Skip to content

Hand analysis and Reading of Lal Krishna Advani

April 7, 2009

It is difficult to get hold of the hand prints of famous people but their hands are often widely photographed, particularly at rallies. The lines are not visible but the shape of the hand and fingers are, and they can reveal something about the person. Without the lines I cannot say anything even remotely about his future, so this is just about his character traits.

L. K Advani has always been a bit of a mystery to me and that was why I decided to try and decipher his hand. Even now I find it difficult to make up my mind about him. I got the idea for this post when Axinia sent me a photograph of Obama’s hand. The photo she sent me (Obama’s) has a much clearer image than the one I managed to get of Advani’s and I will do an analysis of Obama’s hand too, a little later.

Here is my reading. You needn’t take it seriously if you don’t believe in palmistry. There is no way I can confirm whether my reading is right or wrong because that is something only he can do. Not that he is going to admit that the negative traits I have mentioned are right! So here goes:

Advani’s innate nature is warm and sympathetic. However these qualities are seen more often by the few who are close to him. To others he can be hard to approach and even arrogant, and it is likely that this trait has strengthened over the years due to his powerful position as the leader of the opposition party. He has also become rather manipulative, again a developed trait.

However, he is not a rigid person. Not only is he amenable to reason, he can be flexible in his decision-making and in fact tends to be influenced by others. At times his ability to get influenced can go against his own logic and reasoning, which he has plenty of. His own nature is a cautious one and I wonder if this is which leads him to be influenced, making him give more importance to another (trusted) person’s views than his own. Actually he should trust his own judgment, as he has a good head on his shoulders and has superior reasoning ability.

He is secretive and will not let his innermost thoughts be visible to anyone. Often others may not know what he really thinks. These are good traits for a politician, but Advani is also impulsive and that is certainly not a good thing.

Advani has a tendency to be emotional and when he was younger was probably very easily moved.

He does not like formality or rules.

He is ambitious and religious. His religiosity is high-minded and borders on idealism.

He studied law and would have made an excellent money-making lawyer if he had taken up the profession as he has the ability to see two sides of the coin, has good analytical ability, good interpersonal skills, a logical thinking ability as well as good speaking and writing skills

He has very strong desire for status and is not afraid of taking risks to achieve his ambition.

He is well balanced mentally, even in his old age.

He is very shrewd, although not always tactful and has a good power of expression.

He is a good judge of people.

He is sensitive to his surroundings. At times little things can annoy and hurt him due to this trait.

He has will power and the ability to command others.

Even though he seems genial, he often takes a negative approach to things and can be suspicious of people. This can make him difficult to live with.

Overall though he is a great showman, can be very persuasive. He does not harbor grudges, and can get along with different types of people.

He has a good imagination and is fond of music and can perhaps play some instrument or maybe he did in the past.

He is straightforward, trustworthy and dependable. He is an honest man.

But now to his worst trait, a trait that casts a shadow on his other good points. His hand shows selfishness. He will sacrifice the interests of others to achieve his own ambitions. That is the only thing that comes in the way of him becoming a truly great leader. It’s almost as if he is on just one track, and that track is himself.

(Note: I am a palmist as anyone who has read my About Me page knows. And this reading has been made from some images of Advani’s hand that I got from the internet. I have never met him and never seen his hand in person. )

(Photograph is from PTI)

More Readings: Hand Reading of Barack Obama
Hand Reading of Sonia Gandhi

My other, Palmistry Blog is here.

103 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2009 10:01 pm

    I never knew u are a palmist!!! I had read Cheiro’s book long ago and used to practice on people. Now I have forgotten everything. I hope you will see my palm if and when we meet🙂 Please!

  2. April 7, 2009 10:10 pm

    Can I send you a pic of my hand please?:-)!!

    He he..!!

  3. April 7, 2009 10:17 pm

    Hey, I never knew you are a palmist too! Wowww, you have so many talents…Quite an interesting analysis of Mr. Advani!

  4. April 7, 2009 10:17 pm

    Nita,

    He has a good hand. Some lines are visible but not very distinctly.

    Good analysis I must say. A lot of what you say makes sense when you read his magnum opus My Country My Life.

    You begin to understand the persona that is L K Advani. Whether he becomes the Prime Minister or not is another issue and time alone will tell what it has in store for him.

  5. April 7, 2009 10:34 pm

    I am sending you a pic of my hand🙂

    And interesting reading for him…I don’t like the selfish part,dangerous for the country…

  6. April 7, 2009 10:52 pm

    can u read my palm too. I was always curious. plz..

  7. April 7, 2009 10:57 pm

    Ahem! Palmist!😮 [I had read the page but did not keep in mind]. I don’t like Advani, just the same.

    If he were a good/honest/sensitive man, he would have done something while Gujrat pogrom was on or when Varun went into public meetings like a bull in a China shop!

    Wombs were slit in Gujarat, people were burnt alive and whatnot and this man is “straightforward, trustworthy and dependable”! He had all the killers in his ‘hand’, so to speak!😦😈

    I am looking forward to his defeat
    (despite the fact that my parents will vote for him as PM, alas! Baniyas for BJP, sigh!). This should not mean that I am a Congress supporter (Clean chit to Jagdish T. disturbs me as much as the freely-roaming Gujarat culprits including the ‘leading hand’ above).

    No wonder Palmistry/astrology is not my cup of tea ( I am wearing two astrological stones round my neck just the same thanks to my parents)!:mrgreen:

    Looking forward to the Obama analysis (also include Sonia and Rahul, if possible).

    • Vivek Khadpekar permalink
      April 8, 2009 5:05 am

      Vikas:

      A most interesting comment. I am no palmist, nor a psychoanalyst, but do wish I were the latter. I would then certainly apply my skills to what you have written. For want of the necessary talent, I will just point out what intrigued me:

      1. “(…my parents will vote for him as PM, alas!Baniyas for BJP, sigh!).”

      2. “Palmistry/astrology is not my cup of tea ( I am wearing two astrological stones round my neck just the same thanks to my parents)!”

