Skip to content

Summary Post and some feedback on your feedback

December 6, 2008

In this post I have given a short summary of the posts I wrote recently, plus results of the feedback given to me about this blog. Some of the latter might be useful for other bloggers as well I think.

First the summary of posts:

What pirates have in common with terrorists In this post I am being quite unjust to pirates, as they seem like angels when compared to terrorists. So don’t take this post literally…but pirate criminals, like terrorist criminals, usually start with petty crime and then “upgrade” themselves to piracy/terrorism, not just because there is more money in it, but also more “respectability”…for example…

Tips from a guy caught in the Mumbai terror attacks Rahul Welde who works in Unilever Ltd has a survivor story to tell. He not only does that, but also gives some useful suggestions. Straight from the heart…

What role did we play in the Mumbai terror attack It’s time to take a step back and ask ourselves a lot of questions..when will we hold our politicians accountable? …I know the argument of all who didn’t vote, about there not being any politicians worth voting for! Well, in there is always Rule 49-O…And should there not be a website where registered voters can raise issue … there are some sites for the same…Is it not the responsibility of the media to inform us…

A sick and communal SMS doing the rounds during this time of tragedy These smses made me furious. Our country was suffering from a great tragedy but people found time to send cheap smses. They are  demeaning and disrespectful of the death of the local people (policemen, 14 of them) who gave up their life for this country. While some commentators on this post insisted that the intention of these smses was not to hurt a community, the truth is that they did, whatever their intention…

Some reactions of Pakistani media to the terror attacks in Mumbai It was interesting to note that even the best newspapers in Pakistan did not want to believe that Pakistan was in any way involved in the Mumbai terror attacks… Sure, the terrorists must have had Indian help too, but now there seems to be mounting evidence that some people did come via the sea…here are some excerpts from Pakistani newspapers…

What feminism means to me The feminism movement started with a fight for women’s property rights, voting rights, women’s right to their own bodies, and for protection from domestic violence, sexual harassment and rape and for workplace rights, and overall to end discrimination against women. Unfortunately like it often happens, the movement threw up a fringe element of misandrists…In any case, I see no point associating an average feminist with a misandrist…So what is an average feminist all about…

Politicking more important rather than stopping terror The fact that scores of terrorists invaded Mumbai last night (some say by the sea route) and have taken hostages in five ten places in the city shows that our country, our Intelligence department, and our police have no clue at what is going to hit them next… I am sure that the blame game and bickering will start again…

Why show sympathy to the terror accused in the Malegaon blasts? First it was the alleged involvement of Sadhvi Pragya Singh in the Malegaon bomb blasts and as more details of the conspiracy were revealed, more people (Hindus) have been accused, including an Army officer. And all sorts of accusations are flying around…And Advani has now condemned the “barbaric treatment” meted out to a “spiritual person.” But how can the BJP be so sure that these people are innocent?

The controversy over Sonal Shah’s appointment by Barack Obama The Indian media has widely reported the accusations made against Sonal Shah (appointed as an advisor in the Transition Team by Barack Obama), accusations of dealings with right wing Hindu groups such as the VHP and the RSS…till now there is no evidence that Shah is linked with the political idealogy of the VHP. In fact she has denied it quite vociferously…

And now some feedback on the feedback… I am talking percentages, although actual numbers are available on the post itself.

Why don’t all readers comment?
It was interesting to know that the maximum number of people who didn’t comment (35%) said they didn’t because they had nothing to add to the post. 29% said there were “other” reasons, but I cannot guess what their reasons are. Very individual I guess. But 14% said they didn’t comment because they had no time, and 11% said they preferred anonymity. About 6% said they didn’t comment because they didn’t feel confident enough and 3% said their English was not good enough and 2%  said they didn’t comment because other commentators did not agree with them.

How often should one post?
About 35% of readers mostly are okay with posting about thrice a week and an equal number are okay if the posting is twice weekly. Around 18% of readers want me to post at least 4 or 5 times weekly though and another 12%  say 5-6 posts weekly. All I can say is that guys and gals, I would love to too. But am finding it difficult to keep up. I prefer to sacrifice a post or two if I can interact with everybody and answer comments.

What do readers like to read and why?
About 59% said they like to read a variety of posts on this blog. When it came to particular  posts, then it is the political posts that 14% of the readers wanted. The other categories got few votes, so my take is: variety is the order of the day. And most people read my blog for information (40%) and an almost equal number (36%) read my blog for a variety of reasons…either for information, or entertainment, to interact with others and read comments. A little bit of all. About 9% said they had some other reason, but did not specify what.

