Skip to content

A meme about myself

June 3, 2008

I have a feeling that there is something narcissistic about doing memes about oneself…anyway, here goes. Rambodoc tagged me for this one –

I am: a woman.
I think: too much.
I know: myself.
I want: to write.
I have: my life and my love
I wish: to see the future.
I hate: nothing.
I miss: my friends.
I fear: death.
I feel: deeply.
I hear: the sounds of nature.
I smell: the clean salty air of the sea.
I crave: for Alphonso mangoes.
I search: for knowledge.
I wonder: Why people have so much anger and hatred inside them.
I regret: nothing as I have learnt from each mistake.
I love: people.
I ache: when I hear music.
I care: about people.
I am not: as serious as you think.
I believe: in myself.
I dance: to a beat.
I sing: in the bathroom.
I cry: while seeing bollywood movies.
I don’t always: use the right word.
I fight: my demons.
I write: even in my mind.
I win: or I lose, I try to take it in my stride.
I lose: weight easily.
I never: hurt anyone on purpose.
I always: couldn’t answer this one.
I confuse: names and faces…well, at times
I listen: to my conscience.
I can usually be found: in front of my pc.
I am scared: of mobs.
I need: people.
I am happy about: my life.

This is a meme that will change with time I guess, well certain questions at least. A few things do remain the same…

30 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2008 12:59 pm

    Nitta, I hope you don’t get a chance to view the future.😀 And if you get it, plz try to see world after 100 years so you will not be tempted to find out about your own future. Or you want to see how you are going to end? I guess not.
    You could have answered “I am always: determined”🙂

    Nice to know a little bit of you😛

  2. June 3, 2008 1:35 pm

    I appreciate: the life in your posts.

  3. Guqin permalink
    June 3, 2008 1:39 pm

    Nita, I became curious:

    “I ache: when I hear music.”
    You mean you don’t like any music or you like it too much? And you also said “I hear: sounds of nature”. Which do you prefer, nature’s sounds or human’s music? What about Indian music? I tell you why I am curious after you answer…

  4. June 3, 2008 1:49 pm

    we are all a bit narcissistic, dont u think?
    hahahahahahahahahahahahaha…
    so dont worry about answering this meme!
    Its great to know more from u, as Suda says!!!
    kisses.

  5. June 3, 2008 2:47 pm

    Suda, I am keen to know the future of the world, not of myself. Like you know, sit in a time machine and travel a couple of thousand years into the future…well I might settle for 50 years but the further away the time machine takes me the better!

    Old Sailor, thank you.

    Gugin, the word ache implies longing, a longing so deep that it causes an ache. However, I prefer nature’s sounds anyday. I remember when we went to a game park in Africa, one of those unspoilt parks and in a nature resort where there was no electricity and was deep inside the jungle, I was completely mesmerized by nature’s sounds. That is the only time in my life that I heard nature’s sounds the way the first humans must have. Loud and clear. The sound of birds, animals and trees and plants! I swear I heard rhythm and music of the forest, and the humming of the trees…I meditate sometimes and bring those sounds back. It was the most beautiful experience of my life. Even the word music is not good enough for those sounds.
    And yes I do enjoy Indian music, the instrumental kind, the sitar and the santoor.

    Francina, thanks.

  6. June 3, 2008 3:03 pm

    I ache: when I hear music. ………… dint get that one😦 .. ok ok i see your comment about it ..🙂

    hmmm I too lose weight easily ….😛

    My fav : I write: even in my mind.

  7. June 3, 2008 3:24 pm

    i like this one:
    “””I am not: as serious as you think.”””
    hahahahahaha!!!!
    your posts are always so well written, with so many info…
    so profesional! that someone may think that u are very serious and so…
    I’m sure u are very funny!!!!!!
    and KNOW already that u are very sweet and gentle person!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Thanxs to YOU!
    and three cheers for ur BLOG!!!🙂

  8. Guqin permalink
    June 3, 2008 3:48 pm

    Nita, your discription of your experience in Africa is already responding to what I am going to say about why I was curious: I am a painter myself, art and the visible nature can move me both emotionally and spiritually. Words (poetry) can do that too, but typically music can only move me emotionally. But then as most people say the audible nature is not as rich as the visible one (even my musical friends say that), hence I am puzzled: where is the spiritual music for people like me…?

    You just answered it: The audible nature is just as good as the visible one. It is just more vulnerble to human intervention and thus has retreated from our world and become hardly accessible even to professional musicians.

    Your experience strengthens my belief that all human arts are overrated. Using an old analogy of mine: Man-made culture is like building a garden, it has absolutely nothing to do with the life of the flowers which can only be given by nature. We only ORGANIZE the flowers. But from then on we get overly impressed by our garden and forget the origin of all these. Only in rare ocassions we again, in your words, “heard nature’s sounds the way the first humans must have. Loud and clear.”

    You said “Even the word music is not good enough for those sounds.” I love this line. I could easily have my own version for the artists: “Even the word art is not good enough for those images (in nature)”.

    Thank you very much for sharing your African experience, a piece of valuable knowledge and inspiration for me!

  9. June 3, 2008 5:09 pm

    ” I am not: as serious as you think.”
    actually when I see your comments on my blog and your posts here, sometimes I am surprised its the same person🙂
    I mean you seem to be a very cool person there, and a very serious person here🙂

  10. June 3, 2008 6:06 pm

    Dinsan, thanks.

