Skip to content

Summary post of the past fortnight and blog awards

January 31, 2009

Another fortnight gone by. Before I summarise the posts, just want to mention some blog love I received recently. Sahaja gave  me the Garland award. When I got it last time I was too lazy to pass it on (I always find it difficult to choose!) so I am doing so now. I just let my mind choose the names and did not over analyse. These were the first three names that jumped into my mind – Reema, Vishesh, and the IndianHomemaker. All these popped into my mind almost simultaneously. To me these blogs are like garlands, not just attractive, but also those which give off very positive vibes.

There are three more awards, given to me by Sahaja – the versatile blogger award, the Lovely blogger award and the I love your blog award. The names that popped into mind for the Versatile blogger award are Axinia, Paul, Snigdha and Nimmy. The Lovely blogger award I give it to Sahaja, Mad Momma and Roop. The I love your  blog award I give to all my blogger friends.

Please pick up your awards from my awards page. Thanks.

One more award to go. Given by Vishesh for favourite commentators, this is an award I’m not giving to anyone specific. Each of my commentators has something unique to give to this blog and I take this opportunity to thank all of them.

And while I am on Vishesh, I need to mention that I have been unable to do the tag where he said I was to draw certain images on the computer. Just to let him know, I tried and failed to draw anything worthwhile!

Here are the summary posts:-

Mob culture vs pub and mall culture Whether it’s the police (usually backed by the state government) or extreme rights groups (encouraged by the state government), and yes even some women’s and students’ groups – they interfere in the private lives of people. They are anti the so-called mall, park and pub “culture”… looks like they feel that enjoyment is a sin….we should not allow this moral policing disease to grow. Let’s vote out all politicians who have done moral policing in the past. Vote out the parties who we suspect will ally with the extreme radical parties post-election…

Kashmir – where are you heading? Do Kashmiris want to be part of Pakistan? Do Kashmiris hate the idea of India? Do Kashmiris want an independent state of Kashmir, to be free of both Pakistan and India? All of us have asked ourselves these questions, particularly so after the recent state election in Kashmir…

India’s Taliban on a rampage Two  incidents which happened in the last couple of days disturbed me very much. Both incidents concerned violent politically motivated tactics of small-time Hindu Taliban-like parties. Both incidents created a law and order problem which was not handled by the police with alacrity. The first incident concerns a threatening letter that MNS (Maharashtra Navnirman Sena) members sent to the owner of a shop called Karachi Sweets in Mulund…the second incident is one where 40 members of a group called Sri Rama Sene attacked a few defenceless girls in Mangalore…

Slumdog Millionaire Review and the Amitabh Bachchan controversy Slumdog Millionaire is a love story rather than a story about India’s poverty. Yes, the poverty is there constantly, hanging like a noose around Jamal’s neck. Poverty is the backdrop of the movie, and the director, Danny Boyle, uses every possible aspect of Indian poverty that he knows to make this story come alive…as to the the Amitabh Bachchan controversy, I think we need to be fair about his comments on Slumdog…

British teens and Indian parenting Reading about a British Reality show (to be part of a BBC documentary series) which will give “overindulged and spoilt” British teenagers a dose of Indian parenting was intriguing…but well, there are flaws in Indian parenting too…there are four type of parenting styles.

Rude or polite, it’s a matter of perspective World standards of polite behavior are so different and in fact cultural differences are so varied, that when people come face to face with another culture for the first time they might find that they act in ways which make them unpopular, making it difficult not just to get along, but also get things done…and there are wide differences even in English speaking countries.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2009 7:14 pm

    lol😛 I can understand about the tag🙂 Thanks for the award😀

  2. January 31, 2009 8:10 pm

    Congratulations on the award!:)

  3. January 31, 2009 9:27 pm

    Awww thanks for all that praise and the award🙂

  4. January 31, 2009 9:28 pm

    And I too have been unable to do the tag😀

  5. January 31, 2009 10:06 pm

    Thank you so much for the Versatile Blogger Award, Nita! 😀

  6. February 1, 2009 12:01 am

    Congrats and I didnt know abt the way u put up awards thru summaries…sorry for pushing u !!

    and tag uff…with great difficulty i finished it and got a great response too😛 guess it shud b too funny ! haha well thats the idea behind tag😛

  7. February 1, 2009 12:23 am

    Congratulations for the awards!!!

  8. Nimmy permalink
    February 1, 2009 12:33 am

    Thanks a lot for remembering me Nita🙂 It is indeed a great feeling to have my name mentioned in your blog🙂 thanks…

    Congrats for the awards..I was unable to comment on few posts,but i read it all..I must say that you are the most versatile ( i’ld say ‘all-purpose’) blog🙂 Keep writing with the same intensity and passion,for there are may like me who are benefitted from the varient informations you share..I am glad to have you as my friend🙂

    Good day

  9. February 1, 2009 3:10 am

    dint realise it was for me too! Thats a real honour!! I am smiling off to glory!😀

  10. February 1, 2009 2:04 pm

    O dear! Thanks so much Nita! This comes as a complete surprise. Wow!

    I don’t know if I have the provision of “showing off” this honor (yes, it is an honor to be noticed by you) at my gig at BlogHer, but I will certainly mention it at my personal blog, which, as you know is struggling to survive. But I am seriously working on it now, I promise🙂.
    Thanks again.

  11. vasudev permalink
    February 1, 2009 9:03 pm

    dear ss…i visited your blog site but could not find a reply button. please tell me how to post comments on your blogs?

  12. February 2, 2009 2:02 am

    Thanks Nita🙂
    You say, ‘To me these blogs are like garlands, not just attractive, but also those which give off very positive vibes.’ BUT I came here on the morning of 26th and your positive reply to my comment was what motivated me to stop feeling hopeless and to write about the Mangalore attacks.🙂 Thanks for that also. And for your amazing posts.

  13. February 2, 2009 1:05 pm

    Congrats, those are wonderful awards as well as awardees😉

  14. February 9, 2009 6:56 pm

    Congratulations to all those who have been given the award.
    My best wishes.

Leave a Reply

