Skip to content

A blogging tag about some favourite things

April 30, 2008

Nova and Suda both tagged me for this meme and well the way the tag is raging round, I guess I better do it before there is no one left to tag. In fact that has already happened I think…so here is my list…if I have not named someone, its only because I am sure they won’t take up the tag…or because they have already been tagged for this same meme. In fact I am not sure even about those in this list…but well, its okay if you don’t do the tag.

In alphabetical order, I am tagging Aikaterine, Amit, Axinia, Brian, Gabriel, Jo, Laksh, Paul, Prerna, Purnima and Suburban.

And here are my answers to the tag questions:

1. Last movie you saw in a theater?
Krazzy 4. I wanted to see it for SRK’s item number and oh yes, Raakhee Sawant’s. Now I understand why people are crazy about her.

2. What book are you reading?
guns, germs and steel by Jared Diamond.

3. Favorite board game?
When I used to play board games, snakes and ladders.

4. Favorite magazine?
The Economist. Well I don’t know if its my favourite, its just that I read it regularly, every issue. In fact most of the time the articles in it make me dash off angry letters to the editor which they never publish!

5. Favorite smells?
Smell of wet earth (like Nova)…and at one time the smell of petrol. Also the smell of my mom’s cooking.

6. Favorite sounds?
The chatter of friends and family.

7. Worst feeling in the world?
Being betrayed.

8. What is the first thing you think of when you wake up?
My husband Anil.

9. Favorite fast food place?
A good Udipi restaurant

10. Future child’s name?
Hum do hamare do. (roughly translated into English it means: Two are enough!)

11. Finish this statement. “If I had lot of money I’d….?
Travel

12. Do you sleep with a stuffed animal?
Never did.

13. Storms – cool or scary?
Cool

14. Favorite drink?
Mango milk shake

15. Finish this statement, “If I had the time I would….”?
Finish my novel

16. Do you eat the stems on broccoli?
No but I feel I should.

17. If you could dye your hair any color, what would be your choice?
The natural colour of my hair – Black. In fact I started dyeing my hair when I turned 40. Its not as if I have lots of gray hair, its just that the gray part is right in the front.

18. Name all the different cities/towns you’ve lived in?
Hmmmm… too many. Besides the four metros of Delhi, Kolkata, Bangalore and Mumbai (all except Chennai), there is also Pune, Khadki, Mumbai, Thane. You can add Udhampur, Rajauri, Uri, Duliajan, Bareilly…. Kaduna (Nigeria), Dar-es-Salaam (Tanzania), Mhow…I think I missed a few. Don’t remember. Went to 13 schools and 2 colleges as well.. but I have travelled to many many more cities…

19. Favorite sports to watch?
Cricket. O.K. I confess. None.

20. One nice thing about the person who sent this to you?
Two people sent it to me. Nova, a charming, outspoken and intelligent girl bubbling with life. Suda, a serious, honest, and straighforward guy with a philosophical bent of mind.

21. What’s under your bed?
Ghosts.

22. Would you like to be born as yourself again?
Yes, but 500 years into the future.

23. Morning person, or night owl?
Evening owl

24. Over easy, or sunny side up?
Sunny side

25. Favorite place to relax?
Bed

26. Favorite pie?
Apple

27. Favorite ice cream flavor?
Mango

28. Of all the people you tagged this to, who’s most likely to respond first?
I don’t know!

29 Comments leave one →
  1. April 30, 2008 7:32 pm

    Thanks Nita. I don’t allow pingbacks on my pages, too much spam.

    I don’t normally do memes but I saw this one at Marie’s this morning and I thought it was fine.🙂

  2. April 30, 2008 7:40 pm

    Thanks Nita! Just done with the tag. Nice seeing a different side of you. I mean personal side🙂

  3. lallopallo permalink
    April 30, 2008 7:52 pm

    Interesting stuff!
    You lived in too many cities..
    But, why dont you finish your novel? What’s stopping you from that..writer’s block?

  4. April 30, 2008 8:34 pm

    Nita, you husband is lucky.🙂 Internet seems to be my greatest love. And why would you like to be born as yourself only after 500 years? Not before that?

    You need to write that novel fast. I promise I’ll buy a copy.🙂

  5. April 30, 2008 9:01 pm

    Brian, thanks! I was wondering why the pingback didn’t arrive!

    Lallopallo, I have finished the first draft and half way through the second draft. So now its not actual writing but just improving it. Last few months I haven’t worked on it. I am trying to analyse it myself..it all started when my hard disk crashed and I lost a few weeks of work. I hadn’t got a back-up. After that I haven’t gone back. I don’t know whats wrong with me! Maybe its fear of failure. Ofcourse now they have self-publishing too but I don’t want to self-publish. I want some good publishing house to like my book and publish it. Its a crime novel by the way. My next one will be SF (I got a plot already). Both these genres fascinate me. Crime and SF. Anyway now just thinking of not having worked on my novel for the last few months is depressing!

    Laksh, thanks for doing the meme. I shall be visiting soon!

