Skip to content

I need your feedback

November 6, 2008

I request all my readers to spare a few moments to give feedback for my blog. If you don’t have time today, you can do it on the week-end, whenever you have the time. But please do spare a few moments of your valuable time to give me this feedback because I write for you all as much as I write for myself as anyone of you who has read my Why I blog post knows. And if there is some other feedback you want to give, which I have not asked through a poll, you are welcome to write it in the comment box.

Your vote remains anonymous as WordPress does not give out the IP addresses of those who vote.

Tell me how much is too much and how much is too little.

Just tick whichever ones you enjoy the most.

Just a general question on your reasons for reading

There are some of you who do not comment and I would like to know why. Even if you comment only occasionally you can do this poll, explaining why you don’t like to comment. Remember your answers are anonymous!

I do not have a feed count as I did not put up the icon on my blog at the start so I have no clue how as to how many of you read my blog through a feed. My Google Reader count says 398 (thanks to Dinu for letting me know this) but I do not know my feed reader count. He feels that it could be triple that, if one goes by the relationship between one’s google reader count and other applications. I don’t know whether I will be able to find out through this poll but I am sure going to try!

This last question is important too.

Thank you in advance.

76 Comments leave one →
  1. November 6, 2008 8:37 am

    Nice to know that you are asking feedback and I have given my feedback. Infact I come back to your post to know what is your reply to my comments.

  2. November 6, 2008 8:45 am

    Nice initiative Nita! Always good to know what people like/dislike.

  3. November 6, 2008 8:56 am

    Except the question why no comment (as I do) I have voted on each poll. And its 400 not 398.

  4. November 6, 2008 9:15 am

    I use NetNewswire application on my Mac, FeedDemon on Windows (Work laptop) and they both sync up well via Newsgator. So If I read on one the other gets updated.

  5. November 6, 2008 9:28 am

    Regarding the first question, since many of us use feed readers, it really does not matter in terms of numbers, whenever you post as it shows up on the reader, we would come back here🙂

    question 2, I enjoy the posts which have emotional values attached to them, personal/relational/as well as topics of social relavence attracts me to this blog

  6. vsay permalink
    November 6, 2008 9:36 am

    I second Reema’s comment on the question “why no comment” vote. Great initiative and I hope you would be able to tabulate and share your results🙂

  7. November 6, 2008 9:51 am

    I voted for all… !!🙂 hope you get the answer to all the questions in your mind with this voting!!🙂

  8. November 6, 2008 9:54 am

    –> About “You do not like to comment because” ..

    I do not write comments on all of ur posts because some topics are not of my interest hence I restrain myself from commenting because actually I dont have anything to pen down ..

    For other posts, I do write my feedback on ur post !

    –> About last question:

    whenever ur post pops in google reader, I come here and read it .. So it depends how regular u post !!

  9. November 6, 2008 10:11 am

    I know i read this blog very often for the great content that you post, but am not able to add comments often because:
    a. what i could have said was already covered by someone
    b. didnt have anything to add on the topic

  10. November 6, 2008 10:22 am

    You know I get bored with statistics posts😀
    And you should have added one more poll like this:
    How many time you yawn while reading long posts?😛 OR How many times you reach the end without dozing off not even once?😛
    Options:
    1. I like Cheeze
    2. Chetan Bhagat rocksss
    3. I love my India
    😀 😀 Howz that?

  11. Harshad permalink
    November 6, 2008 10:30 am

    Thanks a lot for the full range of topics. I come here to know “aaj kya?”

  12. November 6, 2008 10:48 am

    In the ” Why I do not comment?” Its more of of a mix of nothing more to add + I am not sure if I will be able to get across what I am trying to say… and I do not want my comment to be a blog in itself😀

  13. nabinatrisha permalink
    November 6, 2008 11:03 am

    One post a week at this stage leaves one time to re-read whats already been written, I like to read and then re-read when I like something bec I read for pleasure as well for information and I don’t treat this like a WIKI or a DIC(tionary) – ekbar refer kar liya and then shelved it, that wd b doing in justice to the effort that goes into such content.
    All of us have other favs too, so I get adequate time for all, while managing work, chores and my own life.
    As for your film reviews, I enjoy the newer ones better. I can spot the evolution and appreciate it.

