Skip to content

Vote for me

August 27, 2009

Hullo readers. For the first time I am writing a post to ask readers to vote for me in a contest. The Indiblogger contest is for best short stories (Go here to vote) and I would love to win it. Usually I never write to solicit votes but being a writer at heart and the quality of my stories, I feel I deserve to win this one. In fact I really want to win this one. I know it isn’t completely fair to ask for votes, but I have realised that these contests are based on votes only and others ask for votes too. I mean, there is no panel of  experts in that particular field who will judge. So I guess I have convinced myself that I need to ask for votes.

I have been writing stories for a long long time, and I cannot say it is a hobby with me. It is my life. I guess that is why I halted my career in Advertising and took to Journalism as that was the closest I could get to earning some money and writing at the same time. But my creative writing has gone on, some has got published, other work hasn’t. A novel is still in progress. Unfortunately blogging has stolen time away from my creative writing, but now I am trying to make more time. Old readers would have realised that I used to post everyday, but now I post just twice a week. But basically my career ambition is just one: Getting published. I know I will make it soon, I need to find more time to finish my novel.

I guess winning this contest will help my career in some way. That is what I imagine. I don’t know.

I hope it isn’t too much trouble for you to cast a vote for me! I have already approached quite a few regular readers my email, but there are others whom I haven’t written to. Only bloggers can vote.

If you are too busy to do so, I’ll understand.

22 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2009 6:21 pm

    Lata Mangeshkar gets the award every year for her talent.
    Why won’t you?
    All the best.

  2. August 27, 2009 6:33 pm

    I’m still waiting for Indiblogger’s verification to be completed.

    All the best anyways! I am sure you will win.

    I’m also pleased that you decided to ask your loyal readers to vote for you. That’s the way to go in this competitive online world!

  3. August 27, 2009 7:33 pm

    🙂 my bribe?
    Its good u posted this. U had won the current affairs without posting!

  4. vasudev permalink
    August 27, 2009 11:38 pm

    nita…u r absolutely right in asking for votes. at least that much can you expect of your friends who put you in dire straits at some times. not that i am actually meaning it in so many words ’cause you have also very learned commentators here who add value to your blog but…what else can i say? best of luck and happy winnings!

  5. August 27, 2009 11:42 pm

    Your blog is the most happening blog about India….I will cast my vote….:)

  6. August 28, 2009 12:40 am

    all the best
    will surely vote

  7. Meghna permalink
    August 28, 2009 7:47 am

    I don’t have a blog Nita, or I would have voted for you.

  8. Vipul permalink
    August 28, 2009 7:52 am

    Nita – I have enjoyed reading your blog for a long time – mainly for the objectiveness in your analysis and more importantly in your dealing with acerbic comments, rationally.

    Would love to vote for you. Would love it further, if more people visited and shared their views.

    Cheers, Vipul

  9. August 28, 2009 10:11 am

    Hey Nita,

    Your participation in indiblogger is like Rahul Gandhi contesting a panchayat election .. I mean, u deserve higher accolades than this for ur honest writings .. It it was a nobel prize for writing, I would hv been happy and it would hv suited you ..

    But I will vote for you ..

    And you said I know it isn’t completely fair to ask for votes .. It is completely fair to ask for votes .. Without you asking, how will ppl like us who never visit indiblogger know that you are participating in such a competition .. So dont be bothered about it .. Asking for vote is completely fair and handsome ..

  10. August 28, 2009 10:28 am

    Tum mujhe vote do mein tumhe post dungi!!! 😀 😀

    Our mutual understanding still stays! 😉 Done dana done! 🙂

  11. August 28, 2009 11:42 am

    BK Chowla, I hope I can be the Lata Mangeshkar of writing! A long long way to go! In any case my novel is a thriller type, so I think Asha Bhosle is a better comparision! 🙂 🙂

    Mahendra, even I wonder why the verification isn’t happening quickly. Maybe they are short of staff.

    Reema, yeah I won that without posting and actually I didn’t even think I deserved the win. I mean, there are other bloggers who write better than me on current affairs, but well they didn’t participate and I should be glad! 🙂 But seriously I think I deserve to win the short story thing, lets see what happens. Whatever the result, its okay I guess.

    Meghna, vasudev and Anju, thanks.

    Kumar, you can’t vote unless you have a blog.

    Vipul, I wish too that I get more readers. Like other bloggers I too want to grow in readership, and it is motivating if that happens. I guess I should just be thankful that my readership hasn’t decreased though my frequency of posting has decreased. About commentators many of my readers don’t comment, but I get emails. I think they don’t want to log in and use a nickname and they want to remain anonymous. They are not bloggers. But they read regularly. I think you too do not always participate.

    Soham, thanks for those really sweet words, made my day. 🙂 However, the thing is that I am at the end of it all, a blogger and for bloggers in India Indiblogger is pretty big. They organise meets and the like. I prefer them to the other Indian awards. I don’t want to name them here, but they are snobbish. Also their nominations aren’t that fair.

