Skip to content

Joona Bazaar photo feature

May 20, 2008

Pune’s Joona Bazaar (Joona is a Marathi word meaning old) is a place where you can buy second-hand stuff…something akin to a flea market. The only difference between a flea market in western countries and a similar market here is that in India you won’t get just second hand stuff, but third hand and fourth hand goods too…with a few stolen goods thrown in! Mumbai has a joona bazaar too, called Chor Bazaar, (Chor means thief in Hindi) but I am not sure whether it’s called Chor because you can buy stolen goods there…this wiki entry says Chor is simply a corruption of the word Shor (meaning noise). Chor Bazaar of Mumbai is a tourist attraction as you can pick up some antiques pretty cheap…which you can in Pune’s Joona Bazaar too. In fact you can buy just about anything and that too dirt cheap but you have to bargain like crazy! These kind of markets are a feature of every single Indian city…some cities even have a couple of them…

A strong drizzle had cleared the air just a few hours earlier and therefore I got some decent photographs. Usually I have to work very hard on my photographs… clean them up as they come out hazy because of the pollution in the air. And when the air is clean (as in the monsoons), the lighting isn’t good enough….and as a result the colours don’t come out right. This time the sun was very intense, the light dazzling bright, the air hot but transparent (!) and my pictures came out clear. All I had to do was crop them to get the right composition. As I am posting over 20 photos I thought of a slide-show but while a slideshow is okay for scenery, I was not sure whether it was suitable to showcase photographs of a crowded flea market such as this…each picture is so crowded with details! Sorry for the extra scrolling you need to do…and also if it takes a little long to load…

Most of the pics speak for themselves…

Baby nets

old scooter

emergency light briefcase

table fans

knives

sewing mc gym equipment

sofa set

tv ac

cycle tyres

old clothes

shelves

watches

These markets are usually very crowded and its not just the poor who frequent them…

kids bike

people in market

You get foreigners here too…this one is buying a some sort of toy band…

foreigner buying band

foreigners joona bazaar

three contrasting men

mango seller

joona bazaar sellers

woman flea market

(All photographs are copyrighted)

Related Viewing: More photo-features about India
Slideshows

Social Bookmarks:
30 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2008 10:13 am

    lol,what a market…in chennai we don’t have a flea market( or well there might be something like that in north chennai,which i am not aware of)…but for antiques,if you an eye open,you can find them through out the city…

  2. May 20, 2008 11:01 am

    Nita,
    Don’t you think you missed some things? Yes you did.πŸ˜› Haven’t you seen the Sports Shoes Sellers there? They have all brand NEW shoes. I have been there for them once . No, I didn’t bought but I found shoes of all branded companies like Nike, Reebok, Adidas and Lee Cooper. They were originals OR excellent copies of originals (Honestly, I was unable to identify if they were fake).
    And BTW when did you took those photos? Sunday or Wednesday ?πŸ˜€

    • Tejas permalink
      August 28, 2015 9:22 am

      Did u was it in the chor bazzar at mumbai,if u then where did u saw it please rply i wanna take 1.

  3. May 20, 2008 11:40 am

    Vishesh, a real market isn’t it! I love browsing around such markets and would have spent some time there if it hadn’t been so blistering hot!

    Suda, I took the pics on Sunday…and just took them from a moving car! The traffic was slow and therefore we did not need to stop to take pictures. I have been to the market earlier but this time all the pics were taken from the road…and no I haven’t seen that shoe shop…I won’t be surprised if the shoes were genuine…maybe chori ka maal!πŸ™‚

  4. May 20, 2008 12:48 pm

    what beautiful pictures! I love the trunks pic!… and oh – i dint come via wordpress news. i got here via amrutha’s blog…

  5. May 20, 2008 1:40 pm

    the nike, reebok and lee cooper shoes are original ones, those are stolen from the cargo ships and smuggled to India. That’s what I heard from a friend of mine in Mumbai.
    Those are original ones as u can see cutomized shoes among them… those wud have been cutomized for some poor guy in HongKong, while on the way the pirates got them and sold to smugglers.
    Nita, is that scooter for sale? or is it parked there?

  6. May 20, 2008 2:35 pm

    Hey Xylene, I heard same. And scooter is not for sale. Its used for transportation purposes.πŸ˜€

    • rishabh permalink
      January 3, 2012 12:09 am

      hi,,u suggest me ,where this place is situated in pune,,im new in the city,,i want to go there bt i dont know the way,,,u tell me that any popular place is near to this place…….thks.

