Skip to content

Barack Obama’s personality characteristics through hand analysis

April 14, 2009

Obama waving

Hand Reading of Barack Obama

Barack Obama’s hand was one of the most difficult hands I have analysed. Using unclear photographs was just one reason. Axinia had sent me a clear photograph of Obama’s hand but unfortunately it was of his right hand and therefore I could not base my reading on it. In the type of palmistry I do the right hand tells us what the person is like only if  he is right handed. As Obama is left handed, I needed to read his left hand. The other, less used hand, denotes genetic characteristics, many of which maybe latent and undeveloped.

To make it more complicated Obama uses a bit of his right hand too, so at any given point I was checking both hands during the reading. If there isn’t much of a difference between the hands then it’s easier, but in Obama’s case his right and left hands are a bit different. As there is no way of speaking to Obama to find  out how much of his right hand he actually uses I have used my judgment in the final analysis. He does write with his left hand so I have depended on the left hand more than the right.

And like I have said in my two earlier palmistry posts, please don’t take this reading seriously if you don’t believe in palmistry. There is no way I can confirm whether my reading is right or wrong. Reading a hand without the lines is difficult as it can give only an overview, but the overview is more important as it is the framework of the personality. It is not possible to read lines unless one reads the shape of the hand and fingers first as the interpretation of the lines depends on the kind of hand.  And even in the reading of the shape of the hand, no one sign has much signficance.

Here is my reading:

Barack Obama is a thinker, and only some sort of mental occupation would have been suitable to him. He is analytical and thoughtful, and has a curious inquiring mind. He has excellent reasoning powers. But although he is cerebral in many ways, making a good living is important to him. He pays attention to practical matters and money making, although the aim of his life is not to make money or become rich.

He is a sensitive man, but more sensitive when his pride his hurt, as in when someone implies that he cannot do something. He has a broad and liberal outlook on life and is generous and compassionate, a man who seeks freedom not just for himself but also for others.

He is energetic, bright and helpful. He is open, can be very frank and is a friendly guy.

He is careful about the future, and likes to plan for it.

He is independent in both thought and action but not overly so. He gets original ideas but often modifies existing ones in a creative ways.

He likes to pay minimum attention to physical needs like eating and drinking. He will never let his life be adversely affected by his physical needs.

He has leadership qualities and it is leadership with a purpose. He is determined but he has a weakness as he can be a little indecisive. His other weakness as a leader is that his will power is just about average and later on in my analysis I have explained this in more detail.

He is not exceptionally adroit or diplomatic but he can handle people as he is a shrewd man. But however shrewd he may be, there is something about him which makes him simple at heart. This may sound contradictory, but Barack Obama is a very complex man.

He is not stubborn.

It is likely that he is good at sports, better than average.

He is an agreeable person, easy to get along with, if a little cold.

He has good taste.

He is controlled, and of a calm disposition.

He has good powers of expression and good writing skills. And yes he is a magnetic speaker. I guess people will say I already knew it and so let me tell you where I saw this in his hand. His little finger, although low-set is long and moreover the first phalange of his little finger is long as compared to the other two phalanges. In an intellectual and thoughtful hand, as his is, this shows excellent powers of expression. But this is not all. His speaking ability transcends this, and there is something almost magical in his speech, something that makes it original and vigorous and dramatic. This ability of his is shown in the length of his ring finger, plus the length of the first phalange and it’s slightly spatulate tip. The tip is only very slightly spatulate and is not spatulate in his other less used hand, and this means that that this quality has been developed over the years. If this tip had been more spatulate I would have said that Obama would have made a great entertainer/actor. But well, he stops short of being that. But yes, he can act, no doubt about that.

So you might be wondering, is Obama hiding something behind that calm smiling exterior and those seductive words?
Well, yes and no. He is definitely a very smart man with a great personality, although I would not call him brilliant. From what I see of his hand, his Saturn finger, a finger which is the finger of wisdom and balance is short as compared to his other fingers. It is not so short as to make him lack focus or sense of purpose, but it is not long enough to give that strong driving force that a man needs to achieve his plans and ideas. He lacks sustainability in my opinion. The reason for this is a combination of his average will power, slight indecisiveness, lack of a formidable driving force in his personality, a certain coldness of temperament, and also a certain weakness to resist adversity which could become evident in a crises situations. He was born very strong, with a strong ability not to become discouraged, to carry on against all odds, but this trait seems to have weakened.

