Skip to content

Mumbai-Pune Expressway scenery – a photo post

June 14, 2008

A few weeks ago I managed to get some clear photographs of the expressway as it had drizzled but the monsoon (which dulls the light) had not set in. A clear bright day…and therefore the photographs are clear too and all I did was trim them wherever required. I am posting some of these here, and this time I have watermarked them. I learnt how to watermark the photographs by checking this site which explained how to watermark photographs in Photoshop. This was something I was hesitating to do for a long time (watermark I mean) as I think it looks ugly. I think I will continue to do it though due to the bitter experience of Hindustan Times stealing my photograph. I’ve realised that putting one’s photographs and work on the internet is like leaving the door of one’s home wide open. It invites the thieves and some of the thieves are rich! Like Hindustan Times. Shameless too…because it’s a good 2 weeks now and they haven’t even bothered to reply! The top guys/editors know for sure as someone I know in HT told them about it. I thought that at least that would work…but no. Their silence speaks volumes.

As for the Press Council, a deathly silence from their end too…and this tells us that they don’t bother about emails, if they read them.

Anyway here are the pictures and if you think the watermark looks ugly, go ahead and say it so I can try and reduce the size. My main aim was to prevent anyone from cropping the photograph.

Mumbai Pune Expressway1

Mumbai Pune Expressway2

Mumbai Pune Expressway3

Mumbai Pune Expressway4

Mumbai Pune Expressway5

Mumbai Pune Expressway6

Mumbai Pune Expressway7

Related Viewing: Some photographs of the Mumbai- Pune Expressway
Sudden showers on the Mumbai-Pune-Expressway – a slide-show
Accidents on the Mumbai Pune Expressway
More posts on Photography
More slideshows

Social Bookmarks:

33 Comments leave one →
  1. June 14, 2008 9:30 am

    The water mark spoils the image, but what else can we do. The content copiers are all over, I guess now the designation at Newspapers ‘copy writers’ .. all they do is copy!😀

  2. June 14, 2008 9:39 am

    Nice pics!! I hope now the thieves will refrain from going through all the trouble of stealing your photograph and removing the watermark and then using it. U know there are software to remove watermarks too. As for Press Council..I wonder if these govt institutions (its govt right?) ever check their emails.

  3. Vivek Khadpekar permalink
    June 14, 2008 10:59 am

    Nita,

    Lovely pictures, except for the watermarks. They do look ugly, but I think it can be avoided by making them more extensive and more subdued. Here’s one example:

    http://graphicreporter.com/images/photoshop/watermark_6.jpg

    And you’ll find many more in Google Images, especially if you look for posters featuring the work of well known artists.

  4. June 14, 2008 11:20 am

    Thanks for your feedback!
    Xylene,🙂
    Vivek, I know my effort was pretty amateurish and am experimenting with some new styles. I think I’ll try something like that you gave a link too, but I think hers is a little obtrusive as well. But something on those lines.
    Reema, I am quite convinced that these guys don’t read emails and well I don’t want to waste my money by sending them faxes!

  5. Ravi permalink
    June 14, 2008 11:22 am

    You have done a good job but putting your name on it. But perverted journalists are aint naive to stole your image as it is, they would use technology to steal pictures/stories in their way…We can only pity their pathetic way of life….lol

  6. vivek mittal permalink
    June 14, 2008 11:42 am

    better if water marks were small

    But scenery is beautiful….i wish i drive through that expressway sometime…..it’s the first rigid pavement in the country built by a private developer

  7. June 14, 2008 12:01 pm

    Ugh. Please do away with those watermarks!

  8. June 14, 2008 12:46 pm

    Very nice view. Must be a pleasure to drive through. Try and get a watermark that is less obtrusive. Like in the bottom corner or something?

  9. June 14, 2008 2:40 pm

    ha its such a nice highway🙂 and nice idea to add the water mark on your photo🙂

  10. June 14, 2008 4:06 pm

    once bitten twice shy ?

    the watermark is good but too big
    keep it in the center and smaller that what it is now
    so if big idiotic media houses steal they can get caught in the act

    nice pics , have u seen the malsej ghat during the rains ?

  11. Steve Johnson permalink
    June 14, 2008 4:14 pm

    I was a Peace Corps Volunteer from 1966-1970 stationed in a small village near Karad, in Satara District, just south of Pune. There I was attached to a swine raising cooperative which sold its pigs to the Government Bacon Factory in Borvili, just outside Mumbai. It was a 12 hour journey from my village to the bacon factory and we used to make it during the cool of the night to reduce the weight loss in the pigs, but the gorgeous ride home was always in daylight. The road between Mumbai and Pune was hardly an expressway then, as oncoming lorrrys and Ambassador autos were each obligated to get down with one set of wheels on to the dirt shoulder in order to safely pass one another, as the road was only 10 feet wide at that time. However, the scenery was a sight to behold as we travelled over the Deccan Plateau!

