Skip to content

Calling bloggers and blog readers from and to Mumbai

November 10, 2008

There is a plan to meet in Mumbai on the 16th of this month. The venue is yet to be decided. Please write to me immediately if you are interested in participating.

Priyank is also here from Canada.

This invite is also for bloggers from any part of India who will be in Mumbai on this day. If you know anyone in our particular blogging circle I am sure you will be interested in coming!

This will be an informal meeting and there is no fixed plan on what to talk about etcetra.  You can give your ideas if you wish there to be an agenda.

Thanks.

Update: So far we have had only guys responding. We need some people from the fairer sex, so girls come on! Don’t worry, no photographs will be published without permission from the people concerned. So come on out of your shell and lets have some hot chai and discuss blogging!

45 Comments leave one →
  1. November 10, 2008 4:35 pm

    And a similar invitation is also on my blog :) See you soon Nita!

  2. November 10, 2008 4:55 pm

    wow!! I would love to come… count me in..

    my first ever bloggers meet :)

    good to hear that you are coming sharad! Will write to you about the venue in a few days. – Nita.

  3. November 10, 2008 4:58 pm

    Gr8 idea. Do post the venue time etc. Would certainly love to be part of it!

    Gopinath, I will write to you with the venue as it will depend on how many are coming. we will all probably meet at a restaurant over chai. – Nita.

  4. November 10, 2008 5:34 pm

    What will be the menu? I mean where and what we are going to eat? Thats very Important from my point of view :D

    We will be going dutch, so you can eat whatever you want. :) – Nita.

  5. November 10, 2008 5:52 pm

    @Suda LOL :D Glutton!

    @Nita Sigh! Someday later!

  6. November 10, 2008 6:23 pm

    I dont know any one of in your blogging circle but yeah I can join to make new friends ..

    Count me in !!

  7. November 10, 2008 6:43 pm

    **sob sob** I am not a mumbaikar… Anyways,I am glad I met you all in this virtual life..Wish you good luck with a great day ahead..Ask everybody to spread the word so that maximum people ,who are interested,can attend..Good day!!!!

  8. November 10, 2008 6:43 pm

    @ Nita : I would have loved to have come down. I have never been to Bombay. However it will have to be another time I am afraid.

  9. wishtobeanon permalink
    November 10, 2008 6:51 pm

    Hi Nita, have fun! I wish I was in Bombay – I would have loved to join.

  10. November 10, 2008 7:09 pm

    Forgot to mention that the header is really nice..I love the flower/strings of white puffs..I am obsessed with those things ever since I saw in a movie when the heroine shakes a bunch of this white puffy thing (sorry,i don’t know how to name it) and all its feathers are blown out in air and its all so romantic..lol…Well,i ahve heard that if this tiny thing goes into your eyes,your retina will blast off and you will turn blind..I don’t if its true or just a superstition…

  11. November 10, 2008 7:25 pm

    Sharad and Suda(me) are planning of coming all the way from Pune for this meeting. SO even if you are not in Mumbai, you can come :)

    I have a suggestion Nita. Can we arrange the meeting on Saturday instead of Sunday? So people can rest on Sunday before resuming their life on Monday. And there will be lesser time restriction for us who will be coming from outside.
    See if we meet anytime on Sunday, we have to leave at least 3 hours before the last bus/train and have plan further journey from bus stand/Railway station to home!!! So at least Punekars have to leave at 6.30pm to catch last few PMT buses which will take us home.

    Or its just for Mumbaikars???? :P

    No, it is not just for Mumbaikars. I didn’t suggest saturday as some people are working and I think Priyank is not free. – Nita.

  12. November 10, 2008 8:30 pm

    आपल्या ईमेल पत्त्यावर एक पत्र पाठवले आहे.
    पत्र पोहोचताच उत्तर द्यावे,
    कळावे,
    आपलाच
    सुदर्शन
    :D

  13. Vivek Khadpekar permalink
    November 11, 2008 7:03 am

    @ Nita and all the women (in particular) who responded to this post:

    I am amazed! shocked!! stunned!!!

    “…the fairer sex…”???????????????

    Even the most hard-boiled MCPs don’t use the term these days. And not a whimper of protest!!!!!

    Don’t take this so seriously Vivek! :) It’s just a term and certainly not derogatory to men. :D It sort of implies that women are better looking or something like that. Or maybe I don’t understand what the term means! Anyway, btw, you haven’t said whether you will be able to make it – nita.

  14. Chirag permalink
    November 11, 2008 7:53 am

    “Hot chai and discuss blogging! ” sounds great would love to come and meet all of you Par boss leave nahi dega :(

  15. November 11, 2008 8:09 am

    I actually second Vivek’s response here. Was surprised that you used the term “fairer sex”. Ads of Fair and Lovely started flashing in my brain. ;)

    Et tu?? I guess I am not politically correct! But btw it doesn’t mean colour. It means that women are the more delicate and beautiful, that is my understanding of the phrase. – Nita.