    Gugin, thank you for using the word spiritual. I wanted to use it, but refrained. I wanted to say that at night when we slept the sound of the jungle was like a chant in my ear, voices chanting…like a prayer! The forest talks you know. It speaks and it rumbles. A forest so thick that you can’t stand in it! It’s so awesome (nature) that it’s humbling.

    Rambler, that’s because this is not a personal blog and therefore not much of my personality comes through. I prefer it that way because at heart I am a very private person. True, I am talkative and friendly, but like to keep certain things private.

    Francina.🙂

  11. June 3, 2008 6:27 pm

    good to know more about u.

  12. June 3, 2008 6:37 pm

    well done NITA!
    kissesssssssss

  13. June 3, 2008 7:45 pm

    That was a nice one🙂

  14. June 3, 2008 8:43 pm

    I think a meme makes you talk about some personal facts which you may not always touch upon or reveal through your writing.
    You lose weight easily?? What a lucky woman you are !
    Why did you have to mention alphonso mangoes – now you’ve got me craving for them too…:)

  15. June 3, 2008 9:57 pm

    Lovely meme Nita! It’s not surprising to read that you even write in your dreams.😀 We wouldn’t want you to change that ever. In fact, I would want you to stay just the way you are- very genuine and loyal. Oh, and it’s amazing that you can lose weight easily- something that I need to start doing! I think I’ve gained quite a bit this year. And not many of us can say that we are happy with our lives. So, three cheeers for that!😀

  16. wishtobeanon permalink
    June 3, 2008 11:38 pm

    I crave Indian mangoes too! Nice post or meme by the way – I can identify with a few of them.

  17. June 4, 2008 12:01 am

    After reading your comments especially on Rambodoc’s blog nobody can imagine you are serious.
    As Usha said you are a lucky woman.You lose weight easily? I am jealous!

  18. June 4, 2008 12:29 am

    You cry when you watch Hindi movies???
    😀
    Which was the last one which made you cry??
    And nice short answers.🙂

  19. lallopallo permalink
    June 4, 2008 2:47 am

    Glad to learn that you know yourself!
    ” I fear : Death”

    I often wonder that why we fear death..I mean one can only fear things which may or may not happen..for instance, if I dont do my exam well, it’s natural to be scared because the outcome may or may not be good..
    Again, it’s natural to be scared of, let’s say, not making it big in life..one may or may not succeed depending upon many factors..so that unpredictability makes you jittery..
    But, death is certain..it will come, sooner or later..tomorrow, or in 10 years, or in 40 years or in 100 years for sure..time flies so fast that even what appears distant (100 years) is not that far actually..plus we have earthquakes, accidents, tsunamis and bin ladens…so, death is around us all the time..
    How can we afford to be scared of something that real and certain as death, I always wonder… but we are…hopelessly scared of it..hopelessly scared of losing what we think we own…

  20. June 4, 2008 3:26 am

    I always: couldn’t answer this one.

    That one was easy: “Editing attacks on South Indians and North Indians”!🙂

  21. June 4, 2008 10:19 am

    Xylene, Francina, Nova, wishtobeanon, thanks.
    Usha, Ruhi, Prerna, thanks. Although I lose weight easily I am not thin so don’t envy me! However it’s true that if I eat less for 2-3 days I seem to lose weight. However eating less nowadays is out of the question…only after the mango season is over!
    Amit, I cry on a regular basis in Hindi movies. Last one was Taare Zameen par. Actually this year I have not been too happy with the movies. For me, tears are a good barometer!🙂
    Lallopallo, its very difficult to know and I think the reasons can be different for different people. For me at least, I feel there is so much to do and suppose I die before I finish them! That’s terrifying.
    Rambodoc, umm not really…not always and I am regularly scolded for these lapses by my commentators as you might have noticed if you have been followign the comments…
    and by the way Suda, I am not always determined. Heck, I am determined about 50 percent of the time only.

  22. rule for all - MUST READ I guess permalink
    June 5, 2008 10:34 am

    Following all possible blogging tips huh!

  23. June 8, 2008 6:15 pm

    Very interesting meme. I enjoyed reading this.

    Thanks Laksh. Why don’t you take it up? – Nita.

  24. photopoetry permalink
    June 9, 2008 12:34 am

    it s a nice meme, quite introspective too🙂

  25. June 9, 2008 1:43 am

    great meme, Nita!
    When I was reading it, I thought it was me who was answering – imagine, I would have given exactly the same answers !!! (may be only 2-3 differently)
    .)

  26. June 11, 2008 11:43 pm

    Your answers are short n to the point ..nice..Though i think memes are not narcissistic in nature ..they are too revealing about oneself..thats why I have not yet got around to do this same meme🙂

  27. June 11, 2008 11:44 pm

    and i liked this best // I crave: for Alphonso mangoes.// I love mangoes!!

  28. June 13, 2008 12:14 am

    Nice list and nice set of answers, but I didn’t understand this one..

    I ache: when I hear music.

  29. June 13, 2008 7:43 am

    Reema, Axinia, thanks.
    Akshatha, thanks. About your query, I have explained that somewhere in the comments.🙂

Trackbacks

  1. The selfish “I” « Virtual Ramblings

Leave a Reply

