Skip to content

Sunset on Marine Drive

March 30, 2007

, I took the following pictures last weekend when we were driving along Marine Drive, Mumbai’s most famous landmark.

[rockyou id=62025271&w=426&h=320]

Marine Drive has always been one of my favourite places. I have been coming here ever since I was a kid. When I was dating the man whom I am married to now, we used to sit here for hours, holding hands, watching the sea. Some of the best moments of my life have been spent here. Marine Drive in those days was not as crowded as it is now. Now its full of people, even on week days. However its still beautiful. And sunset on Marine Drive is one scene I will never tire of.

Related Viewing: A photo-essay of a traffic signal in Mumbai
An aerial view of Mumbai
Mumbai to take on a new skin plus photos of some landmarks
A few more Mumbai snapshots plus information on real estate costs in south mumbai
View all posts filed under the category of Photography
View all posts filed under the category of SlideShows
An email forward about the Mumbaikar in a nutshell

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2007 2:23 am

    Hi Nita! I could not open the picture you posted here.
    That said I am trying to imagine Marine Drive in Mumbai, gazing onto the Ocean, at the shore and people there. We have Marine Drive here in Vanvouver, and as you and your husband courted on your Marine Drive, so did my husband and I, here on our Marine Drive on the other side of the world:-)

  2. March 31, 2007 8:25 am

    This is actually a slide show, the new tool from wordpress. As you too are on wordpress, you should have been able to see it. I am puzzled.

  3. March 31, 2007 2:38 pm

    Even I am unable to view, however I have watched it in rockyou.com. You should check the coding (but you seem to have inserted it correctly as it shows other options).

    BTW your photos recalled some of my old memories. You have captured and the presented the hustle bustle of Marine drive creatively. Why don’t you try your hands at camera more?

  4. March 31, 2007 2:40 pm

    Hi, when I finished the above comment and pressed submit button, and when the page reloaded I was able to see the slideshow in the post. Probably Flash player is not being loaded properly.

  5. March 31, 2007 2:48 pm

    I repasted the coding just to make sure. tell me if you still can’t see it. Anyway, wordpress support is closed for the weekend so I will have to wait till monday to tell them.
    And thanks. I love photography and am some sort of an amateur. In fact nowadays I carry my camera around a lot. The streets of mumbai are a treasure trove! I am not into the technical aspect, just try to get a decent angle.🙂

  6. Phantom permalink
    April 1, 2007 7:51 am

    Yes, Marine Dr is indeed a special location for many mumbaikars….queens necklace has featured in so many movies. My good friend lives in one of the buildings on marine drive and i never tire of the view from their balcony. I can imagine thousands of couples have spent many a romantic time there.

  7. April 1, 2007 6:37 pm

    Now it is working perfectly. Keep on shooting, you never know when you get opprtunites for breathtaking photographs. And I envy for this part of yours, being at Mumbai, such a lovely and lively city to shoot(no pun here🙂.

Leave a Reply