    Ruhi, I am an SF fan🙂 I have two recurrent fantasies. One – to travel into the future. Two – to go into space and meet aliens. As neither is possible😦 I have to content myself with writing about it! Perhaps in another 500 years there would have been a chance for me to meet aliens, who knows? Good to hear you’ll buy a copy…🙂 At least one copy will be sold!🙂 But no, I’ll probably give it to you for free anyway! I just hope I won’t have to self-publish. Hopefully I will finish my novel by the end of the year and send it to publishers….lets see.

  6. April 30, 2008 9:12 pm

    I love the India connection! Yes, the mirror cracked, and I fell into another world. Since I’m not able to travel to India at the moment, blogging is the next best thing.

    I admire you for reading Guns, Germs, and Steel. It’s quite a tome! I have it on a table, a gift from my father, who reads history, but I haven’t made the commitment to read past the first chapter. Just that first chapter had me thinking and thinking.

    How nice that you think of your husband. You must be close. It’s funny how we can sleep in the same bed with someone for years, yet be worlds apart.

    Great answers. You have more questions on yours. Yaake must have trimmed his down some!

  7. lallopallo permalink
    April 30, 2008 9:19 pm

    Great!!! I dont think I need to tell somebody like you that fear of failure should not deter you for long to pursue your dreams.
    SF!!! You mean Science Fiction?? Amazing..I love that..I dont want to say much at this point, but since last 2-3 months, I have been thinking a lot about it too for my own story.. What a coincidence!!!!
    Btw, have you read Brave New world by Huxley?? My friend told me it’s a great futuristic novel ..Iam reading it nowadays

  8. Ravi permalink
    May 1, 2008 12:52 am

    LOL @nita!

    Do you remember that we talked about “the economist” in one your blogs. Even I don’t like the way they comment on india. That’s sad but the reporter is an indian in most of the cases. I wonder how could a reporter miss out on so many interestin happenings in india? I dont think they are racist but stupid.

    I didn’t understand the context in this question to you.
    Over easy or sunny side up? What does that mean?

  9. Joss permalink
    May 1, 2008 2:53 am

    You went to 13 schools! When everyone else merely changed teachers every year you changed your entire environment. Or rather, it was changed for you. You must find it easy now to fit in amongst people that you don’t know. I would wish the same thing for my son. But I could not bring myself to achieve it in the same way your parents did, by moving house every year! Maybe your parents had joined the army. That too I could not bring myself to do!

  10. May 1, 2008 8:19 am

    Christine thanks! I have a feeling you will come to India one of these days..maybe it will be something to do with yoga. And about the book, I just started it. Its heavy alright. But the subject is after my own heart. How we all are what we are.

    Lallopallo, thanks. Yes, I mean Science fiction. I read Brave New World years ago and I remember it was pretty depressing. Somehow I have a more optimistic view of the future.

    Ravi, the reporters may be Indian but probably just of Indian origin. I too think that in many ways the Economist is stupid. They would never allow a person of English origin but having having grown up in India report on UK news, but they would do it the reverse way. How can they ever get anything straight about India? And sunny side up refers to eggs. If you order a fried egg anywhere in a hotel you got to tell them how you like it. Over easy means double fry as we call in in India.🙂

    Joss, it is my traveling that has impacted my personality. As you said I find it very easy to adjust to new situation and make friends very easily. However there was some trauma I went through in childhood! One strong memory etched on my mind was when as a six year old I refused to let go of my dear friend. Her name was Biba and I cried a lot…I remember that moment clearly, the time when we drove away in the car and me waving to her. But one learns to get over things like this. We didn’t shift every year (dad was in the army) but I have changed schools in the same town, not that it is any less traumatic! However the last years of my school were in one place and that gave me some stability.

  11. lallopallo permalink
    May 1, 2008 8:20 am

    I wrote about UFO’s, Aliens and Life on Mars in my blog sometime back.
    You might want to check it sometime..wud love to read your comments, if any

    ufo’s and aliens
    life on mars

    Lallopallo, will surely check this out soon. I love such topics. – Nita.

  12. May 1, 2008 10:26 am

    Nita,

    // to go into space and meet aliens //

    A lot of people(aliens?) land on my blog (thinking it is about aliens 🙂 ) from search engines after typing things like “alien invasion of Earth”,”aliens are taking over our planet”,”do aliens play sports”,”aliens are causing food shortages on Earth” and even “sex with aliens” 😀

    So I wrote a post for those alienophiles/alienophobes about what I think about the existence of aliens and about the Fermi paradox(if aliens surely exist,why don’t they establish contact with us) and about possible alien “incidents” like the Tunguska explosion,but I was not satisfied with it and deleted it.It looks like there are enough alienophiles/alienophobes on Earth,so I may write about them . . .

    I would also love to meet an alien(of the friendly type) in his/her own planet 🙂

  13. Captain Sharks permalink
    May 1, 2008 11:31 am

    answer to d 5th one wud surely match with mine…..