How do readers read my blog?
I was surprised to know that most people actually visit my blog to read my posts, about 47% of them. They might have bookmarked it and visit whenever they have the time. But considering that I get regular searches by the name of “nitawriter” my guess is that many haven’t bookmarked my blog either. They simply type in part of the url in the search engine.  About 38% of my readers read my blog through a google feed reader and 4% say email subscription, 6% say blogsurfer, and 3% say another application. But considering that most of those who visit my blog regularly participated in the feedback, it is quite likely that these results may not reflect the true picture.

In fact about 32% of those who voted said they only read my posts 1-2 times a week and 15% said they read only occasionally.  However 53% of those who voted said everyday. But my bet is that it is mostly my everyday readers who voted on that post so that was why the result was such.

About those who read my blog and did not participate in the survey I think that either they check my blog intermittently and missed that post, or perhaps they read my blog without involvement. I read some blogs like that too, so I know.

23 Comments leave one →
  1. December 6, 2008 10:56 am

    🙂

    I appreciate and adore your writing skills..Keep up the good work ..Good day

  2. December 6, 2008 11:37 am

    we like your blog🙂

  3. December 6, 2008 12:03 pm

    Nice, Nita. Excellent way to analyse your blog.

  4. ahumanbean permalink
    December 6, 2008 12:04 pm

    Hi Nita,

    Just read this! Well, I read your blog for many reasons, primarily because there simply aren’t enough rational, intelligent thinking Indian women on the Net in India. I’m not talking about the fluffy “I saw this bollywood (sheeeeeesh) movie today” types but a sane and sensible approach to current events, feminism and gender-neutral issues.

    Another important reason is that too few of us women are *validated* by other thinking women! Validation is very important – think about the dismal number of women talking on the Noisy Delusional TV channels last week – heck I wanted to hear and validate a few *feminine*voices. All we got was Simi (bollywood airhead), Lots of Barkhing ( errr 😉 ) and little else.

    Keep up the good work, Nita!

    • December 6, 2008 12:30 pm

      Nimmy, Vishesh, Trailblazer, a humanbean, thanks.🙂 🙂 Makes me feel happy that people like you read my blog! – Nita

  5. December 6, 2008 12:59 pm

    Nita, you’re so professional and passionate about your blogging! A very rare quality indeed. I love your blog and I’ve sort of depend on it for the analysis behind the events and issues that touch our lives.

  6. December 6, 2008 2:25 pm

    Sigh! I have got very few votes on my post “Blog Feedback” to get a clear picture.🙂
    And its better that u write few posts in a week than none at all!! Blogging should not cause stress.

  7. December 6, 2008 3:12 pm

    I came to your blog first from Axinia’s. I voted too and probably I come under the everyday readers group. But to be honest with u, when i first came to ur blog [may be because i am new to blogging that time] i could not read completely a single post😮 on the main page. Then some other day, I read one of the oldest posts then somewhere in between and I loved the flow. May b the length and figures frightened me off first but now I check almost everyday for your posts!
    U do a lot good work Nita and please Keep blogging😀
    Thanks
    Sahaja

  8. December 6, 2008 3:56 pm

    Your blog is very informative Nita. Thank you and keep up with the good work. I find a little tricky to comment some times, especially when we agree on the same level to some topics🙂 But that wouldn’t stop me from visiting!

  9. December 6, 2008 4:30 pm

    Nita, this was a post I was looking forward to!
    I also prefer to come here and read your posts, because it is fun to read what other comments say🙂

  10. ahumanbean permalink
    December 6, 2008 5:40 pm

    🙂

    IndianHomeMaker (see above) reads others’ comments, which is really nice…I find many commentators don’t🙂

  11. December 6, 2008 5:44 pm

    I dont know why my comment went to moderation😦

  12. December 6, 2008 6:16 pm

    Interesting statistics! Thanks for sharing them🙂

  13. December 7, 2008 12:43 am

    I must have missed the survey. I read your blog because I’m enjoying learning more about India (from culture to politics) and it’s a nice step back from news I hear everyday. I read and comment when I have the time or feel like I have something to add. Similarly, I don’t write near as often as I’d like. Cheers!

  14. locutus83 permalink
    December 7, 2008 2:25 am

    Hi Nita,

    I came across you blog about two weeks back. I feel you write with a lot of simplicity and clarity on diverse issues. I enjoyed reading about and observing your opinions and views.

