Skip to content

The wonder of blogging awards

September 19, 2008

I can’t imagine going to a real life friend and telling her, hey I am giving you the honesty of the year award!! Even though I want to give her one. Hugs and kisses we do give, and at times we send cards…but usually the cards are sent on occasions. Blogging awards are bereft of occasion. They arrive suddenly, and are heart-warming because they come from people whom we have never met.

Both Vishesh and Reema gave me the Honest Blogger Award. Thank you both. One thing I need to say though…the kind of a blog that I have, it’s easy to be honest. The reason I started this blog was because I wanted to be honest, something one cannot always be if one is writing for mainstream media.  Honestly giving one’s opinions on issues is easy I think…don’t many of us start blogs to do that? There is no threat perception involved here unless one writes absolutely outrageous posts.

There is another kind of honesty involved in writing a blog – selection of topics. Writing what you feel strongly about gives the blog a certain honesty and I think I have that.

However, when I give this Honest Blogger award to someone I want to choose someone far more worthy of it than I…because as mentioned earlier it is not all that difficult to be honest about one’s opinions or even to write about what one feels strongly about. Honestly about one’s personal life is something else…in fact I know I am quite incapable of being transparent about my personal life and that is why I have never even attempted a personal blog. I am not saying that only those whom I am awarding write  honestly… it’s just that these bloggers I’ve chosen are exceedingly and astonishingly transparent about themselves. They have personal blogs and they don’t have just one-off bare-all type of post but have several posts which reveal themselves.

The awardees are Gabriel (he is number one because his blog has been of help to others with similar problems), Christine for her confessions, Paul for his candid look at himself and his life, Brian for sharing his secret life. The names that sprang to mind first were those of international bloggers…all of them happen to be Americans (except Gabriel who is Canadian). I think the fact that their society is more open and accepting could be the reason why they are more open about their private lives. So no judgments about why we in India are more guarded. But there are Indian bloggers who deserve this award…and they are – Mad Momma, for opening up her children’s world, Kriss, for being who is, Suda, for his personal revelations, and Nikhil for his utter frankness about himself.

There are a few other honest blogs I’ve come across while surfing but as I don’t follow those blogs with any regularity I cannot add them here.

The second award, the Blogging Friendship Award has come from Reema. I award this friendship award to each and every regular commentator on this blog and also to all those on my blogroll. Yes to commentators without blogs too…why not? They are friends made through my blog. Thanks for being there, thanks for reading, thanks for commenting and thanks for being a friend.

38 Comments leave one →
  1. September 19, 2008 9:26 am

    Nita

    I have been a regular commentator on your blog without having my own blog…..But i feel anyone who enjoys commenting regularly on other blogs, is very likely to write his/her own blog too……i was no exception..very recently i too made my own blog…and added you in my blogroll..(i knew you wont mind🙂 )
    earlier after writing couple of posts i was not sure whether i would be able to continue it..but now i’m enjoying it

  2. September 19, 2008 9:33 am

    Thank you so much, Nita! This is a wonderful honor! I cannot think of anyone with more personal integrity than you — that makes it very special to receive this award from you.

  3. September 19, 2008 9:57 am

    You deserve this and I guess many more awards.

    I think you have become an “Institution” in the world of blogging and an inspiration to many many others in this e-universe.

    It is always a pleasure reading your posts.

    We look for more.

  4. September 19, 2008 10:32 am

    I am honoured!!!
    Thank you very much.🙂

    P.S> What a co-incidence!! You have awarded me, and I have made few more *personal revelations* in a tag at same time. Can you believe it, I did a TAG (finally)😀

  5. September 19, 2008 10:35 am

    hey thats a cool bunch of awards..congrats!