There is another thing. Although he may appear proud, it is usually just a show. I am talking of the kind of pride which prevents one from doing something wrong. People often avoid doing something wrong because they are afraid of being found out, and well Obama is in that category. He will never take any risk to hurt his public image but he could do something against his own conscience if he is sure that no one will find out.  But what wrong thing could be tempted to do?
He is very honest, and as I said earlier, money does not attract him. He will never steal, not that American presidents do that! He is also not a sensual person, so he will not get embroiled in murky affairs. He will also not do anything that will hurt human beings, because there is no doubt that he is a good man who wants justice for all. And this is just my guess…it is possible that if he does do something that he thinks is wrong, he will do it because he thinks it will be for a good end.

He has the necessary sexual passion, but is not the loving husband that some women desire. At times he can be distant with loved ones but at the same time extremely devoted to them.

Other hand readings on this blog: Hand Analysis and reading of L.K Advani.
Hand Reading of Sonia Gandhi

And do you want to keep getting hand readings of famous people and celebrities, for free? Then check out this blog: Palmistry For You, You can get your own hand read here too.

(Photo credits: cleveland.com)

37 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2009 5:36 pm

    Nita:

    “..it is possible that if he does do something that he thinks is wrong, he will do it because he thinks it will be for a good end.”

    That makes him not very different from Bush and from Blair both of whom believed they were guided by some greater good and that chap, God, in their pursuit of the war on Iraq.

    Re affairs: I have a feeling if he strayed, Michelle will thump him to a pulp right then and there :-)

    Shefaly, it looks like this quality is something every politician needs. Some find it hard to do it, some find it easy. To survive they have to I guess. But with Obama, he won’t find it a problem to do something a little untoward. But I guess that is why he joined politics and has some experience here! :) – Nita.

    • April 14, 2009 8:20 pm

      Nita

      I understand the bit about being guided by some greater good – public service is ostensibly why people become politicians – but for leaders to work with the assumption that they have a hotline to God is scary and potentially very dangerous and harmful. A sort of moral impunity is along similar lines and not to be encouraged.

      • April 14, 2009 9:56 pm

        Shefaly, I did read that Obama mentioned he heard from God in Chicago. While God didn’t tell him to wage a war like he told Bush, it does bring up the double-standards of the liberal media who gave Obama a free pass.

        • April 14, 2009 11:05 pm

          Well that doesn’t surprise me. The liberal media, despite themselves, give a free pass to many while haranguing others. :-/

  2. April 14, 2009 5:37 pm

    Yet another interesting post. I don’t know anything about palmistry but I feel most of you findings about Obama or Sonia or Adwani are some what real facts that any one can observe about them. I mean you don’t actually need their hands.:). I hope you will write about the science of Palmistry soon. Anyway these are really refreshing.

    Thanks Nikhil. But I am not sure if all these things are seen to those who observe. – Nita.

  3. Naveen permalink
    April 14, 2009 6:13 pm

    Very Interesting! I read someone’s palm analysis also a while back. Every bit of analysis matched.

    http://morris108.wordpress.com/2008/11/08/obamas-palm-reading/

    Naveen his analysis is very different from mine. So I am not sure what you meant. And I am not surprised because he didn’t even bother to find out if Obama is left handed or right handed so naturally his results would be incorrect. He says Obama is a warm person, but this is not given either in his right hand or left hand! Anyway, each to his own. All I can say is that this person whom you have linked has not given an accurate reading in my opinion. Also I would not say that Obama has a particularly good imagination. – Nita.

    • Naveen permalink
      April 14, 2009 7:57 pm

      Yes, Now I read it more carefully, it seem different.

  4. April 14, 2009 7:38 pm

    Dear Nita,

    Amazing posts, these palmistry ones. (and otherwise, generally too.. : )
    I dunno why I read Obama’s work more passionately, than I did for your previous ‘candidates’.. : ) guess it reflects back in some way the great hope I have from Obama (and its lack in our own men (and women!)
    Anyway, great posts.

