Skip to content

Is this woman pregnant?

April 2, 2007

Now I don’t know whether I am getting influenced by media reports or the movie Traffic Signal, where they show how beggars and salespeople at traffic signals think of various tricks to arouse the sympathy of their ‘victims.’ At times they hire babies, or pretend to be blind or disabled, or act pregnant. When I saw this young lady selling childrens’ books at a traffic signal I was suspicious of the way her stomach looked and took out a camera from my purse.

The minute I did that the woman started to move away in a strangely agile way and tried to cover her stomach. However I did get a shot. But then when I studied it, I started to wonder whether I was wrong…was this woman really pregnant? What do you think?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2007 8:39 pm

    Does it make make a difference, whether she is, or not? Isn’t she is just applying sympathetic marketing techniques? She knows perhaps out 100 people a few will purchase products out of sympathy.

    There is no difference between this lady and marketing agencies when matter is of selling. Some use sympthetic approach (this lady), some use patrotic approch (nike, pepsi and other comapnies encashing on the craze of indian crickters), some use ego boosting and pampering approach (height of such approach is Rajnigandha Pan Masala), some use child or parent psychology and so on…

    So, if you like any such marketing performance on the traffic signal, buy the product🙂

    And yes, the movie Traffic Signal really shows hidden life around trafiic signal.

  2. April 2, 2007 9:09 pm

    JV, to me it makes a huge difference! I am not denying that companies cheat and that is why on this blog under “consumer” issues you will find many examples where I have tried to expose them.
    But if you ask me – I don’t like to be cheated by any one, rich or poor, a company or an individual. There are a lot of hardworking and honest poor people, and anyday I would prefer to help them.
    Why just recently I returned a Milton thermos because it was defective. They replaced it promptly and therefore I did not blog about it.
    As for those around traffic signals who are acting disabled – well, that means they are not disabled and are therefore fit to work. This particular traffic signal was around Dharavi, and you know what goes on there. There is industry there. The average incomes of Dharavi are fairly good. Its a thriving business centre. People there make papads, snacks, namkeens, momentoes, everything. Its hard work but it pays. That is why people come to Mumbai my friend. If you are willing to work hard, you can get work. And then there are those who want to make a quick buck.

  3. April 2, 2007 10:42 pm

    I agree completely with you on being deceived. I too dislike such thing. But I focused on the mentality, the extent of deceiving matters little.

    I am often visited by ‘students’ from unknown marketing institutes who wants to earn ‘points’ by selling books.

    I can’t think of anything in such case.

  4. Lisa Mathew permalink
    April 3, 2007 12:55 am

    Hey Ms. Nitha, I followed you here from The Great Indian Mutiny. You have a nice blog and I can learn a lot from you.

  5. April 3, 2007 6:31 pm

    As JV says, what this “pregnant” woman is doing is to appeal to sympathy as a way of marketing a product. As a vendor she probably has to come up with the cash to give her supplier for the books she is selling, and perhaps take a little cut for herself. She probably does better as a pregnant woman waddling around at a traffic signal than she would as a vigorous woman in her prime flitting from car to car. I can’t imagine she is earning untold riches doing this, and perhaps this is a more honourable way of scraping up a living than prostituting herself?

  6. April 3, 2007 8:50 pm

    Well, I guess if it was a choice between prostitution and marketing herself this way…the latter is better!
    But it is possible to sell books at a traffic signal without resorting to this. Scores of little boys and young men do that, and they sell the books too. I have bought from them many times. They are healthy and young, like this woman, and they sell their wares honorably and I respect them for that.

  7. April 23, 2007 10:43 am

    At the end of the day, she is earning her bread – correct? At times, marketing tactics or strategies are ok as long as individuals do not get into un-ethical way of earning a living (viz., steal, rob, etc etc). what do you think? At least she is not begging but selling books.

  8. April 24, 2007 10:38 am

    Frankly I feel that what this woman is doing is unethical. She is selling under false pretences. I would prefer it if she begged, at least we could make the decision as to whether to give the woman alms or not. I don’t much liked to be fooled. It is only because she is poor that i did nothing about it. Generally if I feel that if a company is cheating me, I would try to do something about it. Like make a formal complaint. Anyway, this is a a minor instance. I think people should be aware that there are people who try to fool you, and frankly whether these people are rich or poor is not the point. At least that is my feeling.

  9. October 19, 2007 10:37 pm

    She looks too slender to be pregnant. Her jaw line is so delicate, her breasts have no fullness. Every part plumps a bit during pregnancy.

    I’ve heard of women in the US wearing fake pregnancy pillows to get a good seat on the subway.

Leave a Reply

