Skip to content

Best movies of all time (tag)

January 2, 2009

I was tagged by Lallopallo for a movie tag to list my favourite films alphabetically (quite a while ago) and write why I liked them. I delayed doing this tag and was promptly tagged by Sahaja. I have been mulling over this tag for a while as there are a lot of films which I’ve liked and enjoyed in the past but very few films which stuck in my mind, very few that I genuinely remembered. Finally, after some scratching of the head as to why I liked them, I made a list, but I fear it is not really aΒ  comprehensive list and some movie or the other may have to be added on later.

One tends to love movies from one’s favourite genre the most. I don’t want to put myself in a box by saying I like such and such genre, not anymore, because genres are not “pure” in any case. The kind of movies which I like are those which give me thrills, whether of the mental kindΒ  (psychological thrillers) or the funny kind (I do not have a partiality towards a particular kind of humour and can enjoy situational, mental and slapstick humour) or the action adventure kind (sci-fi are my favourites and so is fantasy) or the romantic kind (I prefer serious romance).

I guess I’ve included almost all kinds of movies (!) and it would have been more relevant to write about the kind of movies I don’t like. Well, I don’t like horror films, or films with gore, and I quite dislike preachy films. I also do not like films where the director seems more intent on giving us information rather than trying to entertain, because being an avid reader, I prefer to get my information by reading textbooks or other serious books or magazines. For me the printed word fulfills a wide range of functions (including entertainment) but with a movie my expectations are different. If a director is asking me to sit for 2-3 hours in a darkened hall and not do anything except eat popcorn, I expect the movie not to be a bore. If a movie throws light on some important issue, makes me think, is not preachy and holds my attention as well, then the movie would be at the top of my list, not otherwise. I consider the ability of a director to entertain very important and I think it’s very tough to do so as it needs a creative mind. It is not easy to entertain people, whether to make them laugh or draw them into your world, or make them learn something without putting them off…

I also do not like movies where the director is more engrossed in showcasing his own talent and that of his crew, rather than thinking of the audience. Movies which are obsessed with high tech stunts but are bereft of a plot, movies which are full of beautiful costumes, pretty people, exotic locations and great cinematography but are shallow and lack substance all fall in this category.

So here goes my list:-

A

As good as it gets
Awesome acting, awesome story and realism. There is a moral of the story, told in a most gentle way.

Runner-up
Aradhana and Anand. Poignant stories and great acting!

B

Beautiful Mind (A)
The most amazing portrayal of a schizophrenic I have seen. Russel Crowe deserved an Oscar for this one.

Runner-up
Bourne Identity (The)
One of the best thrillers I have seen to date. Great story too.

2nd runner-up
Back to the Future
I am a sucker for time travel movies.

C

Chupke Chupke
I enjoyed this movie a lot when I first saw it but am not sure how I will react if I see it again. At the time I I was immensely entertained as it had some of my favourite stars and also that I had seen the shooting of an elaborate scene in this movie as I had gone to this bungalow where the shooting was happening with a cousin of mine who was close to Hrishida.

D

Departed (The)
Without doubt the best crime movie I have ever seen. Great acting and great characters.

Runner-Up
Dr. Zhivago
Sad, poignant and heartbreaking. I loved it. I saw it after I read the book and there is something special about movies which one sees after enjoying the book.

2nd runner up: Deewar
A typical Bollywood drama which pulled at the heart strings.

E

Eshwar
A touching story about a mentally challenged man played superbly by Anil Kapoor.

F

G

Gladiator
Powerful tragic story of revenge.

Runner up
Godfather (The)
Liked all the three films. Great story and also a book that I devoured.

2nd runner-up
Guddi
Jaya was a favourite with me and this movie was one of a kind when it was released.

3rd runner-up
Gone with the Wind
A great romantic saga, one which I enjoyed after reading the book. This movie had haunted me for several years after seeing it!

H

Hare Rama Hare Krishna
A different kind of film, this time about the love between a brother and a sister. Great music too.

I

Iron Man
The movie was a refreshing change from the standard superhero movies.

J

Jumanji
Fantasy, time travel, and adventure together, what more could I want? I know…I would love to get hold of that game!!