      3. “Looking forward to the Obama analysis (also include Sonia and Rahul, if possible).”

      I don’t know if you perceive the very predictably baniya traits of conformism in the three statements I have quoted. You disapprove of some things about your parents but will not protest or rebel. Without the benefit of palmistry, astrology or psychoanalysis, let me hypothesise:

      You are not an only child. You have at least one sibling, most likely a brother.

      You stand to inherit a decent chunk of wealth and are willing not to rock the boat, so that you are assured of your share.

      You have a brilliant mind but have opted (or will opt) for a run-of-the-mill career, in which you will make a lot of wealth but not necessarily achieve anything earth-shaking. You will most likely settle down in the family business.

      You will marry the girl of your parents’ choice, dutifully have your first child within a year of marriage, and if that first child is a girl, a second child within another year.

      I hope I am wrong. There are always exceptions to stereotypical norms. The name that immediately comes to mind in this context is of one Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi. 🙂

      • April 8, 2009 6:22 am

        Nice one, Vivek Khadpekar.🙂
        A little reverse psychology never hurts.😉

      • April 8, 2009 6:37 am

        LOL That was very good Vivek!

      • Vinod permalink
        April 8, 2009 9:26 am

        Vivek, totally cool.

      • April 8, 2009 10:00 am

        …observing how this comment qualified under this blog’s published comment policy…

        • April 8, 2009 10:05 am

          You are right Mahendra. I too was not comfortable with this comment knowing it is a personal one. I think Vikas might be offended. I always feel terrible to edit or delete a comment made by a regular commentator so that is why I hesitated! If Vikas tells me to, I will delete this comment.

          • April 8, 2009 10:19 am

            Nita, I am an emotional man and had even cried during the Gujarat riots (Advaniji was indirectly responsible for it in more ways than one!) Advani will make a good PM but his heart is not pure.
            P.S.: I am almost studying all the time and came here because I was moved.

      • April 8, 2009 10:11 am

        My, My! Interesting observations Vivekji! But you got most of them wrong! In fact I am the opposite in more ways than one! You would probably do better with some Palmistry or Psychoanalysis. Yeah, I am not protesting or rebelling enough as of now but I am quite a rebel just the same! :mrgreen:

        Here goes (your observations in blockquote)!

        You are not an only child. You have at least one sibling, most likely a brother.

        Right! I have an elder sister (married) and a younger brother. I am located in the middle.

        You stand to inherit a decent chunk of wealth and are willing not to rock the boat, so that you are assured of your share.

        😦😮 OMG! Absolutely not! We are a poor family (though not so poor now). There is no wealth in the first place! We have some ancestral wealth (land etc.) in the village but my paternal grandfather will not share it with my father as of now(but only with my father’s brother who is quite a villain in my humble opinion; It’s a complicated story, may share later).

        I do not have any desire for family silver. My mother recently sought my opinion on adding another floor to the home (keeping her two sons in mind) and I suggested against it. I do not look forward to inheriting any wealth; I have suggested this to my parents time and again. If at all it happens I aim to give my share to my sister.

        You have a brilliant mind but have opted (or will opt) for a run-of-the-mill career, in which you will make a lot of wealth but not necessarily achieve anything earth-shaking. You will most likely settle down in the family business.

        🙂 Ahem! “Brilliant mind!” Thank you! I have one arguably ;)! I have unsuccessfully aspired for the Indian Foreign Service (IFS)! Yes, the UPSC exam is quite run-of-the-mill! I am still unemployed, single, poor and dying to marry (my unrequited love)! Ideally I should have gone for Media and Advertising but I didn’t and I regret it. There is no family business (we are Baniya only in name!) but if there were one I may have considered taking it to greater heights even if it were the typical Baniay grocery shop!

        You will marry the girl of your parents’ choice, dutifully have your first child within a year of marriage, and if that first child is a girl, a second child within another year.

        Jesus Christ! Absolutely wrong!😦 You can read more (my 1739 words comment; you did read it) on this on Nita’s Marriage tips post. I love a woman since more than six years (unrequited, one-sided love, alas!). I have yet to give up hope and I want to marry only her with or without the parents’ consent.

        I don’t want a boy baby! I want a girl child. And if my woman does not desire a baby it will be fine with me. I even want to adopt some children when/if I am rich! Child within the first year of marriage?! Nah! I want it after two three years.I also wish I was a woman ( I even have a dormant blog on that!)

        Now some tangential issues! I hate dowry unlike most (or all?) Baniyas. So the rebellion is imminent. I have clear instructions to my friends not to visit my room or meet me if they take dowry! I also hate the pompous, conspicuous consumption in marriages and will want to marry in a court/temple.

        I hope I am wrong.

        Congratulations! You were not hoping against hope!:mrgreen:

        I hate many aspects of social life in India. In JNU campus, I have a reputation for being the odd man out!

        I have now this habit of documenting aspects of my life (from JNU Holi, JNU caves to JNU river rafting trip I documented it all on blogs). Will surely invite you and others to read my marriage blog etc. as and when it happens!

        Thank you for the elaborate comments. I like comenting on comments and therefore experience delight when it happens to me!🙂

        P.S.: Nita, sorry for hogging the comment space (I often do it, alas!)

  8. April 7, 2009 11:59 pm

    Sounds like a regular corporate CEO to me. Intelligent, perceptive and quite capable of being ruthless.
    Very interesting reading, this!

  9. April 8, 2009 12:12 am

    Very interesting! Can I send you a picture of my palm please?😛

  10. Naveen permalink
    April 8, 2009 1:05 am

    It is interesting that his hand, the symbol of his opposition, has so much to say.

  11. April 8, 2009 3:44 am

    Nita – this is a fascinating read. If only this method of analyzing politicians were practiced here in Canada. I’d love to know what you might make of our P.M. Stephen Harper’s hand as to his tendencies and capabilities. He is such a cypher that i find him scary, in spite of not having concrete evidence to back up my fears. G

  12. sunil kumar permalink
    April 8, 2009 3:45 am

    why do you people believe in Palmistry?