    Now, this could sound ridiculous, but still, is there any genuine chance of it happening that I send you pictures of my hand and you do a reading, of course, even if not very elaborate. Let me know; my snaps are ready in my email draft : )

    At the expense of sounding really ridiculous now, think of doing this as a e-business or something…I’m sure there a lot of common people who deserve better ‘treatment’ : ) …and with a ‘certificate’. Could I help you in some way !

    Let me (us!) know..

    Vaibhav.
    ~I am the one who keeps dropping buy~

  5. April 14, 2009 7:44 pm

    Hmm…. with all the hand analysis ongoing.. I am keen to get my hand also read!

  6. rags permalink
    April 14, 2009 10:43 pm

    “He is determined but he has a weakness as he can be a little indecisive. His other weakness as a leader is that his will power is just about average and later on in my analysis I have explained this in more detail.”

    I’ve always felt this about Obama. It’s like he’s always a bit cautious and guarded in his approach. He also takes a long time to answer questions like he’s weighing both sides. Bush always spoke with conviction (however misguided they were), I don’t think Obama can ever match that.
    But on second thoughts I think that is a good thing :)

  7. April 14, 2009 10:47 pm

    Is this the last of your palmistry posts?

  8. April 14, 2009 11:46 pm

    OMG!! thats so comprehensive Nita…looks nice to me actually, like this obama guy is like a normal person whom we find more often around us…..as they say, near to aam aadmi….
    and the way you wrote, the sentence forming even looks so professional…..
    Now I am getting more and more curious about ur posts…. can I get mine too :P please please :D

  9. April 15, 2009 9:00 am

    vaibhav, thanks but I am sure you understand why I cannot read your hands. Basically it is a lack of time as I have too much on my plate in real life. Your suggestion to make a business of it online is something I have thought of, and not just recently, but even before I started this blog! :) But then I realised something about myself. I don’t want to make a business of palmistry. More than 80% of hands I read I do for free – there, the secret is out! The reason I don’t take money is that I genuinely want to help people understand themselves and I love palmistry and reading hands. Many of my palmistry sessions become therapy sessions! :)
    And about reading hands, let me give you one example. Once three colleagues of my daughter who were based in Bangalore sent me their hand photos with detailed pics of lines and though my daughter had just joined the job and hardly knew them I agree to do it for free. I had never met these people in my life and did not even know what they looked like! Actually it just started with one hand, and then there were more requests. And then more started coming in, but after three, I said stop although I did the third one as he was my daughter’s boss! :) There was no way I was going to accept money for it. That is how it always is, because I feel embarrassed to take money for something like this! So what happens is that I land up reading a lot of hands in real life and right now I have about a dozen hands I need to read, all requests from friends of friends and friends of relatives! They keep sending me emails asking me when I am going to send their reading, and I make some polite noises! But I do feel guilty. So you see why I am not going to accede to online requests. I am sure you will understand! If I was a proper business minded person I would probably take up your request! :) And those bloggers who meet me in real life are people I will find very difficult to refuse! :)

    Aathira, I think that must have given you some idea of the situation! :)

    Shefaly, playing God is what politicians love to do, but make no mistake, Obama is not going to feel guilty about it.And yes Bush I think is the same, not much of a feeling of shame, but some politicians do feel guilty. I guess that’s the difference! I personally feel Hillary Clinton would have made a better President as she seems like an Iron Lady, but then she would have her weaknesses too.

    rags, the indeciveness comes from the fact that Obama thinks a lot and analyses. I too think it’s a good trait. about the other readings, I will give it a break for a while for the sake of the readers who are not interested!

    Sahaja, thanks. And for the reading, when you visit me, we can talk about it! :)

    • April 15, 2009 10:26 pm

      Ohh dear…i am up away in foreign lands waaa….curiosity u c ;)
      but anyways, I def wanna meet you and there are many more reasons than just being selfish for hand reading :D …..any small minor chance of hand photo reading :O

    • April 15, 2009 11:59 pm

      Dear Nita,
      this comment of yours I like even more than the post on Obama`s hand “I don’t want to make a business of palmistry. More than 80% of hands I read I do for free – there, the secret is out! The reason I don’t take money is that I genuinely want to help people understand themselves and I love palmistry and reading hands. Many of my palmistry sessions become therapy sessions! ” – I guess it is the same thing why you don`t do business with your highly popular blog. That is your idealistic nature which I love so much….

