Skip to content

Intellectual Blogger award

July 18, 2007

I must thank Mahendra for tagging me for the Intellectual Blogger Award. I must confess however that I found it very difficult to name three bloggers who I think are deserving of this award. That is because I know more than three or four bloggers who do deserve this award, and having to choose three out of them was very difficult.

The bloggers I have chosen are all very different….they fall into different categories. Amongst the very popular and successful blogs, Engtech is my favourite. And amongst the new bloggers, its The Brain Chimney. And when it comes to another, very different kind of blogger…it’s Fear the Seeds. He runs three different blogs and all of them have different content.

There are others too like AE and Kamangir who deserve this award (all of these blogs are far far better than mine) and actually I feel tempted to add at least 5-6 more…but adding a long list won’t be fair to Mahendra, who asked me to name just three.

Also, there are some wonderful blogs out there which I have not had the time to read…and ofcourse there are also some blogs which I have not discovered. So I am naming the ones above very hesitantly and humbly opologise if I have not done a good job of it.

This Award needs to be taken further and the people I have mentioned are to name their three favourites for this award. Well, no pressure on anyone you know…

Update: As is evident from Mahendra’s comment, the number to be tagged are five, not three. Or as he says it can be only 1-2. I think thats a good thing, gives flexibility. Also I am adding something that I should have written in the above post: This is how Mahendra decided on whom to nominate:

The Intellectual Blogger Award

This award is intended for those bloggers who demonstrate an inclination to think on their own. This is what I think is needed in today’s blogosphere. The term ‘Intellectual’ has often been derided in recent times, and this is one way to resurrect the true meaning: “An intellectual is one who tries to use his or her intellect to work, study, reflect, speculate on, or ask and answer questions with regard to a variety of different ideas.” The rules are:

1. If, and only if, you get tagged, write a post with links to 5 blogs that you think are of “Thinking Bloggers”,
2. Link to this post so that people can easily find the exact origin of the meme,
3. Optional: Proudly display the ‘Intellectual Blogger Award’ with a link to the post that you wrote.

This initiation is open to all blogs, except:

– Groups of bloggers (for e.g. desimutiny.org)

– Bloggers who simply replicate content from other (online or offline) sources

I wish to differentiate between bloggers who simply duplicate content found elsewhere,
and bloggers who aggregate. Bloggers who aggregate can nevertheless be champions, unlike others.

Mahendra has also added another image that can be used, as an alternative to the one above:

 

14 Comments leave one →
  1. July 18, 2007 11:36 pm

    I’ve increased the max. no. of nominees from 3 to 5. For reasons, see my post. My sincere apologies!

  2. Padmini permalink
    July 19, 2007 4:23 am

    I second Mahendra’s choice of tagging Nita for the “Intellectual Blogger” award. I enjoy reading her blogs and especially like the argumentative style that she has and also the way she weighs the pros and cons of every issue. Nita, my bet is on you!

  3. July 20, 2007 2:13 am

    OMG! You nominated me for the Intellectual Blogger awards? This was one thing I’d never expected!

    Many thanks Nita! Now you put me in a real trouble, you are the first person I’d nominate.But looks like I cant nominate you😦

  4. July 20, 2007 7:48 am

    Yeah right, you cannot give me the award! And hey you deserve it. You are a new blogger and new bloggers are as deserving of any award as the older ones!🙂

  5. July 21, 2007 9:18 am

    Pick me! Pick me!

    Just kidding……

    I have had trouble reaching you as wordpress remains blocked in China…

    I read you as religiously as China allows…

    L

  6. July 21, 2007 12:33 pm

    Hi Lonnie. you have a very good blog and if I didn’t add you it was probably because you were not on the top of my mind right then….dash it!
    And I must tell you something funny while we are about it…when I was getting married I invited everyone except my boss! I clean forgot!🙂
    I don’t know whether you will read this comment…anyway I have written one on your blog too. The older one.
    Take care. I read about the floods in your region…

  7. July 23, 2007 1:53 pm

    Congratulations! I have been reading your blog for just a few days now, but I can clearly see the award is much deserved.

  8. July 27, 2007 12:35 am

    Some more updates on my site for making it more convenient and easy-to-follow – added a separate page that is not as long and unwieldy as the original blog post, which is also edited to make it shorter.

    I noticed the graphic on your sidebar doesn’t link to anything. You should link it to this post on your blog. Thanks a log, appreciate the support!

  9. July 27, 2007 8:20 am

    I do not know how to link it. do you?

  10. July 27, 2007 11:41 am

    Depends which technique you’ve used to put the image – one of the following links should help:
    http://faq.wordpress.com/2006/10/18/put-an-image-in-your-sidebar/
    http://faq.wordpress.com/2007/07/01/how-to-write-links/
    http://faq.wordpress.com/badges/

  11. July 27, 2007 1:12 pm

    Well, I did it by using wordpress.com’s how to put an image in your sidebar. And then when i went back to uploads and clicked on the picture, I found that the image already has various squiggles (html) in the various boxes. They must have come automatically while I was putting this image in the text widget, I don’t know. Well, as i know very little about how html works, I do not want to delete those squiggles as of now as I do not what will happen. However, if you do it on your own blog and tell me how it was done that will be useful.

  12. July 27, 2007 7:21 pm

    Mahendra, I did it. It was simple really, I guess I should have learnt how to do it earlier. I have also linked the image in the post above to your post.🙂

  13. July 28, 2007 2:46 pm

    Great…thanks!

Trackbacks

  1. Kamangir (Archer) - کمانگیر » Blog Archive » “Intellectual Blogger Award”

Leave a Reply