  13. April 8, 2009 6:41 am

    Nita,

    I am impressed! The last time you analyzed my hand on my blog, all my friends agreed to it. And you didn’t even know me back then! So, wow.🙂

    As a palmist (ok ok, as an amateur palmist) do you think that your initial opinion influences what you read?

    cheers,
    Priyank

    • April 8, 2009 7:00 am

      Priyank, I am not an amateur palmist. I have been studying palmistry for about 30 years. I have files of palm prints dating back 25 years, with predictions and readings. For me this is serious business. About your hand, I mentioned just a few traits, and it was not a detailed analysis like I did of Advani’s hand. It is time consuming to do a complete analysis.

      And no, my initial opinion does not influence. I see a hand totally objectively and might try and see why a certain trait seems not to fit.

      • April 8, 2009 9:09 am

        Oh, the comment about amateurism was only as a reaction to your disclaimer in the post.🙂

        • April 8, 2009 11:15 am

          I have to write some sort of disclaimer Priyank because there are people who are virulently against palmistry! So I said, believe it or not, it doesn’t matter, because this is just what believe and am not asking anyone else to believe.

  14. April 8, 2009 6:52 am

    I think you can read the rekha’s but what is the use? It is already written!!🙂

    Destination Infinity

    Hmm, living up to your nickname!🙂 – Nita.

  15. April 8, 2009 6:57 am

    Reema, Laksh, Vishesh, Chikki, kayfitnessmantra and others who are interested in hand reading, even if it is for a lark, just want to mention to you that for me palmistry is very serious business and I do it professionally too. When I can take a look at the lines, I take about 10-12 hours to read one hand as I examine the minute apexes too. As one has to cross-check it takes this time and I usually read over several days, at times over 5-7 days. And if it is a hand and finger analysis I take about 3-4 hours. To me at least this is not superstition. I need to examine a hand very carefully as every single tilt, the size of each phalange, the difference between the left and the right hands, whether a finger is straight or not etc take a long time to figure out. In Advani case I first got about a dozen photos of his from the internet so I could take a look at his hand from all angles. Fingers look different from different angles and then I had to figure out which was the right size. It is all very time consuming and while I have decided to do some hands for this blog, it will be difficult to do it for anyone else! Well, not right now at least. I know you guys will understand!

    Kanupriya, Naveen, thanks.

    Mavin, I know little about Advani and I am glad that this reading makes some sense! However let me assure you that his hand is not a good hand overall. Sure he is intelligent and successful but he is not a good guy. The placement of his thumb is very poor. And the thumb is what guides one’s personality. The very fact that he is so talented and able means he will be able to use these qualities for his own ends. If these ends are good, great! But then for him it is himself who comes first, and that is the danger.

    Vishesh, you got it!

    Suburban, I will keep that name in mind. Stephen Harper. And do an analysis of his fingers too, for the blog.

    Vikas, Advani does not have a good hand. Vishesh seems to have got it bang on. Advani is not fit to be PM but then, I did not say that. I didn’t see the need to. And by honest I meant he does not steal. He is not a thief like many of our politicians are. He craves power.

    Abhiroop, You got it! Self serving and ruthless.

    • Vivek Khadpekar permalink
      April 8, 2009 10:44 am

      Nita.

      “Advani is an angel as compared to Modi.”

      Even Lucifer was an angel — in fact an archangel.

      You took the words out of my mouth!🙂 – Nita

      • Vinod permalink
        April 8, 2009 10:59 am

        Satan was a learned jinn in Islamic theology and not an angel

        • Vivek Khadpekar permalink
          April 8, 2009 11:45 am

          Vinod:

          I was referring to Christian belief, not Muslim, although I know there are a lot of overlaps between them. Whether they genuinely qualify as “theological” I am not competent to opine on.

        • Vinod permalink
          April 9, 2009 8:56 am

          I know you were referring to Chrisitan beliefs. I just thought I’d add the islamic dimension too just to make things interesting. Few people are aware of how similar Islam and Christianity are.

    • April 8, 2009 7:31 pm

      No problem!!🙂

      Reema, that didn’t apply to those who actually met me!🙂 – Nita

  16. April 8, 2009 9:22 am

    A very interesting read…Like everyone else, I didn’t know you were a palmist…

    Advani seems to be a typical politician – selfish and ruthless…I hope he doesn’t become the PM…

    Bones, another commentator called him ruthless and I think I agreed with him. But on second thoughts, Advani’s hand does not show that he is ruthless. He is just very selfish, that’s all. A true leader never is. – Nita.

  17. April 8, 2009 10:07 am

    I must HAND it to you, Nita! You’re a real Web 2.0 palmist….everyone give Nita a HAND of applause!

    So is Advani capable of underHANDed dealings? That’s what’s the in-thing during these times right? Will he stick to the bird in the HAND or go after two in the bush?

    Oh, and are there any women who think he’s HANDsome?😀

    • April 8, 2009 10:15 am

      Mahendra, for a moment I wondered if that comment was by Rambodoc! 🙂😀 On a more serious note, Advani will not get his hands dirty. Dishonesty is something he does not like. However without seeing the lines on his palm it is not easy to say. You see, the lines are the nitty gritties, and the hand is the whole, the framework, if you know what I mean. And in the hand, it is the thumb which decides the basic nature.

  18. April 8, 2009 10:35 am

    Wow Nita !! .. You are a palmist !! That’s so great to know ..

    ANd I guess you are quite right in analysing Advaniji’s personality ..

    Few more things about him from my analysis:

    Atalji had a charishma and sober image from the beginning .. He was acceptable from every corner of India .. People used to love him as a leader .. but this love was never transformed into votes for BJP .. It was Advaniji’s Ram-Janm Bhoomi movement (Biggest mass movement post 1947)which really made the platform for BJP and it got some identity in the minds of middle class/rich class in the country .. But again, when BJP/NDA came to power, it was Atalji who became PM and Advaniji with a happy face sacrificed it .. In spite of being a national leader, his loyalty to his party and to Vajpayee was so total that the BJP never witnessed the tremors of any power-struggle, which has been the bane of so many other parties. His integrity, as even his worst critics would admit, is unimpeachable ..

