Skip to content

Top six movies of 2007

January 21, 2008

I love movies, whether Bollywood or Hollywood. I guess everyone who visits my blog knows that. Last year I had made a list of my 10 favorite movies of the year, and thought I would make one this year too. This year however I found that there were very few Hollywood movies I loved (I missed Blood Diamond!!) and therefore have only one on my list. In fact most of the movies I saw last year were Indian movies. Even then there are just three movies which I considered really good. Here are the three:

1) Taare Zameen Par (review here.) This is the last movie I saw in 2007, and it’s one of my favorites because the subject – treatment of children by an insensitive school system – is a subject after my heart. Although the movie is a little slow in the first half, it’s a treat to watch the director take us into the world of children.

2) Parzania affected me deeply (review here.) The film is based on a true life story of a Parsi boy who was separated from his mother when goondas attacked the predominantly Muslim Gulbarga housing society in Ahmedabad. This film wasn’t entertainment as such, but it had a strong message of non-violence.

3. I liked Chak De a lot (review here). as it’s a lively entertainer with a social message. The story is about a coach who comes in from the cold, having been discredited once because he lost a match to Pakistan. The film brings out two things: one, that our sports teams, even the ones which officials deride, have innate talent but do not perform because of the lack of team spirit and a killer instinct, and two, that sexism prevails – in the families of the girls, in society and yes, even amongst the members of the hockey board! The casting was excellent and well, the movie has drama and not a single dull moment even though there is no song and dance.

I didn’t see too many Hollywood movies last year but of the ones I did see there is only one I really liked. That’s the The Bourne Ultimatum (review here.) Wow, what a movie! Sheer unadulterated enjoyment. Like eating my favorite dessert for a good one hour and 51 minutes with every minute like the first bite!

If I had to compare the movies on their entertainment value, then The Bourne Ultimatum would win hands down I guess. Despite that I tend to see more Indian movies and enjoy them better. There is something about Indian movies that is a must-see for me. I have explained that here. I can identify with the issues more easily and also enjoy the music . And well, I have some favorite stars.

I want to mention two other movies I enjoyed last year. They were not hits or great cinema, but they were good movies. One was Traffic Signal (review here). It flopped (the critics tore it apart) although the film was good. The movie is entertaining in parts and sad in parts. All in all, a decent film. It’s about the Mumbai beggars and about the mafia that controls them. Another decent movie was Black Friday - a (review here). It’s actually a documentary, a brilliant cinematic portrayal of the 1993 serial bomb blasts in Mumbai which killed 257 people and injured over 1,000 people. The film is based on a book by the same name and talks of actual people and events. Bheja Fry was another good movie and would have come up in my top movies of the year if it hadn’t been for the fact that the movie was a copy of a French film.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2008 10:53 am

    Nita,

    This is going to seem rather absurd, and unconnected, but I think the chain of thought was started by your blog. I would certainly recommend The Closet (Le Placard), a french movie about a straight man pretending to be gay.

    This was connected to your criticism of Bheja Fry, in case you wanted to know.

  2. January 21, 2008 2:32 pm

    Arre Nita, this is what I am writing now, my top 10 movies of 2007…reading your review I am feeling guilty..and feeling like you beat me to it :(

  3. January 21, 2008 3:40 pm

    How about ‘Khosla Ka Ghosla’ Nita ?

  4. January 21, 2008 4:44 pm

    DD, thanks for the suggestion about The Closet. If I get one with english subtitles I will certainly see it, and no I don’t think you chain of thought is unconnected!

    Poonam, hope to read you top ten soon! :) Actually I too delayed writing this…had planned it in the first week!

    Prerna, Yes Khosla Ka Ghosla was good, but somehow it didn’t remain in my mind. In fact today if I try to remember the movie, I can barely recollect anything. That is one of my ways of choosing a film for a mention, and I guess it’s pretty subjective. And also it depends on not just the genre one likes, but also the issues that concern one. But I am glad you mentioned that film, it was a well made one.

  5. January 21, 2008 6:04 pm

    The funny part is none of the movies I have seen is on this list.
    Gosh, I must have watched some of the worst movies in 2007 :(

  6. wishtobeanon permalink
    January 21, 2008 7:56 pm

    I have yet to see the movies on your list except for Traffic Signal. I liked the movie and I think the actors acted very well. None of them are well known, right?
    I saw The Namesake recently. I haven’t read the book, so the movie didn’t seem bad.

  7. January 21, 2008 8:07 pm

    wishtobeanon, Namesake was alright, with some brilliant acting from the lead actors. Unfortunately I kept comparing it to the book and therefore the movie fell short in my eyes.
    and yes, the traffic signal actors are not well known.

    xylene, movies are so subjective so you can’t really say you watched the worst movies! that is why I never give out star ratings for my movies…one man’s meat is another’s poison!

  8. January 21, 2008 9:16 pm

    Actually I liked Nishabd, went with couple of friends, and both hated the movie, I still think AB was really good in the movie, and the movie was a good attempt..
    I also liked,
    I think Metro had excellent music, and some realistic tracks, and some great acting..
    I liked the art in saawariya and the music as well, yes you heard it right Saawariya :D

    Other movies which I liked Blue umbrella, Gandhi my father,

  9. January 21, 2008 9:29 pm

    Thanks Rambler. I have not seen any of the movies you mentioned except Metro. I liked Metro, but somehow it slipped away into the dark recesses of my mind ….Traffic Signal remains etched on my mind!
    I liked that other movie of AB, the one with Tabu. That was nice.

  10. January 23, 2008 7:31 am

    Watched Le Diner De Cons last night. Bheja Fry is a word for word translation of the movie with nothing original to add. I am deeply disappointed with the movie now.

    @Nita: This is the third time I am trying to post this comment. I submitted it once last night, but it didnt seem to work and once more this afternoon. Hopefully this time it sticks.

  11. January 23, 2008 8:21 am

    DD, thanks. sometimes wordpress acts like that. happens to me too on my own blog. could be some technical glitch.
    I agree with you about Bheja Fry. I have not seen the original but it’s such a shame that the director did not even try to adapt the film to Indian society! At these times I feel that Bollywood sucks.

  12. Jackie Paulson 1966 permalink
    April 19, 2011 12:15 pm

    I am so impressed with your movie reviews. I just got Cable recently. I didn’t have tv forever..now I do. It’s nice to go back to 2007 and see what was popular. Thank you so much.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 414 other followers