    Sakhi, considering that we can’t vote for ourselves, our understanding holds good! 🙂 But I guess our votes will cancel each other out.

    • August 28, 2009 2:10 pm

      @Nita:

      Ohhh .. I did not know tht a serious and sincere blogger like you is taking indiblogger seriously .. I think there must hv been something good about it .. I guess, I will have to regularly visit indiblogger now .. Cant fall behind in the ratrace you know !!

      All the very best for the competition .. From ur comment, I realized that how mcuh this win will mean to you ..

      Best wishes ..

      Soham

  12. August 28, 2009 10:40 pm

    certainly you can ask for votes from your readers

    nothing to be apolozatic about it

    and best of luck

  13. August 29, 2009 12:34 am

    Good luck Nita 🙂

  14. August 29, 2009 12:37 am

    Sigh. Something is not right with my laptop. It sent the message above, almost instantly!

    Anyways, good luck and I am happy you have spread the word around regarding the contest. I think it is important as not everyone is subscribed with Indiblogger. Many might be unaware of such contest. May the force be with you 🙂

    • August 29, 2009 9:11 am

      Well, quite a few of my readers don’t have blogs and others are not members of Indiblogger! So I guess I am not going to win this one!!

  15. August 31, 2009 8:44 am

    Just want to thank all of you who have taken the trouble to vote for me. I am not winning but one thing I appreciate very much is that there are readers who have shown their love for me and my work. I cannot ask for more.

  16. September 2, 2009 10:00 pm

    I think i agree with Soham. I removed myself from the indieblogger precisely for that reason. it isnt a contest really. its just hucksterism. the more you sell your wares you garner votes, you win.
    don’t think someone like you needs it.
    you are a winner.

    • September 3, 2009 7:46 am

      Thanks Sudhir. At one time I was completely against asking for votes, but as a result of my poor networking lost out, on Poonam’s awards for example. After that some blogger friends of mine wrote to me and told me that one should ask for votes, its all in the game. I was unsure about it, and now I have gone back to my previous opinion. I guess because I know I cannot be a good enough huckster! 🙂 I was one in this contest and was feeling guilty for being so (you made me feel very guilty indeed!). But I don’t want to judge others because life seems to be all about marketing nowadays. Even when it comes to publishing, people who are well known get a publishers attention pretty easily while unknowns have to strugge, merit or no merit. But one thing is for sure, I cannot be good at marketing, networking and the like. This contest has taught me that. And I don’t want to try and improve myself in this either, I have to concentrate on my work. Thanks again.

  17. September 3, 2009 3:03 am

    I had no clue that you were nominated in this category. Until now. I have never read a story by you. The link to vote in your post is incorrect; I had wanted to see your stories.

    I voted for Sakhi, even though I recently started reading Rads (another nominee) and enjoy her stories.

    Never mind the contest, but wish you luck for your desirable career. May God bless you!

    • September 3, 2009 7:54 am

      Poonam even if you had voted for me I wouldn’t have won anyway! 🙂 But thanks for the thought. Actually people will vote according to what they perceive, because no one has time to read all the stories of all the nominations. It is a busy world, and we don’t get time to do even our usual reading, leave alone wade through pages and pages of as many as 60 nominations. So I know most people did not even bother to read my stories. It doesn’t matter. I voted, but I didn’t read other people’s stories either! It just wasn’t possible. Blogging contests are a lot about networking there is no doubt about that. A contest based on merit only means getting a panel of judges who are experts in the field and them deciding. Like it happens at the film festivals for example. But then I guess this takes away from the blogging experience entirely! Its not a bloggers contest then. 🙂 So within its own limitations (which everyone knows) these contests are fair. My blog was not known for its short stories. The blog counts.
      Also if you go to the category Fiction you can read my stories, but I don’t want to give a link here, and make you feel guilty for not going through them~! 🙂

  18. ajith permalink
    September 7, 2009 6:22 pm

    dear nita i saw this post too late. u had changed the links now so i cant see ur stories. pl give the link if you can – pretty eager to meet the story teller nita!
    anyway since i dont have a blog i dont think i could’ve voted for u. but i’d have loved to vote for u. ur blog is one of the best indian blogs n i greatly appreciate the honesty n integrity n character which shines thro ur posts. u lanugage is also excellent n touches a chord always.
    there is nothing wrong in asking for votes n am sure none of your loyal readers will misread you there. and it’s nice to see a blogger who is not into networking n silly awards to mutual friends.
    keep blogging! awards would mean nothing to you or to your loyal readers!

    Thanks ajith. 🙂 The link to my stories is here: https://nitawriter.wordpress.com/category/writing/fiction/ I have not published all my stories on this blog though as I plan to one day polish them and send them for publication. – Nita

Leave a comment