  14. nabinatrisha permalink
    November 6, 2008 11:12 am

    But I never dared to add you to roll, bec of all that you have here abt rules etc wh took me ages to read, while making time for the posts themselves and am still not quite sure if I know all of the do-s and dont-s.
    I am new, not so particular, pretty much do what I please and usu refer to Final Transit when I have doubts, since he isnt here now I asked you abt that fiasco yesterday. (yeah am very frank! what I dont know I dont pretend to know🙂 and depend on others to guide and tell me🙂 but sorry if I dumped the prob in your lap kind of unexpectedly…(u r the big bro around here n generally kind – so obviously it came to my mind to ask you)…chal keep posting and make the world a humane place to be. ciao

  15. November 6, 2008 11:43 am

    I do not comment simply because I am too lazy or perhaps because someone else has already expressed my feelings by commenting.

  16. November 6, 2008 12:03 pm

    Thatz a good gesture Nita! I like the professionalism you maintain in your blog. May be because you are a journalist by yourself!🙂 I voted for everything except for why I would not comment on the blog. I always comment in your blog, if I read the post. I have not been able to read all of your posts these days because of my work related dead lines and pressures..🙂 I will be a daily reader of your blog once again sooooooon! And a personal opinion of mine – I did not like the wordpres theme you are currently using. Is there something specific that you liked about ths theme?Hope you wont mind!🙂

  17. November 6, 2008 12:07 pm

    I love your informative posts with data based research covering diverse point of view and interesting topics along with your take on subject. As long as quality of your posts don’t suffer, frequency of posts will not matter and I will keep coming back. While I am not too keen on other subjects (Q2) skipping post doesn’t take a moment (via GReader).

  18. sangeeta permalink
    November 6, 2008 12:10 pm

    Neeta ,

    I like the topics you cover.And you do a thorough job with them.Many times I just read but don’t comment partly due to paucity of time,and I can’t check the post and replies regularly..But I make it a point to visit your blog whenever time permits.
    The photographs you post are great!!

  19. vivekmittal permalink
    November 6, 2008 12:20 pm

    Nita i have voted, i’m not sure whether you’ll get to know what individuals have voted for…But one ting i want to tall, i visit your blog daily and read all posts… i hav sometimes written sarcastic comments here but later regretted….Also you have not been keen to delete some of my comments on my request🙂

  20. vivekmittal permalink
    November 6, 2008 12:23 pm

    just to add to above…i am always amazed on the variety of topics you cover

  21. November 6, 2008 12:38 pm

    Yippppeee,i voted for all qstns🙂
    I’ll be your loyal reader and will always spam your comment space ..lol…

    You are amazing and i respect you a lot for the way you write,the variety of topics you choose to write and aboveall,I respect the way you approach matters without emotions..My posts are loaded with emotional outrages ..Some people think I am biased..But that was never my inention..Maybe my wiriting skills are not yet good😦

    Long way ahead for you Nita..By blogging,you are sharing lot of information..Thanks and kudos for your efforts…Good luck ahead..

  22. November 6, 2008 1:46 pm

    I always loved your blog for the variety of topics you cover and the depth analysis with which you are writing them. The information in your blog is abundance. I always wondered how you are able to give those statistics and all those links which I ever can’t find. There are some blog writers who inspires me to give some best things in my blog. You are one of them.
    I answered for all your poll quest. Keep blogging🙂

  23. November 6, 2008 1:47 pm

    Nita,
    I responded to all the questions🙂

    -Nikhil

  24. November 6, 2008 2:23 pm

    Yours was the blog that made me hooked to blogging🙂.. and as I have told you earlier yours is first blog I read everyday.