  16. Vivek Khadpekar permalink
    November 11, 2008 8:12 am

    @ Nita:

    Sorry, can’t make it. Have already made other commitments.

  17. November 11, 2008 9:27 am

    Nita
    it’s a wonderful initiative, i would love to come, but to come as far as Mumbai for a meeting may not be possible ….sorry, shall try later

  18. November 11, 2008 9:33 am

    Wish I could join. Have fun folks!

  19. November 11, 2008 9:54 am

    Have a great time, guys… enjoyyyyyyyy!! :)

  20. Vivek Khadpekar permalink
    November 11, 2008 9:54 am

    @ Nita:

    //But btw it doesn’t mean colour.//

    That is well understood. It is about political correctness. Has been that way for at least the last 40 years.

    A vestigeal expression from Victorian times, it smacks of a patronising, condescending attitude towards women, associated with male chauvinists of the most insufferable kind.

    A related sentiment often found in the literature of that period is, when the young woman makes a particularly perspicacious comment, or asks an intellectually challenging question on anything that goes beyond “sugar and spice and all that’s nice”, her beau responds: “Don’t bother your pretty head with such things, darling!”

    In a day and age when even holding the door open for a “lady” or offering to pay the bill after having a coffee with a female colleague (nothing more!) is viewed with a jaundiced eye, your use of the expression strikes one as coming from an antediluvian value system.

    Vivek, I guess if a man says it, then it is offensive. It’s like a white person saying the word Negro is offensive but not a black person. Okay I am arguing for the sake of arguing! But honestly I am not a politically correct person and tend to make many slips in real life…! I can’t help it because I say what I comes to mind. Not a good habit I agree. – Nita.

  21. Vivek Khadpekar permalink
    November 11, 2008 10:33 am

    @ Nita:

    Slightly off-topic but very much relevant to your protestation in self-defence: the whole business of political correctness or otherwise wrt “negro” and its successors amuses me. Until, I think, the 1950s it used to be a perfectly acceptable word (though “nigger” was offensive in the extreme, and “black” only slightly less so). Then the PC lobby issued a fatwa that “negro” was out and “black” was in — apparently oblivious of the fact that the former was merely the Spanish word for the latter. Closer to our own times, the PC term in English-speaking North America became “African-Americans”, while “black” acquired a more neutral value. I wonder about the correct term for blacks who are not North American or living in non-English-speaking countries. :-)

    Forunately one of my favourite forms of music, the Negro Spiritual, does not appear to be covered by such diktats [try saying "African-American Spiritual" or "Black Spiritual" :-) ]. And I believe “negro”, “negrito”, “negroid” etc. are not frowned upon in anthropological contexts.

  22. November 11, 2008 12:13 pm

    @Vivek
    You don’t blog (or I think so), you are not coming to meet, then how else the mystery about you will be solved?? By tracking your IP address?? But you don’t comment anywhere else and Nita is surely not going to give you up :?:

    :D

  23. November 11, 2008 12:23 pm

    I think that having a rendezvous is a great idea and I really wish that I could make it but unfortunately I am not in mumbai. I would love to meet up the next time i am in Mumbai and i will take a raincheck.

  24. Vivek Khadpekar permalink
    November 11, 2008 12:28 pm

    @ Suda:

    You are right about my not being a blogger — one more good reason for me not to attend a bloggers’ meet.

    There is no mystery about me. I don’t use a pseudonym, and if you have followed my comments over the last several months, you would know that I have disclosed a fair amount of autobiographical details.

    BTW our statement about my not commenting anywhere else is not correct.

  25. November 11, 2008 1:24 pm

    Me interested.

    Will let you know the venue when it is fixed. Should be finalised soon. – Nita.

  26. November 11, 2008 1:57 pm

    @Vivek
    No its not good reason for not coming. Its meeting of to quote Nita, people in our circle. :) And you can be found filling most of the place at center of circle.
    By mystery I meant a face to “map” with your name. I think of you as man of middle age with mustache :D
    Does this description match?
    And “that” statement was just a cheek and tongue to provoke you (which is little difficult) :P

    And how can you manage to write so long without smileys?? :?:

  27. November 11, 2008 2:03 pm

    Hi, if you guys want more bloggers landing up for your meet, why not create a meeting page on IndiBlogger.in? We have 550 Mumbai bloggers in our directory and we’d be happy to send them all an invite! :-)

    Renee, we are meeting at a restaurant, and it is not possible for me to organise things for me than a dozen people or so. That is why we didn’t publicize it much. To call more people means organising a hall and its too much for me! If there is any meet in mumbai organised by indiblogger and any bloggers who I know are coming, then surely I will be there! – Nita.

