is apt as a picture for International Women’s Day which just passed. I am not into writing posts for particular “Days” so this hopefully makes up for that, at least a little.

carrying-wood-women1

Vishesh tagged me to “spread the smile.” For this I need to post a funny picture or write something funny. And begin the post with a line of smileys. So here are the smileys!
:)  :)  :)  :)  :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :)  :)  :)  :)

And as for the funny picture, well, I posted most of my funny pictures here, but this time I thought of posting a personal picture of mine, just to put a smile on your faces. I would never have published this picture but this tag came along and I guess there is no harm! And by the way, it was my hubby who insisted that I pose with Aamir Khan when we went to see Ghajini and he took this picture with his cell phone. Naturally I was feeling very conscious as a lot of people were standing by and smiling! :)

(photo now deleted)

Now here are the summary posts!

How many in Pakistan are sympathetic to the extremists? Pakistan, some say, is on the brink, and extremists are gaining control of the country…I do not believe that a country founded on, or based on religion, can succeed. I mean, as a democracy…Not that many in Pakistan support suicide attacks. Considering that there have been about 120 suicide attacks in Pakistan in the last two years, it’s not surprising that there is little support today for suicide attacks in Pakistan (details here.) But suicide attacks are one thing, and the Taliban, another…One reason why the Pakistani Army is finding it difficult to combat the Taliban is because the armymen see the extremists as a lesser evil than the United States. Also, many of the extremists are not really the hardcore Taliban, but just religious mullahs who are mostly anti-America…

India entering the third phase of the tobacco epidemic The world’s largest tobacco control event – the14th World Conference on Tobacco and Health – was held in Mumbai from March 8th to 12th. India being in the midst of a rising tobacco epidemic a conference such as this here in Mumbai couldn’t have happened at  a more opportune time…This post talks about the four stages (socio-economic) of the tobacco epidemic and the countries in each stage and also the dangers of second hand smoke. India is different from other countries due to the high prevalence of bidi smoking and chewing tobacco…

10 + 5 ways to have a happy relationship and a healthy marriage I thought I would jot down some of the things which I feel are important for a couple to make a go of it. Most of these things should come instinctively and that is why I feel that if the first couple of years go well, it means the foundation is a good one. But if they don’t, well, all of us make mistakes and its never too late to say sorry…

Unfit government employees survive and thrive I had a bad experience at a post office in Pune when I went to renew my post office savings fixed deposit. This post gives the experience in detail. As I had mentioned in the comments I complained to the authorities by email. After that I received an email reply and also got a phone call from someone in the post master general’s office telling me that action will be taken against the errant employee.  He also told me that he had come to my blog and read the post (I had sent the link by email). I was quite satisfied with their response and now they have sent me an official letter. This is the letter and they said they will write again:

Your income can determine your attitude! India’s middle classes are estimated to be about 300m today, a figure expected to double in the coming decades. And along with the economic transition, what is also evident is a transition in value systems. We have always strongly suspected that people who are better off have more of a liberal attitude, or rather, they can afford to have it…but who are the middle class anyway…

The culture vultures hate pre-marital sex The reason why the culture vultures protest against Valentine’s Day is because they feel that Valentine’s Day is a celebration of sex, not love. And to them sex before marriage is immoral and always casual. But it’s futile getting into a moral debate about pre-marital sex. Neither the moral police nor anyone else can stop it. The fact of the matter is that the average urban Indian is not marrying at 14 or even 18, and it’s stupid to assume that if marriage is postponed, sex will be postponed as well…given the fact that the human species reaches sexual maturity…

Delhi 6 movie review The movie makes old Delhi come alive. The narrow bylanes, the havelis (old style houses) and the way people talk and act feels very authentic, although apparently the director Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra shot most of the movie in Sambar, (near Jaipur, Rajasthan) which is similar to Old Delhi…What I liked about the movie is that its visually pleasing which speaks very well for the cinematography (Binod Pradhan). It isn’t breathtaking, but it is interesting and original. The dialogues and acting also seem very natural…the problem with the movie is that one doesn’t know where it’s heading…

