Skip to content

A song which inspires – a tag

May 7, 2008

Aikaterine tagged me for a writer’s tag. She said:

Think of THE song that most inspires you to write, whether it gives you an idea for a story, script or just puts you into a better frame of mind AND/OR peek into the lyrics and find a verse that sums up the theme of whatever project it is you’re working on. If possible, post a video of the song to convey to readers the full context of the song and the mood it puts you into. Finally, send the assignment to five other writers to do as well.

A wonderful tag, but the problem was that I could not think of one song. Too many pieces of music inspire to write and put me in the right mood. A lot of this is Indian instrumental (sitar, santoor). Not vocal, just instrumental. I love the violin too. This type of music increases my concentration and focus, makes me go inwards…thereby helping me write.

But if there one song, there’s one which has been an all-time favourite with me…and it does put me in the right frame of mind to write. I wouldn’t say it gives me ideas or inspires me as much as instrumental music does, but it does put me in the mood to write. It always has, ever since I heard it. The song is Time, by Pink Floyd. You can listen to it here.

Time – Pink Floyd

Aikaternie has asked me to tag five other writers…well I am tagging those I know to be writers and if there is someone I have missed it’s only because I don’t know if the person is a writer.

I have also tagged one person who is a cartoonist, and he will have to think of the song which inspires him to create a cartoon. Or perhaps he can make a cartoon of it. So here goes in alphabetical order and remember, don’t be under any pressure to do the tag. It’s absolutely okay if you don’t.

Anshul, Brian, Christine, Rambler, Suburban and Vishesh.

Anyone else who wants to is free to do the tag.

Thanks.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. May 7, 2008 8:27 am

    Nita, your song selection adds another dimension to my concept of you. And it really is a great song. What a show they put on! I’ve never heard them live…..

    This is a fun post – I’ll be happy to participate. Thanks for thinking of me!

  2. May 7, 2008 9:06 am

    😯 , Holy…., Now I am already under back log of two tags or cartoons….😉

    Thanks for tagging though, should do it soon…,even I think its tough…..I will have to listen to my entire Billboards 1946-2007 collection to find out which ones inspiring me.:mrgreen:

  3. May 7, 2008 10:06 am

    thanks🙂 am going have a tough time doing this…:) too many songs…

  4. May 7, 2008 10:44 am

    did it🙂

  5. May 7, 2008 4:28 pm

    what a nice surprise Nita!
    I really love this song too! well, this whole Pink Floyd album its just amazing!
    This song it inspires me a lot too!!!
    The beggining instrumental part of this song its just great!
    like a heartbeat…
    Namaste.

  6. May 7, 2008 5:22 pm

    One song Nita? I have to be truthful here, I don’t think music has ever inspired me to write. I do love music of all kinds and from all cultures, but my writing is different. In fact, I can’t actually write if there is music playing because it’s a distraction.
    I need quiet to allow the thoughts to flow. When I listen to music, I listen to relax and enjoy. I do love Pink Floyd.

    Thanks for the tag though.😀

  7. May 7, 2008 5:31 pm

    in my case MUSIC its necessary to be inspired…
    to draaaaaaaaaaaaw!!!

    have all u a nice day!

  8. Nitin Mahajan permalink
    May 7, 2008 6:15 pm

    Hi Nita,
    I was on your other forum sometime back.Hopefully I can post here as well!I saw Pink Floyd live [Well Roger Waters anyway]in Sydney about 6 years back and it was awesome.Time is one of my altime favourites too.I do get inspired from time to time by different songs.Personal favourites being,”Teenage Wasteland”[Baba O Reilley] by The Who and another song by Eddie Vedder[Pearl Jam]and Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan “The long road”.I do write sometime[but its only for private viewing,you know what that means…very average stuff!]I am not very literary,so not sure if these songs inspire me to write or not but they do stir something deep within everytime I listen to them.I try not to listen to them too often, lest they lose their magic.

  9. May 7, 2008 7:47 pm

    Hey thanks all for your responses.

    Francina, I agree Pink Floyd is amazing. The only group I love more are the Beatles. No….I can’t decide. They are totally different actually.

    Thanks Nitin for sharing.🙂 I agree though that a song as such may not inspire one to write, but it does “stir” something within and that sort of helps.

  10. May 7, 2008 8:24 pm

    oh this one is a toughie :)….can I post the link instead?
    songonmymind
    🙂

    No Rambler. If you didn’t do the tag, it was fine. But posting a link instead is not! – Nita.

  11. May 8, 2008 2:45 am

    I really like this post Nita, ‘cos music its very important in my life, its been always with me and helped me a lot in difficult times…
    So, i’d like to recommend to all u one BSO, which is one of the albums i’d put in a list of My favourite music. I like many types of music…but the one its been inspiring me most its: BARAKA BSO.
    Check the trailer here:

    youtube

    Its an AMAZING (and not speaking, just musical) documentary about the earth, nature, its people, society…well, all of us!
    it makes u think…i just love it,
    BARAKA IS ALWAYS WITH ME…
    ENJOY IT!

    Even though I couldn’t understand the words, the short piece makes an impact. It is awesome! Thanks Francina. – Nita

  12. May 8, 2008 9:25 am

    actually the link has songs which have inspired me a lot …

    I don’t doubt that Rambler. But you are supposed to do a tag on your blog. That is what a tag is all about. As I said you don’t need to do it, but posting a link to the songs you like (of your own blog) goes completely against the spirit of tagging. Not done. Also, you are aware of how tagging works, I have seen that on your blog. Anyway! – Nita.

  13. May 8, 2008 4:08 pm

    ah ok now I got what you meant by “instead” 🙂

  14. Tajbinder permalink
    May 9, 2008 11:34 pm

    hi nita! good songs inspire me too. but trying to increase your efficiency while working at the same time never happens. of course, u can listen to a song to set yourself in the mood and then get on with working is perfect. and yes u didnt respond to my first comment, instead it got deleted. responding may not be necessary but a first time welcome would surely have increased my loyalty towards your blog. Anyway, such is the quality of your blog(especially the content is akin to quality restaurants offering quantity as well or a great channel without breaks.Actually i can go on and on. Hell i am spellbound!) that no matter what i am glued for life!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  15. May 10, 2008 7:38 am

    Tajbinder, your comment has not got deleted. It’s very much there, here in this post on another blogging tag. I wrote about two blogging tags in the recent past and you might have thought that the comment was here. True, I didn’t respond to it, but at times I miss comments if too many come at the same time.
    What you have said about my blog is indeed very kind of of you and well, I am quite overwhelmed. Thank you very much. I hope I can try and live up to those expectations you have !

  16. Tajbinder permalink
    May 10, 2008 11:28 pm

    i dont think that you have to try any extra bit coz from what i can make out the words come naturally and the content is the result of the experience.

Trackbacks

  1. tagged!!! « the light shines the brightest

Leave a Reply