      It is near the Pune railway station but I hear that they have moved it recently. I think if you ask a rickshaw driver, he will take you. – Nita.

  7. May 20, 2008 3:34 pm

    Hmm..this is interesting. I’ve lived in Pune for the past 2 years now and have never heard of this. The table fans are funnyπŸ™‚ and the trunks definitely look antique. The last time I saw one of them was at college.

  8. May 20, 2008 5:28 pm

    Nice work. Can you tell me, which camera do you use?
    In these kinds of places you have to be very circumspect, as usually these places become the target of terrorist to hamper the peace. Anything on the roadside could be distrustful, from briefcases to old scooter.
    I have been to markets in Delhi like Chor bazaar and Daryaganz Book Market, and always found crowded. But finding things here very cheap really excites me.

  9. May 20, 2008 6:44 pm

    Hi mad momma and thanks. hope to see you again.πŸ™‚

    Xylene, thanks for the info! And I don’t know about the scooter…but I have a feeling it must be for sale… but then I don’t know!

    Lakshmi, hi and welcome.πŸ™‚ Surprising you haven’t heard of the market as its been around for the last at least 25 years. But then I guess its not much of a place to really find anything! One has to really know what to buy and how to bargain, so for us its more of a novelty rather than something useful.

    Bornfool, I use Canon 610, the review of which I have written here.

  10. May 20, 2008 8:34 pm

    I am always attracted to such bazaars..we find some really peculiar things at a price I can afford.
    I have never been to pune..however I don’t want to miss this one if and when I come to pune.

  11. May 20, 2008 8:38 pm

    Nice pics. I felt as if i had a walk through the market. I am surprised to see a market of that kind. Goods look too old and non usable. I wonder who buys electronic items from there.

  12. May 20, 2008 9:42 pm

    OMG!!! Such markets exist?? I have heard of Chor Bazaars but have never seen one. Thanks for the pics.πŸ˜€ I really liked the ones with the knives and the one with the tv set. Did you buy anything?

  13. May 20, 2008 9:51 pm

    Nita – perfect timing for this great photo-blog. The season of buying and selling used goods is upon us here in Canada. We do have flea markets, with the usual second, third and fourth-hand stuff, also “rabbited” stuff of illegal provenance. However it is the garage sales that set the heart of die-hard bargain hunters aflutter. Many suburban lawns are littered with goods no longer wanted by their owners, always on the two days of our weekends. One can find the strangest stuff and going on one of these on a weekend is a form of entertainment for many of my friends. I found my avatar at a garage sale for 10 cents and waxed so enthusiastic to the seller she must have thought me insane.
    The picture of the electric fans reminds that we in North America take central air-conditioning in the summer for granted. There must be a brisk exchange of fans in hot India. Also the picture of the scooter with the log for seat shows remarkable adjustment to using whatever is available to make something function. Great photos! G

  14. May 21, 2008 12:08 am

    hi!πŸ™‚
    i looooove second, 3rd, 4,…hand markets!
    You can get amazing and surprising stuff there!
    I’m sure i’d get some interesting things here,…
    And i can see in the pictures, some lost tourists
    having a look, hahahaha!!!
    Nice pics!!!πŸ™‚

  15. oemar permalink
    May 21, 2008 4:41 am

    Very nice collection…. almost every city has one of these. I used to buy hard disks for my computer for a mere Rs. 100 from such markets in BangaloreπŸ™‚

  16. May 21, 2008 8:38 am

    Rambler, Radhesh, thanks.

    Amit, no I didn’t buy anything! It was too hot! Next time…

    Surburban, thanks. Here only the superrich have central airconditioning. Almost everyone uses fans! We also have a concept of coolers which work in a hot dry climate (not in mumbai’s humidity). Coolers are cheaper, use less electricity…they work as the cooler is filled with water and the hot air that comes in (along with a motor fan) helps to evaporate the water. In Delhi coolers are common.

    Francina, next time you come to India, I’ll take you to Mumbai’s Chor Bazaar! It will be fun.

    Oemar, hard disk for Rs 100!! That’s really cool and in fact that answers someone who wonders how people can buy electronic stuff here. I mean, if one is buying it at a throwaway price, who cares how long it lasts!!

  17. May 21, 2008 1:11 pm

    NITA!!!
    I’m coming this august to India, but i’m going to Varanasi…
    Sure if I have opportunity to go to Mumbai, I give u a call
    so u take me someday to this market!
    I’d love to met you Nitaaaaaaa. Thanxs!!!