The Dharavi spirit Ever since Slumdog Millionaire released there has been a lot of discussion on whether it is right to portray India’s poverty. Well, SM is not a treatise of history nor a documentation of life in a slum. It is a fictional account based on a novel and presented in a cinematic, dramatic fashion. Yes, it’s been tweaked, but that’s what commercial cinema is about. But if one wants to know the whole truth, then the reality is that slum dwellers in Dharavi are a spirited and hardworking people. Dharavi is a place where human spirit and enterprise lives and triumphs against all odds. Far more so that in the luxurious apartments of the rich…

Advertising mistakes All of us have a pet peeve against some advertisement or the other and we wonder how such ads are even allowed to be aired or printed! Well, some people do complain, and as a result advertisers are forced to remove their ads or modify them. The ASCI (Advertising Standards Council of India) receives complaints and acts on them. The number or complaints in India are far fewer that in developed counties, but some good work is being done in this area in India too. If you ever wondered why some ads or television commercials simply disappeared or changed, well, it’s because some enterprising soul complained. Here is a small list of some of the ads…

42 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2009 2:29 pm

    wow…thatz real Amir Khan!!! ????I was looking thru magnifying glasses to make sure its not any wax image as he looks so angry in that pose :) Tell me its fake plsssss ..Makes me jealous..hee heee..Oh well,my SRK is more smart ;-) ( i hope my husband is not reading this **grin** )

    Its long since you came up with summary post..Nice to know about post office issue..

    Congrats for all the awards

  2. Milind Kher permalink
    March 14, 2009 2:54 pm

    Nita,

    I must award you for being one of the most guest friendly blogers.

    I honestly appreciate your extent of participation and the quality of your comments. It feels really nice being on this blog.

    Nimmy is also just like you. When I visit her, I will award her too

    • vasudev permalink
      March 14, 2009 3:49 pm

      there was a guest at south vs…who road rolled poor vivek. hope it wasn’t you? ;)

    • Nimmy permalink
      March 14, 2009 4:46 pm

      :)

      • vasudev permalink
        March 15, 2009 12:16 am

        nimmy…do you know this nadia moidu? i believe she is getting back into circulation (as mamootty’s grandma maybe :) ). thought i would just check it out if you know?

        • Nimmy permalink
          March 15, 2009 10:10 am

          lol,yeah,NAdia Moidu is a nice actress..she has been in Tamil lately..Is she coming to Malayalam movies?? I don’t know..I don’t keep track of previews or news of that sort..I go watch the movie,read review-nothing more nothing less :)

  3. vasudev permalink
    March 14, 2009 3:45 pm

    nita…don’t tell me that guy you are seen with (whoist?) hasn’t got the money to buy a banian! maybe bhe is an animal activist or a tree bum? ;)…nyways good snap.

    i wasn’t that lucky though. on my flight to kochi on 11th there was this female, an ex-malayalam actress and sort of a modern womanhood inspiration for some of us then-youngsters. nadia moidu. then quite famous, now into oblivion but still uppitty, snobbish womanhood. despite my best efforts to attract her attention she puted at me, started chewing her gum furiously (maybe because of an old grey-head with her…mebbe her dad or her hubby) and didn’t get my heart pumping enough to bother getting her to autograph a pose. hmmm

    • Milind Kher permalink
      March 14, 2009 3:56 pm

      Vasudev,

      Are you addressing me? It wasn’t me. I always use my own name :-)

  4. March 14, 2009 4:05 pm

    Nita:

    Passive voice is used throughout the letter that acknowledges your complaint. Passive voice enables utter abandonment of ownership or responsibility for their employees’ incompetence or lack of service ethic (or any ethics perhaps). Sad but not surprising.

  5. March 14, 2009 4:40 pm

    Nimmy, does that guy look real? Well, he looks a mite waxy to me! That’s because he is! :) For the promotion of the movie Ghajini they had these mannequins all over the place! So now you can quit envying me! By the way I have met SRK and shaken hands with him some years ago! :) The real SRK!!

    Vasudev, it was just a wax model! And sorry to hear about your experience with the celebrity! Better luck next time! :)

    Milind, thanks. I do try and respond as much as possible and I can say that I enjoy doing it! It’s just that at times it becomes difficult due to lack of time.

