Skip to content

Reader Poll

April 13, 2009

I have done two posts on character analysis of known political personalities so far, based on palmistry (I do not believe in predictive palmistry). One is the hand analysis of Lal Krishna Advani and another on Sonia Gandhi. But as this blog is for my readers, I don’t want to waste my time writing posts people don’t like. Clearly so far people seem to have read them if one goes by the page views but perhaps they don’t want to read them anymore. I was planning to do people like Obama, Mayawati and Modi and perhaps even Roger Federer (rags requested it) but if you want me to go back to my serious posts then I will. Tell me.

And if you have said you like my palmistry posts you can answer this one:

33 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2009 9:13 am

    I’m happy I could vote! [निदान ईथेतरी माझं अमुल्य मत वाया जाणार नाही... ;-) ] मी पहिला, मी पहिला!

  2. April 13, 2009 9:25 am

    Voted!! Let the innovativeness continue. :)
    আমী দ্বিতীয়ো! আমী দ্বিতীয়ো!

    • Vivek Khadpekar permalink
      April 13, 2009 5:02 pm

      Reema,

      I can’t read the letters after aami dvati…. Could you transcribe them please?

      • April 13, 2009 5:12 pm

        Oh! As Priyank wrote Me first! me first! in Marathi, I wrote Me second! me second! in Bengali :) “Aami Dwitiyo” :D

        • Vivek Khadpekar permalink
          April 13, 2009 7:57 pm

          Reema,

          Oh! I was wondering what the ‘va’ was doing with both a ‘hrasva’ and a ‘deergha’ i maatra. Did I misread or was that a typo?

          • Vivek Khadpekar permalink
            April 13, 2009 7:59 pm

            Correction: the ‘ta’, not the ‘va’.

  3. April 13, 2009 10:37 am

    voted..!

    living abroad was making me feel left out during the elections so i am using my voting power here in the blogospehere.

  4. April 13, 2009 10:42 am

    I think you should do readings for a few bloggers…maybe all of us in one post :) That way we can also know the accuracy :)

    • April 13, 2009 10:51 am

      Vishesh, a hand reading is a very private thing. Every human being has his/her weaknesses and no one will like their weaknesses published even if they don’t believe it! So I prefer public figures. And if it is a private reading, well, that is time consuming and right now at least I cannot do it. It takes at least 3-4 hours and also a high level of concentration! And to tell you frankly, I don’t want to do a hand reading of a blogger just to prove that I am accurate because I know I am accurate. :) I know I made an exception with Pavan, but that was on impulse although if he had followed up on it, I would have gone through with it. Maybe one of these days I will do it Vishesh but in real life I charge about Rs 1000/- per hand and that too only for character analysis! :)

      • April 14, 2009 6:09 pm

        ha ha my mom does tarot :) But she doesn’t do it commercial…she is also learning to read the astro charts of people :) {sometimes I do wonder how professionals manage all that :P }
        I want to learn tarot one of these days :)

        Vishesh, as far as I know Tarot is kind of random. I mean something like chance. I do not believe in it. :) – Nita

  5. April 13, 2009 10:57 am

    I would suggest that you these palmistry posts…but not consecutively. It kills the novelty of the idea.

    Dev, I was thinking of this too and in fact you are right. But for some reason I need to be in the right mood to analyse a hand and at times I just cannot make myself to. Right now I feel driven for some reason, a kind of bug has bit me I think. However at no point do I want to inflict myself on my readers. I think I will do 2-3 more and stop. :) – Nita.

    • April 13, 2009 11:54 am

      @Nita I think u can do the analysis now as you have the drive now and save it as draft!! post them later!

  6. rags permalink
    April 13, 2009 11:34 am

    Me too. I had no interest in palmistry before but now somehow it all seems so interesting…( thanks to you). I agree, 2 or 3 readings will be fine.

  7. April 13, 2009 11:34 am

    I believe in palmistry but I don’t want you to continue these posts. May be, you can make a Page for it and add sub-pages for each personality you analyze.

  8. April 13, 2009 11:36 am

    I’ll read one more – Obama – and then my eyes will only skim the rest…:-)

  9. April 13, 2009 12:25 pm

    voted voted :D, these are def interesting :D and keeps us reading till the end of the post , and sometimes 2nd time !

    PS : i wud be even more glad if i knew mine :P but am not a celebrity :(

  10. Chirag Chamoli permalink
    April 13, 2009 2:02 pm

    Nita, there is nothing wrong in following a certain theme for consecutive posts, it actually make more sense, at least in my opinion. Obviously voted.