    As for commenting on peoples’ blogs online, I am quite reserved and generally don’t make comments just for the sake of it. It’s probably because I personally don’t like to be too opinionated on everything. It’s a Zen philosophy – not to hold any opinions about anything at all.. just to be curious, observe and learn with detachment.

    Even if I do comment once in a while, I lose track of my comment and don’t follow up on any responses/rebuttals.

    Just one question – is not commenting at all after reading someone’s blogs improper blog etiquette :)? I think they call this “lurking” in the Blogging lingo.

    Hi locutus83, not commenting is certainly not improper blog etiquette. It is a choice that people make and I respect that.🙂 – Nita.

  15. December 7, 2008 8:13 am

    Interesting feedback on feedback. There is also atleast one reader reading from his iPod touch. And also writing the comment with it.🙂

  16. December 7, 2008 8:31 am

    Gopinath, Kiran, indianhomemaker, thanks.🙂

    Reema, the actual act of blogging doesn’t if you know what I mean. Its the time management!🙂

    Sahaja, thank and I know, some of my posts are heavy! And I think for some reason comments with 2 smilies are going into moderation.🙂

    Shivya, you are welcome.

    Mish, its nice to know when others are interested in India and my aim is to provide the truth.

    locutus83, welcome and always happy when a lurker comments! But its absolutely fine to be one!🙂

    Dineshbabu, ipod huh! Well, you are the busy people!🙂

  17. December 7, 2008 6:00 pm

    Ok. Before you get confused, you are in my reader.😛
    and I always comment(if I am not too late and there aren’t 60 comments already).🙂

  18. December 7, 2008 7:22 pm

    Each one of the posts has a pressing relevance to events which have happened to people around us !

    We hope each one of us can do our mite to lessen the pain and sorrow which innocent people will go through all their lives !

  19. Dhiraj permalink
    December 8, 2008 10:35 am

    Hi Nita

    I was just browsing and found your blog by luck some days back its fantastic. Most of the blogers are writing about themselves or about their feeling but you are chossing cureent issues as well as your favorites too.

    I am now browsing yoursite daily. I am little week in writing english and I think this kind of post will help me to increase my voculabalary as well as lack of making sentences. Keep writing I love the persons with creativity with emotions.

    Thanks Dhiraj, hope to see your comments on the posts. – Nita.

  20. wishtobeanon permalink
    December 8, 2008 6:48 pm

    Hi Nita, I had voted on that post long back. I have bookmarked your blog. I also voted for 3-4 posts a week or maybe 4-5, I don’t remember – but now, I understand that it’s not so easy to blog! I also belong to the 35% that said that they don’t comment because they have nothing to add.

  21. December 10, 2008 9:47 am

    Hello Nita,
    I like your blogs, enjoy reading your blogs cause those are simple, well studied, well analyased and well presented, your blogs considers almost all aspects of subjects, you have good writting skill, as i said long ago you are great.
    Cause of lack of time i can not visit regularly even though i want it desperately, but i do visit whenever i get time.
    About comments: for me there are lot of reasons why i can not comment everytime or on every post.
    cause of no time to read properly, no time to think on it, no time to make a proper( well analyased) comment, cause of lack of writing skill etc etc..
    about How often should one post? :
    as you said once, you were thinking of quitting the blogging. rgth ?? i think that is the one reason that u post regularly, that might make u boring now. you post regularly, u reply to comments, thinking process, study proces behind all that might make you bored.. so no need post regularly but please dont stop/ quit blogging.
    about What do readers like to read and why? :
    i like to read a variety of posts on this blog.
    about How do readers read my blog? :
    whenever i get time i simply type: nitawriter.wordpress.com …. even i forward the same to my friends, and i have provided your blogs link on my blog as “Nice blogs by nitawriter “.

    All the best, keep posting and providing such a quality material..🙂

  22. December 11, 2008 12:38 pm

    Amit, even if there are more comments that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t comment! Always interesting to know what you think.

    om namoh shiva, Dhiraj, thanks.

    wishtobeanon, thanks for your feedback and for being around!

    Vivek, thanks for that feedback. Feels really nice to read it. I guess at times I have thought of quitting blogging but the feeling never lasted more than a day, thanks to people like you who are always there with a few words of encouragement. It is not easy to keep on at a voluntary activity which pays nothing, however satisfying it is because there are other bread and butter issues which keep cropping up! Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