      The Obama`s hand analysis I found very intresting and helpful to me, as I am not very much familiar with his personality (I mean as soon as I see a great collective obsession over some public thing I get very suspect, I better wait before getting euphoric)…

      Regarding palmstry I wanted to ask you how can you explain a big difference between the lines on the right and left hand – sometimes I have seen they vary enormously! – sometimes really totally different, by obviously normal and well developed people…this is puzzling me.
      THANK YOU! :)

      • April 16, 2009 12:23 am

        Ya for example my hand, my left hand has the 2 thick lines nearer to the wrist side converge as they move towards thumb….whereas on right hand side, they are like railway tracks, parallel and never meeting.
        My mom’s is similar too….i heard somewhere that left is yours, right is partners for a girl….and also heard that u might suffer from seperation due to fatality :( :(:( dont know if this is called palmistry though!

        • April 16, 2009 1:12 am

          Sahaja, that does not sound like palmstry :)) I think you should not worry.

        • April 16, 2009 6:45 am

          Sahaja, like Axinia said that is superstition, not palmistry. People however have these notions, for example a cross here means this and a line here means that, and unfortunately it is because of this that palmistry has lost its credibility. The only way that any sign can be credible is if it means the same thing in every hand. If it doesn’t, it’s inaccurate.

      • April 16, 2009 6:56 am

        Axinia, thanks. I guess I lack the business instincts! :) About the difference between the hands, it just means that the person has changed from what he was genetically endowed with. Just like we are born with our physical charactertistics, we are born with personality characteristics, but while the physical growth is more or less pre determined, the character changes according to the environment, although genetic traits do play a significant part. In those who grow up with their natural families and live a fairly normal life there are usually less changes between the hands. Those who grow up in unusual environments, travel more, experience either great or tragic events, abuse or an exceptionally stimulating environment, tend to have significant changes happening to their personality. The same circumstances will impact each person differently, even if they are brother and sister, as each person is born with a different personality. One reacts and changes according to circumstances depending on what traits we already have. For example extremely tragic events could motivate a strong and determined person while the same events could make a weaker person bitter and dissatisfied.
        But finally, if one is aware of one’s faults, and accepts them, it is possible to change. At any time. Those who do not want to accept that they have any faults are doomed to a sad life!

        • April 16, 2009 1:04 pm

          Thank you Nita, I was also my supposition, now I have your professional opinion.

  10. April 15, 2009 10:08 am

    Thank you. This is very interesting. I’m going to come back and see this post many times in the future, whenever significant things happen with Obama. That way, I can do my own evaluation of whether palmistry really works for personality recognition.

    Again, appreciate your taking the time and effort.

  11. April 15, 2009 1:19 pm

    People have too many expectations from him.

    he will never do anything to hurt his image. i thought so too. good he’s a thinker, but being indecesive because of that could cause delays of decisions, but because he will tend to make a decision which ends in good that can be excused.

    good that he’s not that materialistc and also not very keen on physical needs.

    great to know a bit more in detail about the most talked personality of this time.

  12. April 15, 2009 3:05 pm

    Nita, we are all planning a trip to Pune very soon!! :-) But only one thing stops me from getting my hand read and I would be glad if you could answer this – Will it make a difference? If it is about character analysis, strengths and weakness then I can understand (Your reading is more in this angle to help people make more informed decisions and analysis) but if it is about knowing the future – why is it required at all? I was equally curious when you were not predicting anything with hands. So, is this branch of palmistry more to do with character analysis than future predictions? But i am equally curious to find out if the shape and position of certain elements in ones hand can determine so many qualities!!

    Destination Infinity

  13. April 15, 2009 4:23 pm

    Mahendra, :)

    Oorja, his hand shows that he is only slightly indecisive. Moreover his hand shows that he is a flexible and reasonable man and will readily take advice from others. So I doubt that there will be a problem…! You see, some people are always very sure of what to do and go after it with a great intensity, fighting against all odds, and push the decision, but Obama’s hand shows that he is not like that. He is more democratic and a listener.