  11. April 13, 2009 2:43 pm

    @ Nita : Hmmmm I think you should do more ‘non-serious’ posts but to be honest palmistry is not really my cup of tea.

  12. April 13, 2009 5:16 pm

    It is not much of interest .LKA’s palm does’nt bother me.

  13. wishtobeanon permalink
    April 13, 2009 6:39 pm

    Hi Nita, I did read your palm-reading posts, but not entirely…I guess I am prejudiced against and scared of most Indian politicians – maybe I am a little too paranoid! You could have palm readings of lesser known, non-controversial people from newer political parties like Lok Satta, Professionals Party of India etc. so they may gain wider coverage?

  14. wishtobeanon permalink
    April 13, 2009 6:44 pm

    By the way, I don’t know my stand on palmistry as I really don’t know much about it, but since you do it, I am sure there must be some credibility to it.

  15. April 13, 2009 8:09 pm

    Nita, will you be using first-past-the-post methodology for the poll, or a different one? ;)
    What if some of the poll options form a coalition? :D

  16. April 13, 2009 9:18 pm

    Hey guys and gals, thanks all of you for voting. I got 42 votes till now and that’s not bad as usually people read my blog through their reader! :) Well, looks like the audience is divided but thankfully very few people feel negatively towards the palmistry posts. The ones that don’t like them find them just boring and that’s okay because if I write say a post on politics that could leave half the people bored anyway! Not everyone likes everything. But what’s really nice is to see some very positive reactions, from Reema, Sahaja, Chirag and Amit of mashed musings!

    Amit, I shall look forward to reading your hand when we meet. :)

    wishtobeanon and rags, that’s really sweet! :)

    Amit of Lotusnova, actually some have formed a coalition and therefore the positive feelings towards the palmistry posts have won!

    Shefaly, thanks for the link to the photo. Although I have some pics of his hand, I didn’t have that one and of that particular angle.

    Suda, yours is a good idea. In fact I even toyed with starting a different blog for these posts but then decided against it. Not yet anyway. But now it won’t be possible to make these pages. The comments on the posts are so interesting!

    To others who I have not replied individually to: I think I am going to do Obama as I think people might be interested in it and then I shall give it a break for a while to respect those of you who are not interested in the palmistry posts. And then do a few others, later.

    And anyone else, do vote if you arrive here!

    • April 14, 2009 9:55 am

      You can still do pages. Every time you add a page, write a two-three lines post announcing and linking it. :D

      BTW, off topic, I wonder why you have not reviewed/commented on “Mi Shivaji Raje Bhosale Boltoy” yet. Don’t you think it speaks exactly what we guys were discussing here?

  17. April 14, 2009 3:34 am

    Hi Nita,

    I appreciate your concern for your readers, and the fact that you initiated the poll. By the way, let my skepticism/tongue-in-cheek humor, not be overbearing on your intention to pursue palm reading of other public figures, should you choose to :)

    Slightly off topic, I would like to commend you on your blog layout and use of widgets. I’ve shown this blog to newbies to the blogosphere. Someone close to me has created a layout for a professional blog very much inspired by yours. Thanks for being an example! Here’s a link: saferworld.wordpress.com

    Regards.

  18. April 14, 2009 5:21 am

    Voted! That was fun, Nita. Share Priyank and Reema’s feelings…

    • April 14, 2009 5:27 am

      Oops! I meant Priyank and Oorja’s :)

  19. April 14, 2009 5:55 am

    I would say the palmistry posts are a nice initiative, and have brought out a new side of you (I didnt know you were a pro at palmistry). Its always good to know more about our potential leaders, so these two posts were quite useful/informative.

    Like Mahendra, i too would love to see some Obama-nalysis.

  20. Indian Homemaker permalink
    April 14, 2009 12:27 pm

    Voted. I find such posts interesting. And it’s a change.

    IHM, to get your name linked to your new wordpress blog, you need to first sign out, fill in the details on a comment page on a wordpress blog and then the next time you comment on any wp blog you will be automatically linked. – Nita.

  21. April 14, 2009 8:42 pm

    Voted.

  22. April 14, 2009 9:34 pm

    Pavan, thanks. About pursuing the palmistry posts, I think I shall take some sort of medium approach and give it a break now for a while! :)

    Suda, the idea of writing a short post and telling people to click on a page doesn’t appeal to me. I might start another blog on this, but not right now.

    And to those who voted – a big thanks! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 421 other followers