  28. November 11, 2008 3:07 pm

    ur way of fielding the Indie-bloggers’ suggestion made me smile and this is for Nimmy, those “fluffy white thing” “flower/strings of white puffs..” are called “Kaash” or “Kaash phool” (phool standing for flower) in Bangla whre it grows abundantly signifying the coming of autumn. You wd see most Durga Pujo cards would show it, its associated with bue skies and happiness of Sharat/autumn in Bengal.You would see Ray having used it in Pather Panchali beautifully :) makes me homesick..hvnt been home for nearly 2 yrs now…
    And Nita this time I filld in all correctly, name, email, link! :)
    Nita is so good, when she realised I may not have seen this meeting thing she actually e-mailed me. Thanks in the open forum, lady. Fair gesture from 1 of the fairer sex (apropos VK, this is like ‘a bail mujhey maar’ I guess, but I quite like it whn pple refer to me by tht appellate quite a lot ;) n forget abt wht it mght hve meant)

    Good to see your blog linked! :) And btw, what I said to Renee was just as it was – the truth. I cannot organise more people, I have no time! – Nita.

  29. November 11, 2008 3:30 pm

    @Trisha
    bail???? ohh my god. Ab bhugto :D
    I am not staying to see the outcome :P
    And thanks for linking your name to your blog (finally).
    Cheers

  30. Vivek Khadpekar permalink
    November 11, 2008 3:42 pm

    @ Suda:

    ghetli shingaavar??????

  31. November 11, 2008 3:58 pm

    @Vivek :lol: good one :D

  32. Vivek Khadpekar permalink
    November 11, 2008 7:49 pm

    @ Suda:

    I had expected a better comeback than that, pan bharoshyaachyaa mhashilaa tonagaa zaalaa — aani to hi vilayati! :-)

  33. sanjay permalink
    November 11, 2008 9:51 pm

    not an ‘that’ active blogger but tel me the venue if u guyz hav sme space

  34. November 12, 2008 1:41 am

    Wishing you all a great time there.. :)

  35. November 12, 2008 1:58 am

    Wishing you all a nice time :-)

    I never knew of such a meeting might be fun and interesting :-D

  36. sangeeta permalink
    November 12, 2008 2:03 am

    Wish I could join you all too but can’t .I do need some tips on blogging though!!

    Sangeeta

  37. R.Sajan permalink
    November 12, 2008 2:06 am

    Excellent initiative.

  38. November 12, 2008 8:58 am

    @ Renie, Trisha:
    This is not one of those big blogger meets that I imagine are held regularly in Mumbai or other cities in India (not sure of the schedule but there used to be many, few years back.) The upcoming meet announced here is supposed to be a group of people who are familiar with each other via comments or blogs in our blogging circles. So not publishing this on indiblogger is deliberate and not an accident. :)

  39. November 12, 2008 11:13 am

    If the term ‘fair sex’ is sexist- what then is ‘the lesser sex’ or ‘the better half’?
    Let us leave the politically correct terms to the otherwise incorrect politicians!

  40. November 12, 2008 5:39 pm

    WOW, Nita, YOU are starting thig party? great idea!!!

    I WISH I COULD JOIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIN…………..
    (but will not be possible this year) :(

    wishing you all to enjoy and looking forward to your reports :)

  41. November 12, 2008 9:15 pm

    yup, Priyank, know its for the grp, thts y I hd contemplatd coming,(thought me to be part of the loop) so I get to see the faces of some of u tht I read /hve been inspired by :) , thts y I said she ‘fielded’ the quesn nicely, instd of strght away sayng “exclusive not for the crowd”.
    Wht are Suda and VK laughng abt up there?
    Vivek, I still like it no matter wht anybdy says: better-half is sweet, the fairer sex a real charmer, works with me
    Rambodoc, u made me giggle wth tht one “correct unto the othwise incorrect”! Nita, dont forget a picture, please, to my email?

  42. November 12, 2008 9:19 pm

    O, and hope u all attnding have a rocking time, dnt forget to post each of ur versions- tht wd be fun to read, yeah? Suda, SB, Pri, Nita n dnt-know-whoelse, post n leave msg here(evrybdy comes here, so pple like me wd know)

  43. November 12, 2008 9:41 pm

    wow ..thats a cool plan..We had a meet in chennai too ..not a big one ..just 10 ppl .
    It was good ..
    wish i was in mumbai now :(

  44. November 24, 2008 9:32 pm

    Nita/priyank and all(who attended),

    Still waiting to hear versus from either of you.

    Sunny, it was a small private meeting finally and we don’t intend to write about it as it didn’t turn out to be a bloggers meet at all. – Nita.

  45. ahumanbean permalink
    November 28, 2008 2:24 pm

    A relevant comment on *some* members of the male sex who use occasions like this to surreptitiously take pictures of women without permission:

    Nita, I stopped attending events like this in Bangalore, after a spate of creepy camera lenses being stuck in my face each time I turned my head! It was invasive, and certainly uncomfortable for me and a couple of other girls I spoke with.

    Just helps more decent girls stay indoors – and increases the desperation level of guys who say “where are the women” at outdoor events like these…!

    ahumanbean, thanks for letting me know this. I always hesitated to go to a formal meet and now I realise that my fears have not been unfounded. Luckily this meet turned out to be a private meet between some of us who knew each other well in the blogging world and no photos were posted. I think I made a mistake in announcing it and the next time won’t do it. Just write to a few people I know through blogging. – Nita.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 414 other followers