    DI, a lot of people think that palmistry is about reading the future. This is a misconception as there is no way that the future can be told by palmistry as lines keep changing. And worse, fears can create lines that mislead. For example a fear of something, let us say of having an accident, might show itself as an accident on the hand, but as the age nears the sign often disappears! Because the fear has gone! This has been proved by well known palmists.
    The shape of the hand tells even more than I have mentioned, but it takes a long time to analyse it. For example, the colour of the hand, the texture, the knots at the back of the hand, the nails, all reveal personality characteristics. Even the way a person holds his hand (in front of him, behind him) says something about him. The lines on the palm go into more detail, but there is no way they can tell the future with any certainty. They just go deeper into character analysis. For example the head line will tell the the quantity and quality of intelligence, which one has to read by taking into account the type of hand. However a lot of palmists tell the future by looking at the lines, because that is what people want! And if the palmist is making his living by palmistry, he is forced to tell the future, but he is not being true to himself as there is a strong chance of that line disappearing or another one appearing.
    And I don’t live in Pune! :)

  14. April 15, 2009 4:38 pm

    openlight, I am sorry but I deleted your comments by mistake. I got three identical comments from you on my admin page and I thought there was an error and deleted all but one. Too late I realised that you had made the same comment on 3 different posts! If you wish you are welcome to post them again.

    • openlight permalink
      April 16, 2009 4:12 pm

      Gone is gone, but I commented same as subject for all the three posts is same – palmistry but applied on different persons.

      Hence to gat across my point on all 3 I repeated it, as we are not sure whether all persons who visited your posts, have read all 3 posts.

      openlight, I did not mind the repeat comments at all, so please do not misunderstand. I deleted them because I thought it was an error. This happens at times when the same comment gets duplicated on the same post. – Nita.

  15. Chirag Chamoli permalink
    April 15, 2009 7:05 pm

    You read Obama’s hand, more or less I have read him as a person from what ever I have seen or heard of him. he does hide a tremendous tenacity behind calm exteriors!

    My only hope is he walks the talk!

  16. April 16, 2009 10:21 am

    I don’t know much about palmistry but amazed that we can figure out so many attributes from reading a hand.

    Thanks for a very comprehensive analysis!

  17. April 18, 2009 6:04 pm

    I saw an interview of Obama on Amreekandesi’s blog and I found him very level headed. Atleast he was not talking rubbish. Your analysis somehow reaffirms what I had initially thought about him.
    Hopefully, he will prove to be a good leader.

  18. April 18, 2009 7:52 pm

    Nita,

    Thanks for your article on Obama’s hands!

    Are you aware that several other hand readers have presented their ‘hand analysis’ of Barack Obama’s hands?

    I have presented them in this article:
    http://www.handresearch.com/news/barack-obama-the-hand-of-power.htm

    … and I just included in the article a link to your blog-post as well!!

    Best wishes from The Netherlands,

    Martijn – handresearch.com

  19. sangeet permalink
    April 20, 2009 1:03 pm

    Can I post my hand’s pic for you to analyze?

  20. May 8, 2009 6:53 pm

    Interesting..

  21. Priscilla permalink
    July 31, 2009 2:21 pm

    l really wonder how u started Palmistry ,this actually helped me in my research for Obama’s personality character ,well done.

    Thanks Priscilla. I started reading books on palmistry when I was 12 years old and also started reading palms. This has continued over the years. There is no course that I know of. It is all self-study. However it is important to first just see palms without reading and ask people whose palms you read whether it is true or not. That is how you learn. – Nita

  22. Priscilla permalink
    July 31, 2009 2:23 pm

    wat are the required qualifications for a palmistry ,l really want to join the field

  23. XLNC permalink
    September 14, 2009 4:36 am

    Regarding the Article, we are here to know palmistry as a subject, it just tells u the present concious levels of the mind and nothing else, anyone has some drawbacks and nobody is perfect. Regarding Barrack Obama, he is the president of the United States of America, and the rest is history. Be the why guy, why u do it u do it and then see the world taking turns the way you want…

    XLNC, the great thing about palmistry is that it taps the unconscious mind as well. – Nita

  24. October 3, 2010 11:15 am

    Dont see Obama as a persnality in hands This person has brains and and tactics to play with people minds everyone likes him and has God gifted persnality in which very few people are born

  25. Danny Kim permalink
    March 11, 2011 7:11 am

    is this legit stuff?? cuz I need Personality traits for and essay I’m doing about Obama

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 416 other followers