    Sometimes I don’t comment, when I feel I have nothing to.. and also I dont read your movie reviews.. reasons unknown.

    You general posts backed with statistics are simply superb.

  25. November 6, 2008 3:51 pm

    Trisha, the reason that part about links is there on my comment policy because there was a time about 7-8 months back when every second comment I got was with a link to the person’s blog. Most of these people were unknowns, but not spammers. They were simply people who wanted to use my blog as a launching pad. They never read any posts nor were interested in reading. That is why I put them up. If you notice I allow a lot of links in the comments, and those who are regular readers know that. Also what you put on your blog is always a benefit to me as each link on another blog improves the authority of my blog. On the other hand each link which I put on my blog weakens it, yet I use a lot of links on my blog, links to sites on my main posts and also allow links in comments. About that question you asked me, you are welcome Trisha. You can ask me anything you wish, it is always a pleasure to be of help.
    Also you need to add the link to your blog in the url space provided. If you are not seeing that box, I think one needs to sign out (of your blog) enter the link and then your name will be linked.

  26. November 6, 2008 3:55 pm

    @ sharad bapat

    I too was hooked to blogging when i started following Nita’s blog. In fact i didn’t know what a blog is all about, when i first reached to this blog through google.
    But i like movie reviews here, i have voted for “movie review” in the category of type of posts i like to read

  27. November 6, 2008 4:38 pm

    Yeh dil maange more!!!

  28. November 6, 2008 4:41 pm

    lol its not 398 but 400🙂

  29. November 6, 2008 5:07 pm

    @nabinatrisha
    Nita is not Big Bro here… 9not Bada Bhai) … she is Mavshi of all bachcha company 😀 😀

  30. November 6, 2008 5:10 pm

    I came to your blog through Axinia’s and I find it very informative and entertaining…..
    I dont comment on all because, either I have not much knowledge about the topic discussed (first known on your blogs)…or too much of statistical data on which I did not have much to comment😦

    I participated in poll
    Keep Blogging🙂 def its a treat to readers!

  31. November 6, 2008 5:28 pm

    First of all, I find the word “feedback” really funny!😀
    Hehehehe!! Feed Back!😀

    Ok seriously, I voted on all the questions, and here’re my answers below as I hate anonymity!😀

    Ideally, 3 posts a week is what I am comfy with. I like your photo posts the best. I read your blog because it’s got something to tickle every sense. I sometimes fail to comment on an article, mainly because of a time constraint. I prefer to come to the blog to read it; I don’t trust feed readers; they’re evil!😀
    And I read the blog everyday…

    You’ve got a fantastic blog! Keep going!🙂

  32. November 6, 2008 5:32 pm

    yes, thanks🙂

  33. Chirag permalink
    November 6, 2008 5:33 pm

    Feedback on all but one. You are one of the best source for a unbiased view of India🙂 , As you have put aptly

    A wide angle view of India

    , keep on blogging.

  34. November 6, 2008 5:46 pm

    Voted :))
    I came here through your post on Joint families and then read another one on admissions in colleges.
    I was hooked.

  35. Joss permalink
    November 6, 2008 5:59 pm

    One of the things I like most about your posts is that you take the trouble to read people’s comments, and respond to them. These responses, added to all the research you do for articles, plus the writing of them, must together take up a huge part of your day. If you are struggling to keep up wtih the work rate you have set yourself please consider cutting back on the quantity, but not the quality. I don’t think you would lose many readers, since they are probably mostly alerted electronically to your new posts. (I use Bloglines, myself.) But, please don’t stop altogether, not just yet! You’ve become part of my daily routine!

  36. November 6, 2008 6:13 pm

    Dear All, I am quite overwhelmed by your responses. I feel no words can really express what I feel in my heart, the love I feel for all of you.