  6. September 19, 2008 11:05 am

    Thanks Nita for the award although my life is not so ‘secret’ anymore.

    http://hummingbunny.wordpress.com/my-profile/

    More than this though, I blog about issues and problems that affect many. It’s not enough to care sometimes you have to expose yourself as flawed in order to gain credibility. I am no expert but we all know we could post 1,000 times a day and never scratch the surface of the inequality and suffering that is inflicted upon humans by their fellow mankind. It’s a tragic world we live in and friends are one of the few bright spots.

    On that down note… thanks again.😀

  7. September 19, 2008 11:26 am

    Thank you Nita….
    I appreciate this a whole lot🙂

  8. September 19, 2008 12:02 pm

    Thanks a lot Nita! And congrats!🙂

  9. September 19, 2008 12:26 pm

    Congratulations, Nita and all your awardees too!
    It is amazing how Bloggers come forward to praise each other and even give away awards. The encouragement I have got from fellow bloggers makes me hope that such appreciation should come forth in all walks of life with the same enthusiasm. It brings out the best in all of us!

  10. September 19, 2008 1:41 pm

    Congratulations🙂 You accept awards so nicely! Love the way you pass in on too. Mad Momma is the only blogger I am familiar with from the list, and yes, she is honest and open.
    And the second award goes to me also🙂 Thank You !

  11. September 19, 2008 2:38 pm

    congrats..
    u deserve it and lot more… u have been an inspiration for many bloggers around …😉

    and thanks for blogging freindship award.. i hope i can consider myself a regular commentor😀

  12. chirax permalink
    September 19, 2008 3:51 pm

    You deserve this, You are the best🙂

  13. Joss permalink
    September 19, 2008 4:07 pm

    Yes, wouldn’t it be nice if in real life (hey, no, this blogging life IS real !) we could pass on awards like this too. That is what we try to do in schools, to encourage the children, but adults need encouragement in just the same way. So, Nita, thank you for passing on your thanks to your regular commentators and readers, of whom I count myself one of the many. It’s nice to feel appreciated, and I really like it that you manange to reply to so many of your comments. When bloggers appear to ignore you it starts to seem pointless to respond.

    I really like your blog, and when I finally make it to India I bet it will have made me feel much more at home!

  14. September 19, 2008 4:28 pm

    😀 you deserve the awards🙂 and congrats to everyone else🙂

  15. September 19, 2008 5:05 pm

    Vivek M, thank you for being a reader. I enjoy your comments even though I may not agree with them!🙂 Good to hear about your blog.

    Paul, thank you and welcome!

    Mavin, thanks for your kind words…but really “institution” is too big a word. Thank you for reading!

    Brian, Mad Momma, Nikhil, Indian Homemaker, you are welcome!

    Gopinath, true, blogging does bring forth the best in us most of the time! Also I think the kind of appreciation we receive wants us to go on blogging.

    Arvind, regular commentator you are – and also on my blogroll! So you have received the second award!🙂

    Chirax, Vishesh, thanks.

    Joss, thanks. I am glad that you learn something about India from my blog and when you come to India, don’t forget to meet me!🙂

  16. September 19, 2008 5:40 pm

    What I did wrong?😥

  17. September 19, 2008 5:46 pm

    Suda, sorry! I did read your comment but forgot to reply!! Hey, thanks for coming out here and telling me..that’s what I like about you!! And you can do no wrong in my eyes baccha!😀 Remember I am kaku?

  18. September 19, 2008 6:22 pm

    Congratulations Nita, and it is a great thing to consider all your readers and commentators as your friends.

    thanks for being around Dineshbabu! – nita.

  19. September 19, 2008 6:56 pm

    Cool cher, I’m getting these honesty awards on a regular basis now. And you can definitely re-certify me when you check out my latest post!

    Kris, that was a great song! I loved it. – nita.

  20. September 19, 2008 8:26 pm

    Nita,
    I love to see you pouring awards on everyone – your generous nature just shines through this action!
    You say it is easy for you to be honest, because it is not a mainstream media, it is your blog. But you know what…I seriously consider your blog to be the best newspaper on India to read!