    BJP shoud be proud to be led by a lifelong Yoddha (warrior) like Advani. He is not a vansh bhogi. He is a karma yogi. His ateet ki neev is not dynasty, nor is projecting the latest member of the dynasty as India’s future leader – the BJP’s concept of bhavishya ka nirmaan. (Unlike Congress, Sonia Madam and rahul Baba.)

    He is 81. But judge him by his energy, day-long activity, constant travels around the country, enthusiasm, intellectual alertness, articulation, knowledge and experience, all of which are a product of his disciplined way of life, a life anchored in idealism.

    Let us see this PM in-waiting becomes a PM this time or this will be an end to his career.

    • April 8, 2009 12:29 pm

      Soham, yes the man has charisma and talent but I think Vajpayee was more worthy. I don’t think Advani had that much of a choice stepping aside for Vajpayee. I think the majority in the party wanted Vajpayee.

      • April 8, 2009 1:33 pm

        Ofcourse ..

        I agree that Vajpayee had cleaner image than Advani had and he was acceptable by all but my point is it was Advaniji who transformed people’s sympathy and love for BJP into votes and that’s the reason Atalji was able to enjoy those 5 years of PM of India .. Without Advaniji’s rathyatra and Ram-Janm bhoomi movement, BJP would not have suceeded this much and would not have become an alternative of Congress ..

        I wish he becomes a PM this time .. My gut feelings say the same .. I can se Congress’s boat sinking since last 2 weeks coz of all power-struggle in UPA ..

  19. Vivek Khadpekar permalink
    April 8, 2009 10:36 am

    @ Vikas,

    I am delighted to be proved wrong. It’s mavericks like you who make the world a better place. 🙂

    @Nita,

    I am also happy that your apprehensions were proved wrong. I honestly did not think I was going against the comments policy. But please feel free to delete if you feel so. 🙂

    Vivek, the problem is solved now, not to worry! Not that I am saying you were.🙂 – Nita

    • April 8, 2009 10:41 am

      Thank you Vivek ji! I am a dyed-in-the-wool maverick! It is a lot of pain but it’s worth it.

      • April 8, 2009 12:23 pm

        If neither of you have a problem I don’t see why I should delete the comments. Vivek’s comment was no doubt very entertaining!🙂 It was tongue in cheek, but yours Vikas is a serious one!

  20. April 8, 2009 10:54 am

    It makes very interesting reading.Recntly,on a TV channel,there was a panditji.As per what he had to say about LKA was completely different from what you have said.i do beleive in palmistry,but only to the extent that it is my palm.

    BK, I think most of these “commercial” pundits are bogus as they tend to read from what they know of the person in public life. – Nita.

  21. April 8, 2009 11:35 am

    That was great. Although I dont fully believe in the palm readings, I am just curious about my hands now🙂

    Yeah, be careful you don’t show them to me or I will know all about you.🙂 – Nita

  22. April 8, 2009 11:54 am

    @Nita,Vivek, Mahendra and everyone

    I have no problem with Vivekji’s comments on my comment. In fact I am happy about it.

  23. April 8, 2009 12:05 pm

    I never ever knew you were into palmistry! I used to have a liking for it in college, then just forgot all about it.

    And it did not ever cross my mind to do a palmistry session with a politician’s rally palm pictures!

    Many people read something on palmistry for fun but for me it was serious and I guess that is because my dad too is a palmist and it sort of runs in the family now!🙂

  24. April 8, 2009 12:08 pm

    Nita, for a person who has decided to disapprove the use of palmistry and astrology for predicting the future (which you haven’t here, I know), I found this post and its comments delightful!
    Growing up, palmistry was the funnest thing to do.
    But later, I realized (and saw) people being consumed by finger rings and stones, and blindly believing what was being predicted or being asked of them. They were losing confidence in themselves. It scared me, and I started staying away. I like to believe I can control most things in my life🙂

    You are the first reasonable palmist I have seen who actually respects people who don’t believe in it!

    Vikas, Vivek, thank you for the fun exchange! Vikas, good luck with your career and your love.

    • April 8, 2009 12:20 pm

      Snigdha, thanks. First let me assure you that palmistry cannot predict the future. If there is any palmist who says so he is a fraud. And you are absolutely right. I have no qualms at all if someone does not believe in it. I understand why they think so, it is usually because of the kind of experiences they have had, like yours for instance. And there are sufficient number of charlatans who make a living by palmistry who give it a bad name. I personally believe that there is a science behind it but those who don’t believe in palmistry will ridicule this idea.

  25. April 8, 2009 12:18 pm

    Nita – I wonder if there’s any scientific basis to palmistry or for that matter astrology. Since I’m being lazy, am hoping you direct me to an article/s on this subject.

    • April 8, 2009 12:39 pm

      Mihir, I have no faith in Astrology and I personally believe that there is a scientific basis to Palmistry. There are many books on this subject but I do not know any article or book that proves this. I believe it because I have consistently seen hands over the last so many years and know it from experience. However I know that one day it will be proved but it will take time. A few results have already been discovered as you can read here, here and here.
      However in palmistry it is important not to read one trait from one sign. Often other parts of the hand may show something contrary and often the quality may be latent, not active, or the quality may not have the right “carrier” by which I mean that the person has to have other qualities to activate a particular one. That is why reading hands is extremely difficult and should not be taken casually. The human being is very complex, a kind of mish mash of contradictory qualities so reading the hand is an art, however strong the basic rules are.

      • April 15, 2009 8:37 am

        Hey Nita, thanks for those links and the explanation. Palmistry seems a little more credible now🙂. Hope to look it up further.

  26. April 8, 2009 12:33 pm

    “…rekhaon se maat kha rahe ho…”😉

  27. April 8, 2009 12:36 pm

    Intriguing. Nita.