    Joss, you have understood my dilemma very well. yes I am struggling to keep up and that is one of the reasons for these polls. But I love responding to comments and interacting with everybody. That is as important to me as writing. And when I write, I think of all those who read or might read in the future, that is what makes me write. I have realised that I write for those who read much more that I write for myself and that in turn makes me happy! But yes you are right, I can reduce my posts to three a week and it will be fine. Thanks.

  37. lallopallo permalink
    November 6, 2008 7:16 pm

    Nita, I voted on all your questions. Congratulations once again for your wonderful blog posts, your fair opinions and your dedication towards your readers.

  38. November 6, 2008 7:21 pm

    voted, and thanks for the link :Dq

  39. November 6, 2008 8:05 pm

    nice way to get the feedback for a blog read as widely as urs. .
    now ur count in the reader is 400 .. almost 1o times mine😀 .

    I read all ur post.. may not be everyday cuz sometimes i read 2-3 of ur post a single day when i miss it .. so minimum /maximum doesn’t matter ..
    Informative post are the best in ur blog ..and i love the photo post too. .like the crazy buildings and rural india posts

  40. November 6, 2008 8:12 pm

    Hi Nita, I have voted on all the questions. You write very well and on very relevant topics. Things that I mull over in idle times. Many things that I am curious about. Many things on which I want to know how other people think. Many informative things that I didn’t know about! I think I find almost all your posts interesting and engrossing. I also find it interesting to read the debate raging among readers.
    When I fail to leave a comment, it is because I read blogs, journals and stuff on the net just like I read a book, I don’t inform the author I bought, I read, I liked!
    But I try to, especially on my regular reads, because I understand that net is more interactive than the printed media. And now that I occasionally write a post too, I know it feels good to get people’s feedback.
    Congratulations and best wishes.

  41. November 6, 2008 9:06 pm

    Hey Nita,
    I’ve mentioned it in the past too, YOUR blog is MY daily dose of news🙂 Just reading your blog, I feel I have learnt something new for the day🙂
    Most of the times I read your post and find myself looking for something…just something that I may have to say but its never the case🙂 You do your homework perfectly🙂
    I remember the first time I came to your blog from Mad Momma’s – I guess it was something to do with child abduction. Not sure. And have been hooked to your blog ever since🙂 Do keep blogging. Congratulations🙂

  42. November 6, 2008 9:30 pm

    Though I can not read blogs every day, and am subscribed to possibly 100, which makes it tough to keep up, whenever I see your posts I keep them aside for when I actually have time to read. Other blogs I often browse headlines and may not read. Usually I will click into your articles and read thoroughly. Main reason is your information is well researched and thoughtfully presented. I appreciate the time and effort you put in this, and that is why I want to do the same when I read yous blog.

  43. November 6, 2008 9:35 pm

    Nita, I probably should have read the comments before leaving my previous message, so I will add a little more.
    Joss mentioned do not reduce quality but quantity can be reduced. I tend to agree with that if you are overwhelmed. I had to do that on my own blog. In fact, I respect you for being so regular. I tried that for some time and it did not work. Now I am more sporadic. It’s great that so many people love your blog enough to participate in the polls and leave comments- us bloggers- even long running bloggers like me (almost 10 years) have a lot to learn from you!!

  44. November 6, 2008 9:46 pm

    Voted.🙂
    And I always try to comment, if not on the same day, then in the weekend.
    And believe me, the comments on your posts are as interesting as your posts!🙂
    I was thinking of creating a post consisting of a number of polls. But the questions were more like – Are you depressed as Kyunki.. is coming to an end?😀

    This one is a good way to get feedback so that things could be improved!

  45. Siddharth permalink
    November 7, 2008 3:21 am

    Hi Nita. I just found your blog today itself and have really enjoyed the content so far. In general, I don’t comment on blogs unless I have something particularly profound to add. In terms of the number of posts to make in a week, I feel that is something that is entirely up to you. Whether you post once or seven times in a week, I think most of your readers will enjoy what you have written. On a side note, I first found your site at the moment when an “Incredible India” ad was playing on CNN here in the USA, the second I have seen in about 15 minutes of watching. We are truly shining.