    Thanks for the friendship award, I think I am one of the few readers who is lucky enough to know you in person…
    Hey, everyone – just to let you know – Nita in real life is even better than her brilliant blog!🙂

    Axinia, thanks. It is lovely to know you too! So soft-spoken and gentle! And very sensitive. I loved that about you…And by the way you are the only one of my readers who I have got to know in real life. And I don’t know anyone else personally who comments on this blog…a college friend of mine used to read my blog and comment (Padmini, who I have not met for more than 25 years) but she doesn’t anymore I think…I need to ask her. – nita.

  21. September 20, 2008 9:11 am

    Thanks Nita. Things like this always mean so much more when they’re given by someone you respect… you’ve been an inspiration to me since we started out blogging with each other and I’ve always thought yours was the most important blog in my blogroll. So thanks very much for thinking so highly of my blog. And thanks for the award.

  22. September 20, 2008 4:14 pm

    Congrates on getting the awards and good that you have passed it on!!🙂

  23. September 20, 2008 4:26 pm

    Nita, I feel very honored about it it too (I mean knowing you in person) – that was my big desire!🙂

  24. September 20, 2008 6:33 pm

    Congrats🙂 I finally get the idea behind the honest blogger award!

  25. September 20, 2008 8:20 pm

    Thanks for the friendship award🙂 Unlike Arvind, I have no doubts whatsoever about my regularity here😛

  26. Kanupriya permalink
    September 20, 2008 11:16 pm

    Hi there! The more I read your posts, the more I am getting hooked on to your blog, so much so that I keep waiting for your blog to be updated! BTW you absolutely deserve the honest blogger award, I always find your opinions and expressions to be very straightforward.:-)

  27. September 21, 2008 2:51 am

    Congrats Nita🙂

  28. wishtobeanon permalink
    September 21, 2008 10:26 am

    Hi, Nita, I’ve been busy for the last couple of weeks and will continue to be for the next few weeks too. Thank you for the friendship award! Congratulations on the honest blogger award – you really deserve it!

  29. September 21, 2008 2:43 pm

    Congratulations.😀
    You deserve every bit of it.🙂

  30. September 21, 2008 7:05 pm

    Congrats!!!

  31. September 22, 2008 9:48 am

    Gabriel, I think you are my first regular reader🙂 Thanks for being around! However I really miss your fear the seeds and cultural snafu blogs where I was a regular, and hope that one day you will revive at least one of them.

    Sakhi, Shivya, Priyank, wishtobeanon, Amit, Innocent Warrior, thanks.

    Axinia, pleasure meeting you too!🙂

    Reema,🙂

    Kanupriya, thanks for the appreciation and glad to have you as a reader.🙂

  32. September 22, 2008 10:53 am

    Nita, not kaku…… its mavshiiiiii😀

    stubborn aren’t you!🙂 – nita.

  33. September 22, 2008 8:54 pm

    Oh, grow up you kids😛

    Does that mean that now you won’t call me kaku?😛 – Nita.

  34. September 24, 2008 10:05 pm

    Nita, you should be the all time winner of this award. I love reading your articles because of their objectivity, and also because when you give your opinion, you state it as such.

    In honor of this tag I’ll write another honesty/confessional post for tomorrow. I’ve been going through my old diaries, which make for some entertaining if overly dramatic reading.🙂

  35. September 26, 2008 3:12 pm

    Congrats Nita. I sincerely feel that you deserved this award.

  36. September 28, 2008 3:31 am

    Congratulations Nita! Well deserved awards recipient. I know I say this on behalf of every one of your readers that you are truly a great writer and your blog is an inspirational. Simply awesome, honest and straight forward attitude shines through your writings. Thank you for everything.

Trackbacks

  1. The Honest Blogger Award « Café Philos: an internet café
  2. Hey handsome… and that is the honest truth « The Brat, the Bean and Bedlam

Leave a Reply