    These outstanding photographs, even with their obtrusive watermarks, bring back a ton of beautiful memories of the 52 trips I made over this road forty years ago. Thank your for the incredible reminiscing I have been experiencing since I came across these pictures. I am so reminded of my village neighbors and the hard working farmers who taught me how to adjust to Hindustani culture and how to speak Marathi. They were remarkable hosts who inculcated in me the concept that there was much more to life than the amassing of goods and capital. I will always be grateful to them for their hospitality and their optimism. Jai Hind.

  12. June 14, 2008 4:49 pm

    Nita, you can make the watermark a little smaller and put it on the lower right corner. This way it won’t spoil the picture.
    Nice pics, btw.🙂

  13. Vivek Khadpekar permalink
    June 14, 2008 5:44 pm

    @Steve Johnson:

    It appears you have not returned to India after that one sojourn four decades ago. Some things you mention have radically changed:

    1. The alignment of the highway from Mumbai almost up to Khandala is now quite different.

    2. The amassing of goods and capital now seems to be the prime objective of an overwhelming majority of Indians.

    3. Chances are you would not now find people who would voluntarily teach you (or make you learn) Marathi. It is no longer fashionable. Even in the interior of Maharashtra, Hindi is the flavour of the times. And of course you would find a lot of them eager to learn English from you.

    By the way did you know one Neil Barrelli (I’m not sure of the spelling) of the Peace Corps who volunteered in India around the same time as you? He was in Ahmedabad, associated with the School of Architecture.

  14. June 14, 2008 6:12 pm

    Ravi, Vivek M, Vishesh, thanks.
    Onkar, Usha, Amit, Prax, thanks. Yeah I agree, I need to do something to reduce the ugliness of the watermarks.
    Prax, I probably have seen the place as I have been going around this area since childhood.

    Steve, you are welcome. Your comment reminded me that I had published some other pictures of the expressway earlier and now have added them at the bottom of the post. It was wonderful to hear about your sojourn here in this area so many years ago! I was a kid then but at the time used to do the Mumbai-Pune stretch on a regular basis as all our relatives were either in Pune or Mumbai at the time! I have beautiful memories of the older mumbai pune road. It wasn’t an expressway but we managed to cross it pretty fast even in a old fiat as the traffic was less and the lack of pollution meant that even when it hadn’t rained the air was clear (which meant beautiful scenery!). Thanks for your wonderful comment which revived my own childhood memories!

  15. June 14, 2008 11:47 pm

    There is an alternative to watermarking the photographs. Place a conspicuous copyright notice on your photographs. Perhaps “© nitawriter.wordpress.com 2008”, should do, and if someone infringes your copyrighted image take them to court!

    I also noticed that you don’t have an explicit copyright notice on your site. Not that it is mandatory, any content you create is your property. May I suggest using the creative commons website – http://creativecommons.org/

    Great photographs. I loved the 4th and 5th ones from the top. They remind me of the days when I used to live in Pune. Keep posting.

  16. June 15, 2008 12:07 am

    I noticed u have added me to ur blog roll..I m honored! thanks!

  17. June 15, 2008 1:18 am

    nice pics nita, at least good start at watermarks… am sure u would do better once you go on doing this more often. But yes, it does spoil the beauty of the pics. Can’t help it, if you put a smaller one, people can crop and use it…

  18. June 15, 2008 3:27 am

    multiple tiny wmarks would work fine

  19. Steve Johnson permalink
    June 15, 2008 6:19 am

    Responding to Vivek Khadpekar’s observations above that I have not returned to India since leaving in 1970, he is absolutely correct. Once back in the States and gainfully employed and married, the two situations made my return to India highly problematic. All is not lost, however, as one of my co-worker here in the United States, has his who mother lives 40 miles from my old village where she runs a sugar factory that processes cane from fields owned by women. We speak Marathi at work and eat Mahaarashtrian food I prepare at home.

    I still bring my tiffin to work each day with chapatti, dahi-bhat. bhaji, and alu matar, and share with my Indian co worker, just at the Hindi school teacher shared his tiffin with me on my first day in India, January 26, in New Delhi. Republic Day always excites me, and I can usually find a photo or video on line of the current year’s celebration. Indians just went out of their way to make me feel at home and I can never repay them enough for that generosity.

  20. June 15, 2008 6:42 am

    Hi Nita,

    Don’t let the copyright issues bother you so much. There are millions of photographs from professional photographers that are out there waiting to be stolen. It will take someone 15 minutes of photoshoping to undo these watermarks, but do they really care about the digital photos, esp when its such a commodity to take pictures? I don’t, not at the cost of mutilating my own baby.

    I sound too discouraging esp after you have put in efforts to install that plugin and I appreciate that. It is perfectly reasonable to watermark pictures. However, since you are going to watermark anyway, why not write a useful text? A useful text would be your blog address or your email address.

    A genuine user would use that address to come back to you, even after 4 years, and ask your permission for original pictures. Then you sell for a fee😉 You know how it works. Sorry for the long winded comment, your photos are special for two reasons – the other being the memories they evoke.

