Skip to content

Munnabhai’s pal pal inspired by Cliff Richard song

November 11, 2006

Listen to it here. The very song – Theme For A Dream which inspired the music director of Munna Bhai Lage Raho.

Theme for a Dream was a popular song when I was in the teens. A song I used to hum to myself fairly often.
When I saw Munnabhai Lage Raho and heard a song in the movie which went Pal, Pal, Pal – I thought it was a haunting and familiar tune. I didn’t realise it was this song which it reminded me of…until someone who read my review on the film pointed it out. He was kind enough to point me to this video. I didn’t even know there was a video of this song! It was a treat to hear it. And I hope others enjoy it as much as I did.

Update: 11th June 2008: Our shameless national jury has given a music award to this film!! Read about it here.

Related Reading: Hindustan Times steals a blogger’s photograph

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Mahe permalink
    November 25, 2006 10:51 am

    Ah.. guess you beat me to it .. in finding out the connection with the awesome “theme for a dream” song with the “pal pal” version on munnabhai 2.. which I happen to watch and listen for the first time today.. and ever since heard the tune.. I had been reminded of “theme for a dream”. Sigh! my old casette full of cliff richards song is unusable now!.. the good ol days! anyways..great to c it being revived thro the cover songs like “pal pal”.. and kindling back old memories.. in those who still have an ear for such songsπŸ™‚
    Mahesh

  2. November 25, 2006 11:57 am

    That was a very sweet comment Mahesh. Thank you. I share your fondness for old lyrics.

  3. gloria permalink
    December 19, 2006 12:51 pm

    today i was humming theme for a dream( which i hear very often as my brother happens to be an ardent fan of cliff richard).immediately my colleague started the tune saying pal pal.. i thought she is making a timepass composition listening to the tune i was humming. later she told its a movie song. its sad that our musicians steal the work of others. many in india wil now give credit to the one who has now copied n not to cliff richard. This depicts the sad state of affairs in this nation

  4. December 19, 2006 1:09 pm

    The only way to stop this blatant stealing is to expose the thieves. They do it because they think they won’t get caught.

  5. Krishnamurthy permalink
    December 23, 2006 11:33 am

    I heard about this Munnabhai song was a blatant copy of cliff richard – from my nephew who is an ardent fan. Got confirmed while searched the net and chanced on your site. I thought some good songs are being made here too but you proved me wrong – they are all truly commercial.
    Thanks for bringing out the original melody and tribute to cliff.

  6. swapan permalink
    December 31, 2006 7:40 pm

    great meeting like minded melodious people. Chanced upon your posting trying to hunt for chords of this very song Theme for a Dream.. a nostalgic childhood song

  7. January 1, 2007 8:41 pm

    Thanks,for giving us gyan about this pal pal song copied by our times great .very melodious,i come across your site accidently while searching for sunil alagh.

  8. Neil Prasad permalink
    February 18, 2007 1:01 am

    I too remember Cliff’s “Theme for a Dream” song from my high school days, and have been trying to find, purchase & download it on MP3… it’s not available on iTunes and other sites… does someone have the relevant link to purchase the song?

    Thanks,
    Neil Prasad.

  9. July 14, 2007 9:24 pm

    I think bollywood movie makers are always inspired by the west.. and now it seems the songs are also getting them inspired.. anyways i don’t complain because the song.. pal pal is really melodies (http://onlyhits.blogspot.com/2007/06/pal-pal-har-pal-lage-raho-munna-bhai_16.html ) I love to hear it again and again..πŸ™‚

  10. clff lover permalink
    July 22, 2007 10:03 am

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vg1ua6lFOkA This is the updated link to Theme for a dream, th eone in your blog is not working.

  11. July 22, 2007 5:13 pm

    Thanks Cliff Lover. I have corrected the broken link. πŸ™‚

  12. xntricpundits permalink
    November 21, 2007 6:46 pm

    Want to know more about lifted aka inspirations-You need to check out the blog by Karthik-

    http://itwofs.com/itwofs.html

    ITWOFS?
    #ItwoFS is simply Inspirations in Indian Film Songs!

    The motive of this site is straight and simple – to provide a comprehensive list of musical inspirations (sometimes subtle and intelligent but mostly downright blatant!) of Indian film music composers. The list is constantly growing and the most important source of additions is the mails from this site’s visitors! And yes, this site focuses more on inspirations from international sources, rather than from inter-language inspirations in India.#

  13. November 21, 2007 7:53 pm

    @xntricpundits:

    Hey thanks!! That’s a cool site and very useful. What I like about it is that it is matter-of-fact and not sensational.

  14. Vivek Agastya permalink
    May 7, 2008 1:52 am

    Guys, take it easy. I saw a video where the music director(s) admitted to getting the song from an old classic. The guy who was speaking (can’t remember hte name right now) didn’t name Cliff Richards or the song, but was pretty clear that the song was only an adaptation. And this was an early interview, a marketing event, after the music launch but before the movie was released. Don’t go screaming bloody murder just yet…

Leave a Reply