    Shefaly, I didn’t think of it that way! :(

    • Nimmy permalink
      March 14, 2009 4:47 pm

      ///I have met SRK and shaken hands with him some years ago! The real SRK!!

      :( how depressing ..lol.. ;-)

    • vasudev permalink
      March 15, 2009 12:12 am

      nita…
      ok. just landed back from kochi and nothing incidental happened except that the flight was too frighteningly bumpy (heavy rains in kerala) and our airborne sarathi was a lady!

      btw…that ‘intimate-with-a-topless-waxbum’ pic of yours isn’t too clear but if i can believe my old eyes i think two of your right hand fingers are bandaged. hope you didn’t put that sugar cube right into the mouth of a deceptively friendly mare at matheran? :)

      • March 15, 2009 8:04 am

        Vasudev, I didn’t notice that until you pointed it out. It must be the light I think because I hadn’t injured my fingers. And this picture was taken a few months ago, just around the time Ghajini was released.

      • vasudev permalink
        March 15, 2009 2:14 pm

        ‘intimate-with-a-topless-waxbum’

        nita…
        on delayed thoughts that comment of mine did not look like being too chivalrous to a lady. i don’t know how you took it but my character is that i never treated women as any different from men. i won’t insult you by offering an apology.

        no offense taken! – Nita.

      • Vivek S. Khadpekar permalink
        March 15, 2009 3:49 pm

        @vasudev:

        //the flight was too frighteningly bumpy (heavy rains in kerala) and our airborne sarathi was a lady!//

        Is that just two (or three) unrelated facts strung together in one sentence or are you seeking to establish a cause-and-effect relationship between the pilot’s gender on the one hand and, on the other, the discomforts experienced during the flight and the weather conditions? And surely, an air passenger cannot dismiss a pilot (irrespective of gender) as a mere “incidental!”

        • vasudev permalink
          March 15, 2009 6:55 pm

          @vivek

          ‘incidental’ was related to some disappointments on my outbound flight (to kochi).

          as regards this inbound one, the flight took-off into an overcast sky (after a tarmac delay of about 20 mins from push-off) and it wasn’t very comforting to hear stewards whisper (amongst themselves) that this was going to be a very bumpy flight. so strap on well etc.

          the seat-belt sign remained on for about 30 mins into the flight (normally jet switches off in mid-climb…so to say, as if to test the acrobatic capabilities of poor young hostesses who, while balancing a tray in one hand try negotiating up shifting inclines while being extra-careful not to drop the liquid down the hose of some unsuspecting, screw-eye, fervently praying atheistic aisler). anyway, the point is…it was a bumpy ride with some free roller-coasters thrown in for paying the extra airport tax money.

          the lady (phew!) i did not know it was a she who was bravely fighting those dark demons out there. the lady pilot announced that ‘somehow’ she was able to negotiate with the devil and had brought us up to 38000 feet thus getting over most of the troubles on our path. brave girl…this farah khan. one more example of how women can take control of the male world quite successfully. :)
          btw…do not be bothered about ‘guests’. i always look down upon fools, clowns and cowards who dare not show their faces to you. i know you can land a good right one and give the chappie a black-eye!

          • Vivek S. Khadpekar permalink
            March 15, 2009 8:18 pm

            Vasudev,

            Thanks for the lengthy clarification.

            BTW, I don’t know what your last paragraph (after the smiley) is about. Did I miss something?

            Vivek, he is talking about the north south post. And considering the latest comment, I think you too will agree to let it be! – Nita.

            • Vivek S. Khadpekar permalink
              March 16, 2009 1:06 am

              Nita,

              Sorry, I’m quite confused. And it is no longer easy to access the north-south post unless someone’s comment has dragged it up into the sidebar.

              Perhaps you can subscribe to the comments on that post, some of which are invariably addressed to you. What do you think? – Nita

    • March 21, 2009 3:02 pm

      LOL and ROFL @ Aamir plus you pic! I am not surprised some included Nimmy put ‘life’ in this Aamir! He really looks so real here.

