Skip to content

Movie Quirks – A Blogging Meme

March 16, 2008

I am not into blogging memes or tags but more so the ones that elicit personal information. A tag about the movies is something I wouldn’t like to miss. Amit has given me an opportunity with his blog post on his movie quirks. He listed 10 movie quirks peculiar to him. Half of them I share and I’m listing these five first. The words in italics are Amit’s words and I have either added or elaborated below:

1. I dislike sitting in the corner seat next to the aisle and almost always prefer sitting in the middle and not too close to the screen.
Well, that’s ideal and I agree with the logic. However I always choose a seat next to the aisle as it reduces the chances of sitting next to someone who may not turn out to be pleasant.
2. I don’t like it when people make loud noises slurping their drinks or munching on food while the movie is on.
Me too! And let me add that I don’t like to hear crying babies and toddlers which is a very routine thing here in India. When my kids were small I made sacrifices, but I guess times have changed.
3. Corollary to the above is people who talk or comment in the middle of a movie. I didn’t pay to hear you talk, and if you can’t be quiet for 2 hours, please stay out of a movie theater.
I don’t like it either if people chatter when the movie is on, even if they are my good friends. Okay, I might be tolerant for a while, but if they continue I tell them to keep quiet. I consider myself lucky if they take me seriously🙂 And one more thing, if anyone tries to tell me the story of the movie, I can be quite rude.
4. I used to kick myself if I missed even 30 seconds of a movie, but I’ve mellowed a lot.
I haven’t mellowed much. In fact I go a step further. I don’t like to miss the advertisements before the movie and the trailers either. I sort of like to get into the mood of the movie…and as the advertisements play one after the other, my anticipation builds up. Sounds weird huh! However I dislike to see long documentaries before the main movie…this used to be common some years ago, but now with the advent of the multiplexes, it’s not done anymore. They don’t have the time to waste showing documentaries. One more thing- it’s really nice if everyone else comes on time too because there is nothing worse than other people coming late and stamping on your feet on the way to their seat.
5. I don’t like walking out in the middle of a movie, even if I’m not enjoying it. It’s a question of fairness – I don’t want to trash a movie unless I’ve sat through the end credits.
Ditto here. However in cinemas in Mumbai its become impossible to watch the movie till the end. That’s because 80 percent of the audience stands up and if you sit in your seat you see nothing. I just walk very slowly so I can see as much as possible.

Here are five more quirks, peculiar to me:
6. There’s one quirk I used to have, which was seeing a movie on the first day first show. This has now worn off, because I can rarely make it happen.
7. Eating popcorn and coke is a sort of ritual with me. Call it obsessive compulsive behavior but I need the popcorn.
8. I like watching movies on the big screen. DVD and CD’s are a back-up arrangement if I have missed the movie and it’s not showing at any theatre.
9. I confess that I routinely develop crushes on movie stars. However they last only about a month until after the movie. I had this massive crush on Russell Crowe after seeing Gladiator and Beautiful Mind. I had a crush on Aamir Khan at one time too.
10. One more confession. From the age of 13 to the age of 14 I wanted to join Bollywood and become a famous movie star.🙂

I am tagging those whom I feel would be interested in such a meme. They either write about the movies and/or love the movies. They can do anything they like with the meme, turn it around on its head if they want to…even if it means saying that they don’t like people like me who tell them to shut up while watching movies🙂 So here goes in alphabetical order:

Ankur, Depressed Doormat, Mahendra, Minal, Poonam, Prerna, Prax, Rambler, Rambodoc, Ruhi, Xylene.

If there is anyone else who would like to take up these meme, they are welcome. And for those who have been tagged, take it up only if you feel like!

28 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2008 8:17 am

    @nita…
    thanks for tagging me. I will reply to this post the moment I return back to India🙂

  2. March 17, 2008 9:22 am

    Ok, will do it ASAP….

  3. March 17, 2008 10:20 am

    thanx for tagging me !

  4. March 17, 2008 4:19 pm

    i will reply once im free🙂

  5. March 17, 2008 6:50 pm

    lol…do they play the national anthem in theaters there?

