Skip to content

Dune Ride in Dubai

December 9, 2006
tags:

dubai-desert-2_1_1.jpg Call it a dune ride or a desert safari. In Dubai, this was one very unusual experience that we had. We were bundled into a jeep and taken up and down the dunes at seemingly breakneck speeds. It was the steep inclines that made one feel as if one was going down a cliff. Very exciting, but certainly not a ride for the faint hearted, those with queasy stomachs, pregnant women or in fact anyone who is not supposed to go on a vigorous roller coaster ride. Then there are some who just don’t like these kind of rides as we discovered when we recommended it as a must to friends.

However young people, specially teens, get a real thrill out of it. My teenage daughters as well as my husband loved it. I wish I had known what I was going in for though. I doubt whether I would have gone (I vomited soon after!). Those whom we approached for the ride never gave us a clue as to how badly one could get shaken up inside the vehicle. We simply saw an advertisement in our hotel, and decided to go for it.

The good part was that there was a belly dance by a very pretty girl as well as a typical Arabian dinner included in the same package. Camel rides and a stall where you could take a picture of yourself in Arabian dress. Soft carpets where one could lounge around, munch dates, and have a drink or two. Overall, a wondrous evening.

(This photograph is copyrighted to me)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. rashmi permalink
    December 21, 2006 6:50 am

    Thanks for this info coz we have been thinking of this for a short holiday but now that I know what the dune ride involves am happy to forget it ,the belly dance notwithstanding.

  2. Owen permalink
    March 16, 2008 1:41 pm

    I’d recommend the dune ride in Dubai – I went years ago and loved it! It is fast and steep but its good fun!

Leave a Reply

