Skip to content

Summary Post of the past week

July 5, 2008

These are the posts I wrote the previous week. I will now post on Monday, although late, as I will be traveling. If I get too late, I will post on Tuesday morning. Have a good week-end!

Lack of courtesy to Field Marshal Sam Manekshaw Field Marshal S.H.F.J. Manekshaw was a great soldier and a patriot but I was disturbed when I received an email forward which said that dignitaries like Pratibha Patil (the commander-in-chief of the armed forces), Manmohan Singh (Prime Minister), Sonia Gandhi (Congress President) and L K Advani (BJP Leader) were absent at the state funeral and failed to pay their last respects to this soldier, India’s first Field Marshall…however politicians readily attend the functions (and parties) of influential people and celebrities…

Bollywood moving away from plagiarism? We all love to bash Bollywood because the industry is in the habit of plagiarizing. In fact the very name ‘Bollywood’ is so insulting that I wonder why those who work in Bollywood don’t feel ashamed that they are working in an industry with a name that implies that it is a Hollywood clone. … But the copying cannot last. It’s not going to last. I think a change is in the offing. Recently, director Rajkumar Gupta…

Crime in big cities – what’s the situation? All of us want to feel safe when we walk on the streets and go to bed at night. We want to be safe from physical harm and we want our property to be safe too. But open the newspaper and there it is – news about violent crime and burglaries and assaults. It makes us insecure as we feel that crime is on the increase…specially in big cities. But is this the reality?… Well, in the developed countries there is a clear trend that overall violent crime is on the decline but violent crime seems to be increasing in India..,

Participating in a reality show? Think again! 16-year-old Shinjini Sengupta suffered a paralytic attack and her parents are blaming the harsh treatment she got at a dance competition (reality show), but the TV show organisers blame pressure from parents…Viewers may enjoy a reality show but the contestants often have to face insults and humiliation…I have always wondered what public humiliation did to the minds of the contestants. A little reading unearthed the fact that there have been many cases of suicides…

Three Tags in One! Vishesh tagged me twice. The first tag is simple – Write 6 words. The other tag, an earlier one, requires me to tell you ten things people here do not know about me but I really don’t know whether people know these things about me or not! Arvind tagged me for the third tag, to write about 5 types of people whom I love to hate or who irritate me the most…

Thoda Pyar Thoda Magic – Movie Review (no spoilers) The most important thing to know about Thoda Pyar Thoda Magic (A little Love, a Little Magic) is that it is a children’s film. It’s got four child characters, and like many children’s films, there is magic and fantasy. There is even a lecture about patriotism, civic sense and world peace! It’s Amisha Patel’s character which doesn’t fit…

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 5, 2008 6:46 pm

    Have a great weekend Nita. I’m watching the Tour de France at the moment.

    Thanks Brian!🙂 – Nita.

Leave a Reply