    I will look forward to Modi’s hand analysis as well.🙂

  28. April 8, 2009 3:07 pm

    “I have no faith in Astrology and I personally believe that there is a scientific basis to Palmistry. ” Scientific reasons never based on personal beliefs ……if palmistry has some we r calling “base ” then astrology too ……!!!

    I am not sure that how can a person predict without seeing a hand ..as far I know from last few years ,we have to see the thickness of the palm at the root of every finger .which i m not able to see in this pic ….. without seeing the lines , its amazing to predict so much ……

    I think astrology and palmistry are mutually inclusive ……..wat we have in kundali the same thing is present in the hand ………

    I think we ppl are more intrested to hear abt the future ……. Is he going to be next PM ??

  29. Chirag Chamoli permalink
    April 8, 2009 3:49 pm

    You are a palmist😀

    Interesting Read🙂 specially @He is a good judge of people part.

    Also, since Advani is politician the lines may say something else I mean it must be different for Humans and Politicians.

  30. April 8, 2009 6:05 pm

    Poonam, Vikas, I am a little scared to do Modi’s hand. I mean he has some die hard fans and from what I have seen of his hand cursorily, it ain’t good. I think I will get a lot of hate mail!🙂 I think therefore next I will do Obama’s hand and he has a beautiful hand!

    Lucky, I don’t know too much about Astrology, but I do know it’s about how planets influence us and that is what I don’t believe in. Palmistry is entirely different, it is about the lines on our palms and it is our brain which forms the lines. Therefore these two things are different.
    And you are right people are curious to know the future, specially of famous people. And they want to also see if the fortune teller is right or wrong. Well, palmistry can never foretell the future, and that is because lines keep changing, as we do. Palmistry is basically a character analysis and at best it can tell you about your tendencies, and good periods and bad periods. But remember character is destiny. You can change anything in your hand, as long as you are willing to change.

    Chirag,🙂

    • April 9, 2009 9:59 am

      Nita .. I’m a die hard fan of Modi but I’m not gonna send you a hate email if you do analysis of Modi’s hand ..

      It’s the analysis of his hands and not your opinion about him .. So it will be an interesting thing ..

      • April 9, 2009 12:13 pm

        Soham, I was not worried about you sending me a hate mail. You will be surprised at the number of people who sent me a hate mails when I wrote something about Modi, but then they were not regular readers and I am quite convinced that they were party workers hired to do exactly that!🙂 However I am glad that you believe that I will do an objective analysis of Modi’s hand even though I do not personally admire him. I am always objective in my hand reading, but then only those who know me know this. Probably you realised it when you saw my analysis of Advani’s hand. I do not like Advani and when I did the reading I was surprised that he had so many good qualities.
        Thanks Soham for having the faith.🙂
        I am having some trouble getting decent pics of Modi’s hand, and if you have any do sent them across!

        • April 9, 2009 7:21 pm

          @Nita:

          I’m surprised to know that you dont admire Modi .. From your reading, I can very well conclude that you love people who work for the develpment and progress of either any individual or for any state/country ..

          If you were to forget godhra for a moment, you will realise that this guy Modi has done a tremendous job in GUjarat .. I agree that first time in decemebr 2002, he won because of godhra and hindutva wave.. But then in december 2007, there was no godhra – there was no hindutwa wave but still he won with a landslide victory just on the basis of development and his good administration .. he proved that the concept of ‘Good Governance is bad politics’ is certainly wrong .. We gujjus are not idiots or stupid neither we are bunch of fanatic or communal breed which always votes for hindutva .. He has done a great job and that’s the reason why even after rulling Gujarat for almost 7 years, there is no anti-incumbency factor against him or against BJP in Gujarat .. That I feel is remarkable and very surprising.. Except Sheela Dixit in Delhi, no CM has achieved this feat..

          By the way, I have sent two pics of Modi at your email address .. Those are very large but I have kept them as it is so that you can clearly see his hand ..

          I too got many hate emails when I wrote a post favouring Varun Gandhi ..

          If you dont want the hassle of hate emails and debates, you can send the analysis of Modi’s hand to some of the individuals whom you feel will be intrested in that stuff (including ME)..

          • April 9, 2009 8:34 pm

            Soham, if I get a decent hand photo I will do Modi’s hand analysis and I don’t really care about the hate mailers!🙂 I mean, I can handle them or rather I should be able to after several years of blogging!🙂 About Modi, yes I agree Soham I am very biased. What else can I say? I only like or dislike people according to how straightforward and pure they are in heart and no amount of “work” they have done can ever redeem them. That is just my own quirk I guess. I know that is probably an idealistic view and those who work really well may rarely be “good” but I think they can. I admire only good and highly moral people and yes I admire intellect a great deal. Everyone admires different kinds of people I guess.

  31. April 8, 2009 7:34 pm

    Nita, that is really great…
    I am just looking forward to Obama’s hand analysis!!!!!!!🙂

  32. April 8, 2009 8:09 pm

    Wow, Nice analysis, didn’t know you were a Palmist. Seems like I can scan my hand and send it to you🙂

  33. Padmini permalink
    April 9, 2009 2:57 am

    Nita, I want my palm read too! Not sure if I believe in its validity – however, since I’ve never had it read, who better than you to do it.

  34. April 9, 2009 1:31 pm

    Now you being a palmist is a new too me.
    So you have two wonderful talents [Writing is obviously the first]🙂
    As far as Mr Advani’s assessment is concerned, you seem to be a right on most of the things.
    But, I’ll wait for more interesting people’s hand analysis. There are lot’s more than Advani Ji.
    One Interesting Suggestion –
    Thakur of Sholay😉

    • April 9, 2009 7:50 pm

      You are forgetting Thakur was born with both hands intact until Gabbar Singh severed them from his person.:-/

  35. April 9, 2009 2:30 pm

    Lot of analysis by just looking at his palm in the image.

    I wish to see Mr. Advani’s comments on this.

  36. psripada101 permalink
    April 9, 2009 7:17 pm

    Although I do not know much about palmistry, your analysis is spot on.Indeed, Advani is selfish to the point of being money minded.That explains why he accepted huge sums from the Jain brothers in the Jain Hawala case.Keep up the good work.