  6. March 17, 2008 7:38 pm

    Vishesh, the national anthem is mandatory all over the country.

  7. March 17, 2008 8:34 pm

    ops didn’t know that…but shouldn’t they being it for the i think 52 seconds?

  8. March 17, 2008 8:47 pm

    Thanks for tagging me.I will reply soon

  9. March 17, 2008 9:20 pm

    ah nice meme, let me think about my quirks😀

    Sure, but remember, only movie quirks.😀 ! – Nita.

  10. March 17, 2008 9:42 pm

    Hmmmmmn….
    (means: whaddaisayhere?)🙂
    (will try)

    I guess a twist of word and mind will do.🙂 – Nita.

  11. March 17, 2008 10:59 pm

    @nita: They don’t play national anthems in delhi or north. I have only come across it in Mumbai. I don’t remember it being played in B’lore too.

    Technically, One is not supposed to sing national anthem under a roof, I think. I mite be wrong too.

    This is a big surprise to me. I thought it was compulsory all over India. now you’ve got me thinking as to why they made it compulsory in Mumbai only. – Nita.

  12. March 18, 2008 1:12 am

    im looking forward to docs reply🙂

  13. padmini permalink
    March 18, 2008 5:14 am

    I haven’t been tagged but will throw in a quirk which has developed with age:) I now tend to fall asleep in movies after a while, however interesting. However, I can read a book to the very end without skipping any pages mainly because you can take your own sweet time and do it over several sittings.

    Padmini, if you were in India you wouldn’t be able to fall asleep! Too crowded and too noisy! In fact I should have mentioned that the audio is also very loud in Indian cinemas, at times too loud to bear. And ofcourse the general cat calls by people (not always, depends on the movie) – Nita.

  14. March 18, 2008 5:32 am

    i thought my absence from blogging world would spare me frm this .. but damn all you bloggers!😉

    Blame Amit! He started it!😀 – Nita.

  15. March 18, 2008 8:45 am

    Blame Amit! He started it!😀 – Nita.

    Yup. I pointed a gun at a cute puppy and said to Nita, “Spread this meme through your blog or else…”😀

  16. March 18, 2008 11:56 am

    hey
    thanks for tagging me… now me will put my thinking cap on and write up something sooon…
    T….H…I…N…K….I….N….G!!

  17. March 18, 2008 1:30 pm

    http://lifezamazing.com/2008/03/17/i-was-tagged-and-hence-here-is-my-contribution-to-the-meme/
    There you go Nita😉
    you’ve finally made me shed my laziness and do some good blogging.
    Vaise, not a bad way to get back to blogging. It was fun thinking it all up.
    Now i am going to read everyone’s contribution.

  18. March 19, 2008 3:37 am

    I don’t like it either if people chatter when the movie is on, even if they are my good friends. Okay, I might be tolerant for a while, but if they continue I tell them to keep quiet. I consider myself lucky if they take me seriously🙂 And one more thing, if anyone tries to tell me the story of the movie, I can be quite rude.

    I dont know why people assume that it’s okay to chatter between scenes. I’m a very serious movie watcher and only like watching movies with people who have similar tastes. I can’t tolerate it either when my friends start talking in the middle. I stop responding😉

    Thanks for tagging me. I should be able to write a post today.

    I think for some people going to a movie hall is like going for a picnic!🙂 – Nita.

  19. dhana permalink
    March 29, 2008 6:57 pm

    hi this site is very use ful and fentastic for youthvery good attitudes

Trackbacks

  1. Movie Quirks « The Crapbook
  2. Movie Quirks « Tech and Trek
  3. Final Transit » Movie hall quirks
  4. I was tagged and hence here is my contribution to the meme | LifeZamaZing
  5. Movie quirks « Virtual Ramblings
  6. Movie Quirks: Meme « Visceral Observations
  7. Movie Quirks « I love life… so I explore.
  8. Tagged Again « ENagar
  9. Cinematic Idiosyncrasies « An Unquiet Mind

Leave a Reply