  21. June 15, 2008 7:43 am

    Sushil, thanks. I had the creative common on my blog for a year but removed it because I didn’t quite like the wording! Also I found it wasn’t necessary…I think a watermark something similar to what you suggest is the perfect solution.

    Reema, you are welcome,

    Sakhi, thanks

    Prax, the multiple watermarks is a good idea. Must try that out. All of this is so time-consuming and this week I have a freelance assignment to finish!

    Priyank, You know I wanted someone to tell me this as I don’t like watermarks. But perhaps that is me reacting emotionally! You far better pics than mine but I see you don’t use watermarks…I can understand that!
    However, I think one should watermark one’s photos though more lightly than I have done. And while you are right about the professionals, I think people are preferring to steal from blogs because we can’t fight or often do not bother to fight. In fact big guys always prefer to steal from the littel guys!🙂
    And that watermark does carry my blog address. anyone typing in nitawriter would come to this blog. I actually wanted to put just nita, as I am not comfortable with nitawriter, but I did that because of the blog’s url. However one reason why one should not watermark is that this is the place where a photograph is being used finally…for example if Getty images or any other photographer watermarks his pictures, it is because the photos are on the net as kind of ad and when the user buys, the photo is given without the watermark.

    p.s. Priyank, jsut wanted to give you a link to a blog where a small fry was bitten by a shark. The sharks like to eat the little ones. You can read about it here. Also another link to a blog where graphic designs are stolen and as the site says, it’s the big names who steal from the small ones. Read about that here.

  22. June 15, 2008 11:42 am

    Some really great pictures though the id marks tend to distract. The advantage of being driven rather than drive I suppose. I did not realize that the highway is so picturesque.

  23. June 15, 2008 9:06 pm

    the sky looks just wonderful, very similar to the one in my city today🙂

  24. June 15, 2008 9:57 pm

    I found your interesting blog accidentely and I would like to say hello.
    Your posts and tracks to other Indian sites give me a better understanding of your country.From your lovely photographs it seems that if I made a stopover in India on route to the far east in autumn,which I would like to do I should chose Mumbai rather than New Delhi.?
    By the way we speak four different languages in Switzerland,and it is accepted that the official language depends on the area you are in at the time the time.Documents are printed in at least two of the languages spoken.

  25. June 16, 2008 3:19 am

    Beautiful pictures, Nita! I don’t want to get into the watermark debate, though.

    // In fact big guys always prefer to steal from the little guys! The sharks like to eat the little ones. Also another link to a blog where graphic designs are stolen and as the site says, it’s the big names who steal from the small ones. //

    I am delighted to read these comments from you, Nita! The sharks may eat the little fish but they stand no chance against humans. We can harpoon them if we want to!🙂

    Raj, thanks.🙂 And about that little fish comment I know you are relating it to something else.😀 But it only it applies to plagiarism.🙂 – Nita.

  26. June 16, 2008 6:23 am

    Nita, Sorry to hear that the Press Council and HT haven’t bothered to reply! RE: Watermark- I think a small copyright sign towards the bottom left/right would be better. But you’re the boss🙂 You should feel safe about putting your pics online.

    I was talking about Bombay/Pune Expressway just yesterday with my friends. This post refreshed my memories!

  27. June 16, 2008 9:07 am

    I really like the pictures, never been on the mumbai pune expressway but it kinda looks very impressive. I like the clear skies with well defined white clouds…

  28. June 17, 2008 12:36 pm

    Ramana R, Ruhi, and Radha, honestyfinally, thanks.🙂 The scenery is indeed beautiful! I love that road.

    diamondsandrust, sorry to reply to you so late. But there is no autumn in India. The monsoon hits Mumbai in the first week of June and it becomes difficult to make one’s way around in the heavy rains. Before the monsoons it is very warm, although not so warm as in Delhi. However in Delhi the monsoon does not clog the roads (mostly) as there is no problem of high tides etc. The rains area also less than in Mumbai. If you are visiting in August, take a look at the weather forcast before coming. By aug the rains have
    reduced and everything is green and very beautiful here.

  29. June 18, 2008 6:36 pm

    Thankyou for replying Nita,as it will be more like September we shouldn’t have transport problems.It would be nice to see a little of your country before going on to Thailand.

  30. June 26, 2008 1:08 am

    Thanks for this, I hadn’t expected such dry, desert scenery. It shows you that India is a larger country than most Americans think it is.

  31. August 12, 2008 5:45 pm

    HI Nita, do you know about this book: India a history, by John Keay (journalist from Scotland). i ‘d like to have an opinion since the book is here next to me … and i might read it. so, just asking around🙂 Thanking you, r.

    Radha, I have not read this book, but if it is about Indian history I think it’s best to read Indian authors as otherwise one can get a Euro-centric view. – Nita.

  32. August 14, 2008 10:14 am

    It s true. This book was suggested to me into an indian bookshop in Mumbai few months ago. I would definitely look for an Indian author. ..Thanks, r

  33. Rohan permalink
    September 18, 2009 9:11 am

    Hi.Really good photos…….Amazing

Leave a Reply