  46. November 7, 2008 8:07 am

    Manoj, you asked me why I chose this theme and no I am not at all offended by that question. The reasons are simple actually. I was tired of the other theme. But most important I wanted a cleaner theme with less clutter on the front page and at the same time I wanted a custom header where I could use some of the scenery pictures I have taken. If I find a theme which suits me better I might change it again. I know this is a kind of minimalist theme and probably that is what you don’t like much but after some time I could quite likely change it again.

    To commentators, I have not been able to reply to comments individually on this post but right now I have house guests and therefore it has become difficult. But I have read each comment and each has added a lot to my understanding as to what readers get this from blog, and what they like. I will be sharing my results soon (with analysis) with all of you and I feel it could help other bloggers too. Like Jennifer said, I am glad that so many people have already participated but I will wait for a few more days because I hope to get more voters.
    And Siddharth, welcome here.

  47. Padmini permalink
    November 7, 2008 8:35 am

    Why do we visit your blog? In a nutshell, it’s pretty interesting and varied. Different things each time so it has something for everyone. I especially like your scenic articles like the one you recently did on rural India. Great work Nita:)

  48. November 7, 2008 10:56 am

    It is a good move to take feedback from your readers, because it shows that you care about those who frequent here.

    I have put my votes and one suggestion that I have is what Jennifer has made already. Your posts have detailed information on the topics you choose, however since all the posts are too long, I tend to skip certain parts. This doesn’t mean that I am asking you to shorten the parts where elaboration is needed though.🙂

    Jo, true some of my posts are long and believe me they are edited!🙂 I try to keep a balance between giving information and making them short, but my main thing is I try to make them readable. I have found a solution to this by making sub-heads. So people can skip the parts they are interested in without losing the gist of what I am saying. In fact if you skip, its fine. That is the intention!🙂 – Nita.

  49. November 7, 2008 11:38 am

    Hi Nita,

    First of all, I’d like to appreciate you for your blog. Nice to see the way you ask for feedback from ur readers. My friend Srinivas suggested that I read ur blog. Your ability to post opinions on a wide array of topics is commendable and the stats u put up in the posts show ur focus on a topic. I’ve added ur blog in my blogroll and I keep checking for updates almost everyday. I’ll comment once I find topic(s) that interest me.

  50. November 7, 2008 11:43 am

    @ Nita : I did the poll thing yesterday. All except why you do not leave a comment. Mostly I do comment so….Anyway. I like to read your blog because you write in a style that is similar to the print media and yet your perspectives are more balanced than theirs. I also appreciate your fairness and your honesty in dealing with comments. All in all you are a good example of how a blog SHOULD be run. If I could change something perhaps it would be more cosmetic. I would like some more colour instead of all the white in your theme. May be I would also like it if you wrote occasionally about what you are doing in your life🙂 I understand you do post on your travels but it would be fun to see what you do when you are just around your own environment. All in all you are informative, entertaining and one helluva good read. Oh and you do a spell check unlike me :p

  51. November 7, 2008 7:17 pm

    Nita, congratualtions once again!
    You have done the best with this PollDaddy option – and found out your readers opinion.

    I find it so touching how you carefully answer every comment, because you do care, and care so much for all of us!…

    I surely did the polls, it was fun🙂

    Are you going to post the results? – at least some🙂

    Axinia, thanks. Yes, I will be posting the results after a week or so. – Nita.

  52. Vinod permalink
    November 7, 2008 8:16 pm

    Nita
    You care for quality in your blog and it shows – the writing, the balance in it and the responses to comments. You make everyone feel important however new or old they are on your blog.

  53. November 7, 2008 10:25 pm

    I don’t know why no one has mentioned this – The quality of your commenters are pretty good. And since you write on important topics very frequently, this blog almost represents the opinion of India – Maybe the sample size is small but we get to know what exactly people are thinking across the nation as all the views get represented here in your blog. That’s why we sometimes take a lot of time to read both your posts and also all the comments….