    I guess a lot of people are attracted to the spiritual aura of Varanasi. Have never been there myself. I hope Mumbai will beckon too…there is the beauty of south india to see…and mumbai is on the way.πŸ™‚ I’ll send you my phone number anyway so you can call me. – Nita.

  18. May 21, 2008 2:51 pm

    that would be great NITA!
    i’ve never been in the south…and i’d really love to!!!
    That’s my 3rd time in varanasi, this time bacause I have
    indian friends there…
    Thanxs Nita!!!

  19. July 29, 2008 1:11 pm

    Very nice photo feature! This reminds me of Chor Bazar of Mumbai:-)

  20. mohammed afzal permalink
    January 13, 2009 1:17 am

    MISSING in this article were the address of the joona bazar and the day when it is held.This i (not capitalised i,learnt from The Times of India few months before.They say it will rid you of your ego)think is the essential information.But, sadly missing.
    What I have to do is ask too many people for the address, which eventually i will get.
    You said you took these photos on Sunday.So i got the day.Thanks for the article.

    Sorry Mohammed, I do not know the address. Just know it is near Pune station. – Nita.

    • Sandesh permalink
      August 9, 2011 1:35 am

      Its Very Famous Here in Pune. So Just Ask the Direction to Joona Bazaar and it is Open on Wednesday and Sunday only………..

  21. pradeep permalink
    February 9, 2010 8:51 pm

    Hey you provided a lot of information about seconds sale. Can u give me the exact location of Joona bazaar……..

  22. July 26, 2010 12:06 am

    Hi Nita,

    I went there today. Here is my experience of Joona Bazaar –
    I was looking for some cheap keyboards and guess what I bargained for… 3 keyboards for Rs. 50 only!!! … ah well, one of the KB had it’s cable cut and caps lock missing… the other 2 KBs “look” OK to me. Haven’t tested them so can’t say if they are in working condition or not… but who cares, I bought them because I wanted to open the keyboards and try out something. So, for me it was a good deal.

    [ The first thing I did after coming home was I WASHED the keyboards with open tap waterπŸ˜‰ … this was the first time ever I washed an electronic itemπŸ˜€ … and now I don’t see anything to laugh at in the video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yANjDEDcLvs … :O ]

    ok.. jokes apart … There were other people who were selling keyboards for varying price range: 60-100 Rs per keyboard. The first shop (stall) owner quoted Rs.150, I said I want 3 keyboards, so he asked me how much I’ll pay. When I said Rs.50, he said no one in the market will sell for that price. As I walked away he offered 3 keyboards for Rs.200. …. just imagine, for 1 keyboard he was quoting 150 and for 3 keyboards he came down to 200. I ignored him and went ahead.

    Then there was a person selling 32 GB pen drive, I think transcend, for Rs. 400. When someone asked whether it will work or not, the stall owner said he doesn’t know, he bought it from someone elseπŸ˜‰ … in short there is no guarantee that it will work, buy it at your own risk and don’t expect money back if it doesn’t workπŸ™‚

    Btw, about the shoe shop… now there is a separate section for foot wears where at least 50-70 stalls were there. they were selling all sorts of footwear but mainly the shoes – leather / sports / woodland look alike etc.

    hope this info helps someone.

  23. September 15, 2010 5:51 pm

    Oh man..such a great blog…I am eager to go to this since 2007 …now i’ll surely go and find some cool and cheap stuff..hehe..;)
    and vivek bhai..thanks for the information.

  24. vivek permalink
    January 26, 2011 2:59 pm

    I have went to this place last weekend, just out of curiosity and was surprised to find some rare Vinyls over there at Rs 30 each!! And to add to the surprise were some electronics stuff at dirt cheap prices! God knows whether they will work or not but at the prices like these, everyone would love o take risks.

  25. Nitin permalink
    April 16, 2011 6:51 pm

    omg ……liked this blog very much
    can anyone plz tell me some other places in India where i can find such stuff….😎

  26. Sandesh permalink
    August 9, 2011 1:31 am

    Hey What You have Clicked is not even 5 % of the Whole Market. If you go beneath there is a way to go Downwards where You find Almost everything you need. From a Pin to the Sofas PC, AC’s, Fabrication Materials, Even Scooters and Bikes but in Spare Part. You should definitely visit once more.

Leave a Reply

