Skip to content

Freaky electronic scenes

February 11, 2008

All of us have bad photograph days and I have plenty of those. I love taking pictures but only about a quarter of them turn out alright. My greatest failures have been with night shots as I often use the wrong settings, and sometimes it’s deliberate, basically to see what happens. As a result I have to discard quite a few photographs. I use a Canon 610. Review here.

The first lot I delete on the camera itself, the second lot I delete when I see them in my viewer and the third screening happens about a month later, when I delete almost all the bad photos. I don’t delete all however and keep some in a folder called bad photos! Don’t know why, but I sort of vaguely feel they mean something. My indecipherable night shots I keep in a folder called Electronic Scenes. Don’t know why, they seem electronic nonsense to me! I am going to share them here (sorry!) after having made some sort of story around it.

Please move your mouse on to the picture to see the caption.

 

 

Social Bookmarks:
14 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2008 9:15 am

    These are wonderful – tales told by writing with light. I enjoyed looking at a time sequence captured in each shot. G

  2. February 11, 2008 10:09 am

    Quite uncharacteristic a post. But certainly a breath of fresh air after all the ‘screaming’ and ‘wailing’ in all the other posts (comments, I mean).

    I wish I had a camera..😦

  3. February 11, 2008 10:32 am

    Thanks Suburban and DD. If there was a smilie which would be able to capture my twinkling eyes, then I would put it here. Now it’s time to go to the gym, workout, then come home, and put the finishes touches on my tomorrow’s post.

  4. February 11, 2008 11:13 am

    I always find that it’s when im giving my nicest photo look that it gets messed up!!😦

  5. February 11, 2008 7:55 pm

    Interesting experimental shots.

    In most compact digital camera night shots are ghastly due to noise.

  6. February 11, 2008 8:02 pm

    These are nice pictures! Like an acid tripπŸ™‚

  7. February 11, 2008 8:56 pm

    No such thing as a bad photo. Quite groovy in fact.πŸ˜€

  8. Raj permalink
    February 11, 2008 8:58 pm

    Nita,

    These are good pictures.May I add a suggestion here?I found the other format for the slide show to be better since I could control the speed of the slide show.I wanted to carefully observe some pictures but I am unable to.And I don’t have a slide account because I cannot remember too many usernames and passwords 😦

    Okay, I’ll change the setting. – Nita.

  9. February 11, 2008 9:46 pm

    Aniche, JV, Parth, Brian and Raj, A very very big THANK YOU.

  10. Ravi permalink
    February 11, 2008 10:01 pm

    Nita

    You have good photography skills. They look cool to me. Keep it up.

    Ravi, it’s good to read your comment on another post.πŸ™‚ Thanks. – Nita.

  11. February 11, 2008 11:05 pm

    Hey Nita, the amateur photographer noticed the same trend in all these pictures. Objects in motion cannot be captured at night using that camera (I guess you have realized this!) But there are ways to get something beautiful out of long exposure shots at nightπŸ™‚ see this and this– not the best, but some of my favorites nevertheless!

    Secondly, the other use of your ‘bad photos’ photos can be to analyze what settings could have changed. If you read the EXIF information in the picture, it shows you everything – aperture, focal length, exposure and a bunch of other parameters. I usually try to take the same picture a number of times with various settings and then read the EXIF to understand whats the best. Ofcourse results cant be replicated!

    btw, I totally loved ‘Questions’ and ‘Night attack’

  12. February 12, 2008 7:58 am

    Priyank, thanks. I will be checking those links out. Yeah, I’ve realised that moving objects come out very badly or not at all! I haven’t tried the long exposure kind of stuff though. I have an older camera which I can do it on, but just lazy I guess.
    I do try to learn from my mistakes and have realised that at time using the ‘auto’ function is best!πŸ˜‰

  13. February 12, 2008 10:51 pm

    I know what you mean about night shots. Mine often turn out blurry and vague, capturing nothing of the crispness I experience with my eyes.

  14. February 17, 2008 4:08 pm

    Interesting shots Nita. Most of the P&S cameras will do the same for a night shot. I would rather call them paintings with lightπŸ™‚. If you want crisp nightshots, you will need to set the camera on a platform which will keep it steady (i.e. tripod). I think long exposures make some very dramatic pictures.

    Thanks xnegvx! I am going to experiment some more…but btw, when I put the setting on auto the pictures aren’t as bad as when I try other settings! Just shows what a poor photographer I am! – Nita.

Leave a Reply