    Personally, since I am pretty much occupied for 5 days in the week, I mostly check your site in the weekends and read through that week’s posts. Sometimes, in the weekdays too when I feel like taking a break from my work.

    Destination Infinity

    That is true D!. I am grateful for the quality of my commentators. . – Nita.

  54. guqin permalink
    November 8, 2008 6:43 am

    Good job.

  55. November 8, 2008 3:08 pm

    @ DI

    \\ The quality of your commenters are pretty good \\

    That’s perhaps because majority of people who comment here are blogger themselves

  56. November 8, 2008 3:18 pm

    @Desti… Infi…
    *sample size* 😀 Sounds technical…. 😀

  57. November 9, 2008 12:13 am

    this is an excellent initiative on your part. i did not poll only for 4th one. but i just feel that 2 post a week are enough to keep the readers busy…. i personally feel that i miss out on so many things if a blogger writes 4-5 posts. moreover time crunch acts to the woes as reading a post and commenting takes a little time to understand one’s own perspective and understand the writers view . same is the reason as to why i too dont write more than one post a week…but thats a different case😛

    Thanks Arpit. I have decided to stick to 3 posts a week, unless there is some urgent thing I need to write about, so I will probably post on alternative days because I realise that many of my posts are long and as you said they need digesting! – Nita.

  58. November 9, 2008 6:27 am

    Thanks to all who have voted and commented! I have not replied individually to all here but there is nothing I can say but thanks!

  59. November 9, 2008 9:15 am

    Nita, I come to your blog because I find your opinion honest and straight from the heart.

  60. November 10, 2008 12:21 am

    nice idea of a self-introspection… ur opinions have been pretty straight and unbiased as far as i’ve read… thts one thing wch makes my read a good one… but pardon me for abandoning many posts jus coz of titles… dunno y, but if a title cant draw me to its post, i drop it for tht moment.😦

  61. Ravi permalink
    November 19, 2008 2:52 am

    lol.. what is this end of the class on blogging for this sem?

    Yeah, and I hope you voted! – Nita.

  62. November 22, 2008 1:51 am

    Hi

    Very very nice blog and terrific posts.
    Congrats.Great Job.

    Do visit my blog. Its on same lines as yours but maybe not that much content.

    Your feedback at blog will be appreciated.

    Salil

  63. Lakshmi permalink
    August 14, 2009 2:55 pm

    I come to your post because I am interested in India – in political, social and other issues. I live outside India and meet typical Indians who extol Indian culture, and denigrate western culture – all the time. It’s hard to find anyone to discuss India with and it’s hard to find anyone in the middle class who is actually aware of our problems and is willing to discuss them. ‘Self-centered’ about describes the typical middle class Indian. That’s why I come to your blog. I love the diverse informed discussions.

  64. Lakshmi permalink
    August 14, 2009 3:04 pm

    And since there are people recommending fewer posts I would like to say that I love more posts. I check this blog everyday, several times a day and I would like to see one post every day. I don’t think we could have too many.

    • August 14, 2009 4:58 pm

      Dear Lakshmi, thank you for all your comments and your kind words. it is so important for me to know that my blog is of help to people, because that is what keeps me going on. Its so much hard work, even though I have reduced posting. Checking comments and responding is part of the work. I am on holiday now, but here I am checking my blog! I am not complaining too much because I love writing this blog, I love to have contact with people like you, I love to respond to comments! But I guess I got to go now!

  65. vasudev permalink
    August 14, 2009 3:11 pm

    curiosity brings me here. often you have fire-brand highly informative highly provoking topics which generate lots of discussions from the fire-brand people out here. your blog topics are excellent mental excercisers plus it make me read on subjects which hitherto i felt unimportant, boring, irrelevant. there are many very learned people on your blog who give me ideas which i use elsewhere (confession). my only problem: i think i am visiting here too often!