K

Kuch Kuch Hota Hai
This movie had me in tears.

L

Lawrence of Arabia
The adventure, the desert, Peter ‘O’ Toole, everything just went to my head!

Runner-up
Munnabhai MBBS
I enjoyed this movie a lot even though I was not a fan of Sanjay Dutt. Great entertainer.

M

Matrix (The)
For me this is a classic. Mind over matter. Superb idea well executed.

Runner-up
Mugale-e-Azam, a romantic classic this time. Beats all love stories I know of!

N

O

Omkara
A well done adaptation of Othello

P

Pirates of the Caribbean I
A great adventure/fantasy and ofcourse Johnny Depp was the icing on the cake. But I did not like the follow-up movies much, certainly nor worth listing them here.

Runner-up
Pyasa
I loved it because of the music, Guru Dutt (my favourite star of yesteryear) and the basic premise of the movie. How idealism can ruin a person’s life.

2nd runner-up
Parineeta
A tale of true love overcoming odds.

Q

R

Rock On
Great music, great story!

S

Star Wars – These movie are not just the movies for me. It’s a cult. Any Star Wars fan will know what I mean.

Runner-up
Satya
A crime thriller of Mumbai’s underground criminal network.

2nd runner-up
Silence of the Lambs
A chilling thriller in the true sense! It’s got elements of horror but overall it’s a murder mystery with killing suspense. Nicely done.

3rd runner-up
Sound of Music
One of my favourite films

T

Taare Zameen Par
I love movies with children and about children, and this was the best I’ve seen of this kind

Runner-up
Teesri Manzil
An enjoyable murder mystery.

U

V

W

X

Y

Z

Zanzeer
I will probably not like this movie that much if I see it today, but I loved it when I saw it over all those years ago.

Related Reading: Top 10 Movies of 2008 (Hollywood and Bollywood)

20 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2009 8:01 pm

    Awesome list Nita.. Me too love Gladiator and Godfather very much, but in the reverse orderπŸ™‚

    I have to see some films mentioned in this listπŸ™‚

    Well, often the movie I have seen later remains more in my mind! Maybe if I had seen Godfather after Gladiator I would have liked the former more!πŸ™‚ – Nita.

  2. Dev permalink
    January 3, 2009 3:45 am

    Nita, thanks for doing it. Enjoyed reading your introduction regarding what you look for in a film and your favorite and not so favorite genres. I myself never watch Horror movies. So much so that I didnt even bring myself to watch “Shining”, a supposedly horror classic by my God in cinema, Kubrick. You are perfectely right that Cinema has to entertain not inform and if it does inform, it has to come organically from the story rather than the other way around.
    Quite a few films from your list are my favorite too.

  3. January 3, 2009 11:42 am

    Hi Neeta
    the films are Best Films
    i Enjoyed thanks

  4. January 3, 2009 12:35 pm

    Great tag and list of movies Nita – which reminds me, I have to publish my list ASAP!πŸ˜€ Have a very Happy 2009 to you and your loved ones!

  5. January 3, 2009 7:33 pm

    Have you seen Schindler’s List ? Or The Shawshank Redemption ? What about 12 Angry Men ? 2001 – A Space Odyssey ? .

    Schindler’s List, yes. Great movie. I guess I forgot to mention it here!πŸ™‚ – Nita.

  6. January 3, 2009 7:36 pm

    I dont like horror movies too!! But because I get scared😦

    I love the songs of Hare Rama Hare Krishna especially phoolon ka taron ka.
    Jumanji is my fave too!! If u get the game call me and we will play it together ok?
    KKHH???? Sigh!! Alas I hate it!

  7. January 3, 2009 8:43 pm

    Whoa…Thanks for doin the tag Nita…and ya I am amazed…I love all the hindi movies u penned here!! :O
    When i did the tag, i wrote what came to my mind at that time and most of favs are in regional language…..i started watching hindi films only from 2000!
    great list!

  8. January 3, 2009 8:50 pm

    I also prefer the first Pirates movie, but it very rarely comes on TV. Missed it when it came on 29th Dec😦

  9. January 4, 2009 1:38 am

    This tag is quite interesting ..
    makes one aware of so many new good movies .