  6. March 14, 2009 6:10 pm

    :D :D :D

  7. March 14, 2009 6:32 pm

    LOL :D Really funny pic!! Atlast u posted your snap. Thank you!

  8. March 14, 2009 7:07 pm

    Nitaaa…. Nice! With Aamir Khan! I would have pushed you off and stood in your position had he been real :D he he he! Congrats for the awards and atleast they acknowledged your complaint although its very dry and casual. But that’s still great! (and its kinda funny that they sent an acknowledgment by post, its like my friend who calls me everytime he sends an email!)

  9. March 15, 2009 1:14 am

    Ahh So much I missed…great to see a summary post now!

    Hope your move went well…

    I am smiling looking at the pic…n with ur eyes turned sidewards, it seems u r blushing or feeling shy ;)

    Did u watch Dev D? I am waiting for ur review… and for awards Congrats Nita….U inspire many!

    • March 15, 2009 8:00 am

      Thanks Sahaja. I did see Dev D a long time ago but it was during the hectic time of my move and so did not write a review. Now the movie has already faded from my mind. But it’s a good movie. Worth a see.

  10. March 15, 2009 9:42 am

    Aamir looks like he is a bit dazed, hit-on-the-head kind of dazed, and just a bit self-conscious. And you are looking like Kiran Rao! ;-)

  11. Dev permalink
    March 15, 2009 11:14 am

    Nita jee, very cool pic of yours!!! :)

  12. March 15, 2009 8:53 pm

    Congratulations on the awards! :)and you are looking cute :)

  13. rags permalink
    March 15, 2009 11:57 pm

    Someone said you are the most guest friendly blogger. Agree hundred percent!! As of now I am hooked to this blog :)

    • March 16, 2009 7:32 am

      rags, I have not been as welcoming of guests of late due to various things that are happening in my life (a routine is still not set even it’s been a month since we moved in!) but one thing I can say for sure. I love interacting with the commentators and love answering comments. In fact there are several comments you have left of late which I have not replied to, but I assure they have been read and appreciated! Thanks rags.

    • March 17, 2009 8:08 pm

      “Someone said you are the most guest friendly blogger.” – so true about Nita!!! It is really nice compliment and I agree 1000%!

      • Milind Kher permalink
        March 17, 2009 9:27 pm

        Axinia,

        I said it. I felt so touched by your genuine praise of my compliment, I couldn’t resist telling you. God bless..

  14. March 16, 2009 12:48 am

    Oh sooo cool..You actually got a mail from them..damn cool!! I see Light at the end of tunnel..:-)!!A ray of hope ..:-)!!

  15. March 16, 2009 10:09 am

    Hand in hand wih Amir :P and getting heard of postal department. Way to go, Nita! :D

  16. Vinod permalink
    March 16, 2009 12:35 pm

    Nita, that’s courageous of you to post that picture of yours in good humour. Once again, my regards and respects to you.

  17. March 16, 2009 2:46 pm

    I wasnt sure they would respond to your complaint.. i am glad that they did!! :) I hope they take the necessary steps so that the other staff memebers would think twice before behaving rudely to the costumers!

  18. archanaccp permalink
    March 16, 2009 6:51 pm

    hey u lookin good

  19. wishtobeanon permalink
    March 16, 2009 10:01 pm

    Hi Nita, I am glad that you got a response to your complaint and good to see you in your blog.

  20. March 19, 2009 2:43 am

    Nimmy’s comment made me laugh! :)
    Anyways, that photo was great. When I went to see Ghajini with my family, there was a similar Aamir standing there too. :)
    And bravo for the letter. I hope they take some action too.

  21. vasudev permalink
    March 19, 2009 8:34 pm

    kudos to the efficiency of the postal department! i think we need to laud some people there who think they ARE efficient. similarly if you have any grouse against the railways be sure to write them a mail (if possible, write to their vigilance department…those guys are scared silly of this one department)

  22. March 20, 2009 2:33 pm

    @ Nita : I should have commented on this one but Life gets busy sometimes. Anyway thanks for being a sport and doing this tag. I promise not to bug you for a while.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 414 other followers