    Vasu, thanks. I know what you mean. One can get used to visiting a certain blog everyday. its like a habit that one has, like one’s cup of tea or daily newspaper or whatever. Its not harmful as such, although if you are feeling that you should reduce the frequency, then you should. I am glad my blog has been useful to you and I hope it will continue to be. – Nita

  66. November 6, 2009 7:31 am

    I had loved this poll and have put up a similar poll to sort out my time and organise my reader. Just wanted to thank you Nita! I also took ideas from (and linked) your Rules for commenting. I turn to this blog for all kind of information – not just about blogging, also current affairs🙂 Thanks.

  67. November 6, 2009 10:18 am

    Your feedburner count will show on your feedburner homepage. You can also see the list of subscribers by email [and even deactivate any unwanted email address]!

    You can submit and verify your blog to Google webmasters and it will tell you lots about your blog, number of feed readers, analysis etc. WP simplified the process of verification and you will find it in dashboard>tools.

    BTW, you can buy your own domain like me in some 10 dollars and direct this blog to that domain by paying WP 10 dollars. Somebody has already bought your .com domain ; you can take the .in

    • November 6, 2009 10:32 am

      Thanks Vikas, but somehow I have never been too interested in these things as I never planned to monetize the blog and still do not have the intention of doing so. However it’s not that I am disinterested, who wouldn’t want to know these things! But I don’t want to buy my own domain for this blog, that I am very clear about. I am happy with the page views I get. A lot of people have been advising me of this for the past 2 years and I am not quite clear that I don’t want it. Best of luck to those who want my domain! They will have to work hard to get the posts I have on this blog!

      • November 6, 2009 10:40 am

        I know you don’t want ads and you don’t want to self-host the blog. What I suggested is a different option [that I have used]. The blog will be the same, the same terms and conditions of wordpress.com apply; only your domain name will be xyz.in and nitawriter.wordpress.com will direct to that xyz.in . The blog will be on wordpress only as always.

        Someday in future, you never know, you will have to self-host and if just buy the domain mapping option now, it will be more helpful. Besides, they say search engines give you more importance if you have your own domain instead of a subdomain of wordpress.

        The blog and everything else will be the same and it will be a free blog as always hosted on WP.

        • November 6, 2009 12:43 pm

          Vikas, yes its true that search engines give more importance to self hosted blogs. However I don’t want to do this with my wp blog. I don’t know how to explain. I am satisfied with the way google treats my blog for one thing. I also don’t want to do it in the future. If I ever buy a domain for the content I have on my blog it will never ever be nitawriter.com as I think it is too egoistic for an India blog. In any case right now I am not even thinking of it. In fact I have thought many a time of closing this blog down due to other commitments that I have. Freelance work and also I have another blog (own domain) for another subject, a subject that will probably not be of any interest to readers of this blog.

  68. rags permalink
    November 6, 2009 2:12 pm

    Nita, what is the other blog about? If it is about your palmistry hobby we’d love to know about it..

    • November 6, 2009 2:46 pm

      rags, I was not sure whether the readers of this blog would be interested and so I did not mention it. The url is here:
      http://palmistryforyou.com/
      I would love it if you can check it out! I will be thrilled in fact! It’s still in its early stages but I think I have a good chance to make it big because I don’t see much competition in this arena. I have been practicing palmistry since I was in the seventh grade and thus have a lot of experience on it. Plus the name of the blog is :Hand Readings of Famous People and I think in this way I will be able to attract people to this blog.🙂

  69. rags permalink
    November 6, 2009 3:08 pm

    I will check that out and post my replies there very soon.

    I’m sure that blog will be as successful as this one, don’t worry, there are many ppl interested in palmistry, but very few blog about it. My best wishes for you!

Trackbacks

  1. 601,250 and 40,000-stats and questions « the light shines the brightest
  2. Respond to comments or Bloghop…? « The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker

Leave a Reply