  10. January 4, 2009 3:26 am

    Had almost forgotten about Guddi! I’ve seen it a couple of times, I think.πŸ™‚ Omkara’s another great one by Vishal Bharadwaj.

    And, KKHH had me in tears too. I was a kid thenπŸ˜‰ Couldn’t see Kajol losing SRK.

  11. January 4, 2009 6:06 pm

    I think there was no one who did not cry while watching KKHH! Now if you watch the movie, you will smile at those memories.πŸ™‚
    And we have a common “A” movie.πŸ˜€

  12. January 5, 2009 11:43 am

    I see that you have liste 3 0r 4 movies for a letter. That way, we have lot of favorites common: Aradhana, Chupke Chupke, KKHH, Munnabhai MBBS, all your mvoies with G, Satya, Silence of Lambs and Sound of Music.

    It is also interesting to see you rate Pirates higher than Pyasa.πŸ™‚

    • January 5, 2009 1:56 pm

      Dev/Lallopallo, good to know that you are using your real name!πŸ™‚ And about the tag, I quite enjoyed doing it actually although I felt a bit lazy doing it. Its difficult to remember exactly why one liked a movie!

      Nitin, Kiran, Arvind, and Ruhi, thanks for your responses and happy new year to you all!

      Kislay, answered you in the comment itself.

      Amit, yeah a common A movie. And as for crying, I still cry in movies!!πŸ™‚

      Poonam, hmm, good to know these are your favs too.πŸ™‚ Where liking Pirates is concerned I think that movie is fresher in my mind and Johnny Depp is still alive!πŸ˜€

      Reema, watching horror movies gives me the creeps and at the same time I find it difficult to walk out! So best spare myself and not see them! As for Jumanji, I’ll give you a call!πŸ™‚

      Sahaja, I kind of grew up watching Hindi films. Was a crazy Bollywood fan at one time, but slowly started to enjoy English movies too, by the time I was in college.

      Arby, I saw it!!πŸ™‚ Although in bits and pieces. I love the romantic angle in that one.

  13. Chirag permalink
    January 5, 2009 3:31 pm

    Good One Nita.

  14. Harry permalink
    January 7, 2009 4:25 pm

    Whoa! This is one list I need to bookmark. I must say you have a good taste!

    Thanks Nita!

  15. January 8, 2009 3:17 am

    Nita, Missed your blog as my RSS feed was down.
    This is a great post. Thinking up so many movies would bring up so many memories!!!!
    I also like As Good as it Gets and A Beautiful Mind. Super Films. Far as Hindi films, I have yet to see Taare Zameen Par. Heard it’s fantastic!
    Some movies I really enjoyed are Forrest Gump, and for Indian Movies, I really like, Qayamat Se Qayamat Tak (QSQT), Sholay, and Tamil movies Alaipayuthey, Duet and Mouna Ragam. Excellent!

    Well, TZP is a different kind of film and those used to Hollywood movies may not easily relate. But as you have seen and liked some Indian films like QSQT and Sholay, you will surely like TZP! – Nita.

  16. Kumar permalink
    January 19, 2009 1:33 pm

    How could he forget to mention Sholay , the best Indian movie of all time ?

    Well, this is my personal list and I do not think Sholay qualifies. Thanks for giving your opinion though. – Nita.

  17. hari permalink
    January 21, 2009 4:15 pm

    Nice post Nita
    Thanx for giving a list of movies , i have to see some films mentioned in this list, and tagging also a nice idea.

  18. Harnish Jani permalink
    February 1, 2009 4:53 am

    I have seen all from your list.if it is your choice-I m surprised to see Silence of the lamb and Sound of music in same catagory- You have missed out dozens of good movies-should rent movies of Tom Hanks-Maryl streep etc.If u liked As Good As It gets-U would love Jack Nicoleson’s “About Schmidt” and Bill Murrey’s “Groundhog Day’-
    Still you have nice list-Nothing wrong with it-
    Good Luck.

Trackbacks

  1. A to Z of Films Meme (0-9) « An Unquiet Mind

Leave a Reply