  37. rags permalink
    April 9, 2009 7:18 pm

    Nita, I went through the links you have provided and I think all the three researches are quite inconclusive. Connecting depression and testosterone levels during foetal growth is a huge leap actually. Even if there was a correlation I don’t understand how that could imply that palmistry has a scientific basis to it…

  38. rags permalink
    April 9, 2009 7:22 pm

    I don’t think there is any way of ‘proving’ or ‘disproving’ palmistry. Even if someone doesn’t ‘live up’ to his palm , one can always say he didn’t ‘use’ his potential…. I would say environmental factors play a greater role than the lines of your palm..

    • April 9, 2009 8:28 pm

      Yes ofcourse rags I agree. In fact I admitted as much in my reply that palmistry cannot be proven, not as yet I said that maybe one day it could be proven. However in your argument you have assumed that the lines on the palm are fixed at birth. They are not. They change and keep changing, just as we do and that is why the future can never be predicted by looking at the palm. However I am not asking you to believe. Take this post with a pinch of salt or humour even!🙂 For me though palmistry is proven because of the various hands I have seen over the years and the hands of people I know well. That is something personal. For me it was never a matter of blind faith. It was a matter of study and deep study over the years.

  39. April 9, 2009 8:35 pm

    Nita, if someone has undergone a hand surgery and there’s a line on the palm because of that cut made during the surgery, is that considered or rejected while reading the palm?

    • April 9, 2009 8:43 pm

      Amit, if you are talking of a scar, then ofcourse it cannot be considered a line. Nor can any kind of surgery that deforms the fingers can be taken into account. These lines have a direct connection with the brain and I see them as kind of electric nerve signals from the brain. But then that is just my own belief Amit. I am not asking you to believe.

      • April 9, 2009 10:22 pm

        Nita, it was out of curiosity. I’m more of a skeptic rather than a believer or a non-believer when it comes to such issues.

  40. rags permalink
    April 9, 2009 9:55 pm

    No probs🙂 I stopped believing in it after someone read my palm and said my lifeline was quite short🙂

    Lines on our palm and electric nerve signals to the brain….Hmm… Didn’t think in that angle…Forgive my questions but I don’t understand this at all… Are you implying that the brain plays a part in determining the lines of the palm? Yeah, lines on our palm do change over time… But I don’t know how the brain can actually influence those changes…Scientists have not yet been able to been able to decipher why we think the way we do, or why we feel what we feel, or what ‘determines’ our personalities, its a grey area of reasearch…. I’m wondering how the changes in a person’s character can influence the lines of your palm… I thought changes in the lines of palm was to do more with wear and tear…..Hmm….This is quite interesting actually….. After my exams I am going to take time off to read more about this🙂 (You can ignore my questions if they seem off topic or ridiculous :)).

    BTW, have you heard of nadi jyotisha in Chidambaram, TN? They use your thumb print there….

    • April 9, 2009 10:08 pm

      rags, I don’t mind the questions at all. And nor do I blame you for being annoyed when someone told you that nonsense about your life line. The length of a lifeline does not determine the length of life!! But very few people know this. And yeah, I believe that there is a connection between our thoughts and the lines on our palm. Our thoughts are what make us who we are…for example feelings of anger or bitterness or greed and these thoughts create some sort of imprints on our palm. How or why I don’t know but just for the heck of it observe the lines on the palm of a baby, and of an old person. Wear and tear will then be ruled out. However in some cases of dementia lines start fading. But be very careful of what you read on palmistry because most books are bullshit. They will scare you! Reading a palm is an art because there may be signs which are contradictory. Also, finger analysis is very important because the hand as a whole gives you the type of person and the lines are to be read according to the type of person. The same sign on a crook and an honest man will mean two different things.
      I have heard of nadi jyotisha and I think that the thumb is the most important thing in hand reading!
      In any case keep away from any fortune teller, whether astrologer or palmist. They are charlatans. Our life is in our hands. I do not believe in destiny.

  41. April 9, 2009 10:25 pm

    hey awesome….I tend to believe in this too but not that much that I would depend on it🙂
    I tried learning palmistry through books and internet but not as good as you Nita I gave myself a little test to analyse his hand and compare with yours….i should say 40% matched , 10 % did not and alas…rest i could not come up with😛

    • April 10, 2009 8:23 am

      Sahaja, I have been studying palmistry for about 30 years (since school) and plus had a mentor. Also, more importantly, I have been reading and analysing palms for these many years so the experience has helped a lot. It takes years and years to hone the skill of palmistry. When one goes deep into the subject one realises that the future cannot be told with any certainity.

  42. April 9, 2009 10:46 pm

    At first I thought you were writing a satirical post🙂
    Very interesting! I wonder if there are official palmists and numerologists assigned to politicians?

    Enjoyed reading this!

    g

  43. April 10, 2009 12:59 pm

    Hi Nita,

    I read one book on criminal psychology…long back. What i remember from that is people who have short and fat fingers(adwani) are generally have criminal instincts.

    is that true?

    Archana

    • April 10, 2009 1:16 pm

      No not at all. In fact Advani’s hand shows just the opposite. That he is extremely non-criminal! Criminal tendencies are shown by a combination of various signs and short and fat fingers have no relation to criminal tendencies.

  44. April 10, 2009 1:38 pm

    Nita,

    with reff “I don’t know too much about Astrology, but I do know it’s about how planets influence us and that is what I don’t believe in. Palmistry is entirely different, it is about the lines on our palms and it is our brain which forms the lines. Therefore these two things are different.”

    There are many evidence that planets do have influence on our body like,Asthmatic problem is more severe at full moon nights, wat abt tides,Chinese color therapy which is also use planets rays to cure ….. As I know astrology is more scientific than palmistry ….. Palmistry and astrology are correlated ……wat we have in kundali same is resemble in palmistry …. lines are changed the same way as planets change there effect on each house of kundali ……u also cant predict the future by kundali but can predict good and bad time ……….