  14. May 1, 2008 12:01 pm

    Wow! This one was cool…🙂

    And thanks for the kind words. That was sweet of you!🙂

  15. May 1, 2008 12:14 pm

    Hey Nita, I was just tagged with the same theme by another blogger too and posted my answers in my blog.🙂

    5, 7, 11, 16, 27 – We have similar tastes in many things!🙂

    No. 10 – LOL!
    No. 22 – Oh yeah! That would be really exciting!

  16. May 1, 2008 12:15 pm

    Add no. 3 to the similarity list too!🙂

  17. May 1, 2008 2:45 pm

    Raj, when I first saw what you called yourself on your blog (alien earthling?) I was quite surprised. Well, you meant alien in another context… I hope!🙂 Ofcourse if you were a real alien that would have been so exciting!🙂
    Those search terms you mentioned are really funny!😆 Specially the one about food shortages! Ha ha! Really funny, you should write a post on it!!
    I do believe aliens exist but ofcourse I don’t believe any have landed here yet. They are too far away in terms of light years and we haven’t learnt to reach them as yet. But that they are exist there is no doubt. There is no way that Earth can be the only planet in the whole universe which has life.

    Capt Sharks, thanks for your comment here! Its been a long time since you commented.

    Nova, you are welcome.

    Jo, well this meme is spreading like wildfire and it looks like someone beat me to it. Its okay though! And about similar tastes..well, I think we have similar opinions on many things too.

  18. May 1, 2008 4:42 pm

    Nita,I agree with you that we are definitely not alone in the universe! Yes,I get atleast two or three visitors to my blog who come looking for real aliens,so I will write a few posts for those alienophiles/alienophobes 🙂

    Well,I may not be a “real” alien,but I think I am a “true” alien! 😉 😀

  19. Ravi permalink
    May 1, 2008 10:17 pm

    Nita

    We think similar n my tastes matches your answers for # 5, 7 & 9. Apparently you had never been in a storm so they are cool huh!🙂 I prefer to be alone listenin to good R & B (#6)

  20. May 2, 2008 9:45 am

    Thanks for the compliments Nita🙂
    But you think I am serious guy? Wait until we meet someday, you will need someone to shut me up and stop you laughing. First principle in my life is to make peoples smile, spread smile. And you forgot one word, “MAD” or better one “Krazzy”😀

    And write your novel, I promise I will buy it from book store for whatever price it is and not from roadside. ( yesterday I purchased “The Kite Runner” and “A thousand Splendid Suns” for 100 bucks each. And my friend thinks I should have done more bargaining😛 )

  21. May 2, 2008 2:54 pm

    You have lived in too many places!!!!
    And you are writing a novel?? Would you mind if I ask for a one liner about the novel?
    And I am buying it too.😀

  22. May 2, 2008 5:46 pm

    Suda, well, if I go by the first comment on this blog, I guess you can certainly get me laughing!

    Amit and Suda, I think I am the first would be novelist who has sold copies before the novel is published! But seriously, thanks guys.

  23. May 3, 2008 2:13 am

    Not fair, nitz, Why wasn’t i tagged? Is it cuz I am not on wordpress? ;p

    only joking!! :))

    good luck on your novel! im sure all of us will be buying i when it ocmes out as long as you promise to autograph it.😀 ‘n yes, do eat those broccoli stems!! also, do share that mango milk shake too.😀

  24. May 3, 2008 7:37 am

    Roop, You were one of the first people I thought of tagging but I read on your blog that you will be traveling. Please do the tag!!

  25. May 3, 2008 10:19 pm

    Nita, thanks for tagging me. I personally am not a big fan of tags, but Shefaly has tagged me with the same tag too. It’ll be hard for me to ignore the requests of two of my blogger friends.😀

    bTW, I’ve spent many summer vacations in Bareilly – that’s where my mom is from, and where my grandparents and uncles live.

  26. May 4, 2008 3:08 am

    Thanks for the tag, Nita! I want to read Gun, Germs and Steel, too. I hope you will blog about it after you’ve finished reading it.

  27. May 6, 2008 7:50 pm

    Thank you, Nita!
    Normally I dont ´follow this kind of things… But getting tagged my you is an honor to me – and I will support it this time. 🙂

  28. Tajbinder permalink
    May 8, 2008 1:58 am

    To start with, this blog exudes quality and is very informative. Nita i have always wanted to know what drives an absolute freelance journalist. I ask this because i am a 28 years old “educated” real estate broker and consider myself a freelancer.And yes i am hooked on to this place for life!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  29. May 8, 2008 7:48 am

    Amit, a bit late to answer your comment…but no compulsion to do the tag. About Barelily I lived there as a child, in an army cantonment. I have some wonderful memories of the place.

    Paul, In fact there is something in that book which I am going to blog about even though I haven’t finished it.🙂

    Axinia, thanks.

    Tajbinder, Thanks for your kind words. About your question, I am not sure whether you mean what drives me to blog or drives me to freelance. The reason I have freelanced more in my career as compared to the number of years I have spent working full-time is because I wanted to give time to my children and my home. And I blog because I am tired of free-lancing now. One gets paid very little and I am now working at a personal project. Blogging satisfies me.

Leave a Reply