    • April 10, 2009 4:00 pm

      Lucky, as I said I don’t believe in Astrology but if you say it’s more scientific I am not arguing as it’s a matter of belief. But what I can say for sure is that there is no resemblance to Palmistry. The lines on the hand change because the person himself changes. As far as I know a person cannot influence the way the planets move. I am not sure why you think palmistry and astrology are related. And even the good time and bad time that one can predict in palmistry is not fixed. It can change if the person changes.

      • April 12, 2009 3:59 pm

        Hi Nita,

        IMHO, statements such as “I believe it has a scientific basis, and hope that it may one day be proven” or “Of course I understand and respect the fact that you don’t believe in my xyz theory on personality traits” are a sign of intellectual laziness, and must be examined further.

        I am very troubled by somewhat analytical sounding heuristics such as “finger width correlates with criminal tendencies” and “life line does not correlate with length of life”, when they cannot be derived from a set of axioms. This is exactly my gripe about astrology. I can propose 10 more such heuristics off the top of my head, how do you expect to disprove them?

        Some more skepticism: Are there blind studies of palmistry? In other words, has a palmist analyzed a random shuffle of palm images from 100 different persons, without knowing apriori, their sociopolitical background and predicted their character traits better than with random accuracy? Also, as a neuroscientist, I can tell you that vague beliefs about the brain influencing patterns on the palm electrically, while seemingly harmless, are symptomatic of nothing less than religious irrationality.

        I’d also like to point out that this is a very interesting comment thread on the nature of belief. I am fascinated to observe yet another instance of, at the outset, a rational mind like yours, indulging in obvious irrationality (such as palmistry), and highly satisfied not to question the assumptions underlying certain interpretations. I would like to advocate intellectual integrity. In other words, I believe that one must apply the same piercing rationality to study and comment on the Indian political scene, social problems confronting our cities and so on, you

        Finally, I am not willing to enter into a tired debate on science vs. religion, the limitations of rationality, or the shortcomings of psychoanalysis. I am well aware of the limitations of Cartesian, Randian, or Freudian thought.

        I hope you publish this.

        Regards,
        A regular and concerned reader

        • April 12, 2009 4:03 pm

          Oops, unfinished sentence: In other words, I believe that one must apply the same analytical standards (examining assumptions, pointing out outliers, and so on) to study and comment on the Indian political scene, social problems confronting our cities and so on, you doubtlessly excel at, as to human personality traits, for instance.

          • April 12, 2009 5:58 pm

            Dear Pavan, you need not be concerned about me although I believe in palmistry.🙂 I think it has a scientific basis. O.K I will go one step ahead and say that I believe it is a Science in the way that Psychology is a science and I know the principles upon which it operates. Call me irrational if you will.🙂 It is always easy to disbelieve rather than believe and call those who believe irrational. Even though I am not religious I do not call people who believe in God irrational and I guess that is where we differ. I am too lazy to try and convince you, because frankly that was never the object of my post, to try and convince anyone. I did the analysis as I am a palmist and others may take it or ignore it. That’s it, and I don’t care if people do not believe. By doing this analysis I am being true to myself and to my blog, because after all, I am a palmist. I am indeed sorry if as a reader it disturbs you. Can’t you simply be amused and laugh at me, instead of being concerned about me? I can assure you, I am sane.🙂
            Oh yes I have analysed palms of people I have never met and have been correct in my character analysis.
            p.s. also those things you mentioned about finger width being related to something and so on, is not correct as no one sign relates to anything.

            • April 12, 2009 7:19 pm

              Hi Nita,

              Thanks for your reply!

              Let me clarify that I am not banishing your sanity outright based on one post🙂 I have read with great curiosity, your posts on political and social issues in India. I respect your unbiased stance on many matters, your reliance on facts, the ease with which you support your claims with compelling statistics, and so on. My concern is not about _your_ sanity per se. Rather, I feel that you are an influential blogger, with several readers who look up to your opinions. Therefore, given it is polling time, I would expect an important voice like yours to advocate that people make their voting judgments based on the manifesto of the leaders, their history of delivering on promises, their strategic alliances within and outside India, and so on, rather than on occult/irrational/quirky (not intended as pejoratives) methods such as palmistry🙂

              Regards

              P.S. I am not fundamentally opposed to a consistent body of correlations between palm patterns and personality traits, ultimately leading to a theory of personality traits consisting of laws/principles/heuristics, as long as the theory is derived from a set of axioms, and independent of the practitioner. In this context, I am curious if there exists a descriptive (as opposed to normative) body of work that catalogues the formation and modulation of palm patterns along the genetic –> ontogenic –> environment pathways…

              • April 12, 2009 7:34 pm

                Yes Pavan, there is a work like that and it’s by Benham. There are a set of prinicples and axioms. For me that book is the bible of Palmistry although a lot of what I have learnt is through my own experience. And I know what you mean about writing about candidates and their experience etc but frankly I think it’s all PR and hogwash. Sorry! I would prefer to look at the palm and evaluate the person. This might shock you but I have done this all through my life when it comes to people I don’t know, like for example hiring a maid. I have no way of knowing whether her references are correct and where politicians are concerned most of them are liars, even the honest ones!🙂 When it comes to evaluating people I don’t know I rely more on palmistry. And as for politicians’ manifestos everyone has wonderful manifestos but when it comes to delivery they fail don’t they.
                I do value readers like you Pavan who appreciate my other posts but palmistry is a side of my personality too. I am going to a series of posts on this and I do hope that you can grin and bear it and not completely discount my rationality!🙂 In fact I am going to do something I have never offered any reader. You are welcome to send me your hand photos, at least a dozen of them with your fingers and hands held upwards as if you are raising your hand to someone, but held in a natural position. What you need to do is close your fist and then open your fingers naturally until they are straight. It is imperative that your fingers are held in a natural position. I know nothing about you, though alas you have already told me that you are neuro scientist or something of that sort. But that would not influence your personality. The personality is the personality, whatever your profession. I won’t publish the reading on the blog but will send it to you by email. Ofcourse if you send me a detailed print of your hands with a highly powerful camera which captures all the ridges and lines on your palm then I can tell you more, even your past. You need to mention whether you are right handed or left handed. The photograph needs to be taken without the flash.
                You may ofcourse not be interested and that is alright too. But if you are challenging me, I am willing to take up the challenge.🙂

                • rags permalink
                  April 12, 2009 8:10 pm

                  Nita, you don’t have to worry.
                  Palmistry is fun and I’m sure people are not going to elect leaders based on this. I wish I had been as sceptical as Pavan. Then you might have done a reading for me😉

                  • April 12, 2009 9:24 pm

                    Thanks rags. And as for the last sentence, I shall let it pass.🙂

                  • Vivek Khadpekar permalink
                    April 13, 2009 5:08 am

                    Rags,

                    “…I’m sure people are not going to elect leaders based on this [palmistry].”

                    I would not be so sure. If people can vote for the last word in sewage, called Hindi film stars (I repeat, ‘stars’ not ‘actors’), then it wouldn’t surprise me if something far less offensive such as palm readings of candidates played a role at the hustings.

                    • rags permalink
                      April 13, 2009 1:17 pm

                      Hmmm… maybe you have a point. That madness is not restricted to Bollywood stars alone, here in TN we’ve had a succession of film stars making it big in politics. They have been so successful that every Tom, dick and harry in the movie industry wants to join some party. Its quite sickening actually……

                      But I had thought bloggers were a more enlightened lot🙂

                • April 12, 2009 8:24 pm

                  Haha,

                  Thanks Nita, I consider that a very generous offer, relative to the etiquette on this non-personal blog😉. Hogwash is a good word to describe among other things, Machiavellian ideological manipulations for vote banking🙂.

                  I wish I could send a picture of my hands to you. Unfortunately, I was paralyzed during infancy, and had to have my hands amputated. Today I am self sufficient, and socially accepted, thanks to anthropomorphic prosthetics with rudimentary functionality. Sadly for palmists, my prosthetic palms lack natural looking patterns. I am also grateful to a highly sophisticated brain computer interface (BCI) that translates my thoughts into text, with the express purpose of providing feedback on blogs😉

                  Kidding, I am merely a state-of-the-art text interpreting and content generating software. While I was designed to have a personal history, and a fluidly evolving identity, my architects did not foresee the eventuality of my palm patterns coming into use, and therefore did not equip me with a set😉

                  Kidding!

                  But seriously, thanks for your offer. I’ll consider sending my palm prints to you one day.

                  Regards.

                  P.S. My claim to be a neuroscientist (although true) was intended as a quickfix claim to authenticity, rather than a status signal.

  45. April 10, 2009 5:03 pm

    I m not arguing or forcing u to believe in palmistry ….I got surprised that astrology dont have ant scientific base …….well ,how can we say that lines of hand change because of person …may be its a age effect !!! or we can say that is because our palm fold , the lines created …….as I gathered , palm have every planet in hand ….every single finger root has some relationship with planets ………I m confused if it is not than how ppl decide to wear stone on a particular finger ……….. what is the shankh and chakra on finger ?? why we say that ur moon,venus …etc is flat or good ? We cant imagine palmistry without planets …..if we ,then its not a Indian palmistry ……may be western !! like “Yog” is different from “Yoga”😉

    Thanks for replying on my stupid thoughts ……

    • April 10, 2009 5:34 pm

      Lucky, your thoughts are not at all stupid. You are right that the names of the mounts in the hand are of planets! And that is why the confusion I think. Well, that is how someone named them and attributed qualities to them, but that doesn’t mean that the planets influence. And as to why the lines change, as I said somewhere in the comments it is because of the influence of the human brain which is directly connect to the lnes! Also I did not say that astrology has no scientific basis. All I am saying is that I don’t know. Hope this answers your question.

  46. April 10, 2009 5:07 pm

    I m not arguing or forcing u to believe in palmistry
    ………read astrology in place of palmistry…..it shows ur palmistry effect on me🙂

  47. Indian Homemaker permalink
    April 11, 2009 11:54 am

    He is straightforward, trustworthy and dependable. He is an honest man.🙂 Proves politics can totally change us!

  48. April 12, 2009 7:58 pm

    Nita, how about a post on UPA’s performance during the past five years? Improvements in law-and-order situation (if any), corruption, changes in poverty levels, new development projects etc.? That would (or, in theory, should) be more important to people to base their voting decision on, rather than what Sonia’s hand says.😀

    • April 12, 2009 8:17 pm

      Sorry Amit. I am not capable of doing a post on that. I do not have the indepth knowledge or the resources for it!🙂 You will find many blogs who write this type of thing far better than I can! In fact I think the newspapers and magazines are doing a great job! There is nothing I can write which is better than what they are writing. In fact I have read similar articles to what you mention.
      The only original thing I can offer as of now is palm readings! Ofcourse I know that people will not base their votes on that! This is simply an added insight into the personality.🙂
      If I do feel strongly about something regarding elections, and I can write something original and useful, I certainly will.

  49. April 13, 2009 6:32 pm

    I have shown my hand to a lot of Palmists(a few famous ones) and most of them came out with almost the same things.🙂 This is one field which intrigues me to no ends. I just love showing my hand.🙂
    So, whenever I meet you, you are going to read my hand.
    I was reading through your analysis and was thinking – Where is the selfish trait. It has to be there. And there it was at the end!! So true!

  50. openlight permalink
    April 15, 2009 4:16 pm

    Is palm reading is more effective as lines on hand changes with time.

    Does face reading also does the same thing?

    Rest, there are many online palm reading websites which do this online.

    I know about palm reading (I tried) is basic, concentrate on 4 lines – Life, Mind, heart and luck line.

    openlight, I do not know anything about face reading. And reading lines without understanding the whole hand is like using gears without any road sense. Reading lines without taking into account the hand will always give a wrong picture. – Nita.

Trackbacks

  1. Astrologer’s Turn « Mocking Buddha - The Blog

Leave a Reply

