Skip to content

Summary Post of the past week

October 18, 2008

These are the five posts I wrote last week. One of them (the story) is a re-published post:

Karzzz – Movie Review The 1980 Karz (Rishi Kapoor and Tina Munim) was a blockbuster, but one wonders whether blockbusters should be remade. Particularly movies like Karz…the whole rigmarole of revenge, larger than life villains, and helpless women waiting for a man to come and rescue them can put off today’s generation. Considering that most of the actors do an average job, and the cinematography, the sets, and screenplay are not worth talking about, it is unlikely that this movie will get good word of mouth…

Legalising live-in relationships Last year women in live-in relationships were legally protected under the domestic violence act and in January 2008, the Supreme Court validated long-term live-in relationships as “marriages”…And now, in Maharashtra at least, the state cabinet has given “its green signal to protect the pecuniary interests of the other woman…There has been outrage against this proposal…I wonder if such a law could make a man think twice about living with a woman as his wife because now he would have to pay for her upkeep even after they break up?…

Blog Action Day on Poverty (short story) This post is in honour of Blog Action Day 2008 (15th October 2008) – I picked this one because it’s a little different. It’s fiction…

She was a real lady. Soft spoken and gentle, with a constant half-smile on her face. Never would she complain or show any distress at the hard work she had to do all day. She accepted this as her fate. She was born into the grinding poverty and could see no way out of it…

The Accidental Husband – Review The movie reminds one faintly of Down With Love (Renee Zellweger) although it is nowhere near its class…In this one, the lead actor (Uma Thurman) is Dr. Emma Lloyd, and she  publishes a book on how to avoid the irresponsible men…The theme of the movie (what goes into making a lasting relationship) is an interesting one but the movie does not explore it in depth…there is an implication that a man who is reliable and a good husband is boring and such a premise itself exposes the hollowness of the approach of the director…But then this movie is light, frothy entertainment… for a 90 minute movie, it isn’t terrible, considering what it set out to be…

Hero worshipping non-heroes Wonder why so many of us hero worship those who are not heroes. What these “heroes” have in common is that the followers refuse to accept that their “hero” has a flaw, and are intolerant of any criticism of him/her. I am not talking about movie stars or sports stars as such. I am referring to any successful and powerful person who manages to achieve a cult status…Hero-worshipping someone who is excellent at his/her job isn’t right. All their work cannot be good or the best…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2008 6:21 pm

    Weekly summary posts are a thing of past. You don’t need them. Seriously! you dont!

    If you really want to continue this, then have a separate feed for weekly summary and exclude this post from regular feed.

    well, I don’t know how to have a separate feed for summary posts. But anyway, I confess I do my summary posts more for myself. I need to summarize, take stock of what I have written. However I am not hung up on it, and if others find it irritating I can always discontinue it. However, there are about 3 people so far who have told me that they require it as they visit my blog only once a week. – Nita.

  2. nabinatrisha permalink
    November 4, 2008 4:26 pm

    this was good to see on the Reader Nita, collated in one place, you are so prolific and there is so much here sometimes when I guide a friend or want to post a link it takes considerable effort to find it as I cant remmber the categ I had seen it under, but this time it was easy to find this article on Live- In and I posted a link on my blog for Alok and whoever might be interested. Hope am not violating or infringing on any rights or whtever? You are so particualr abt such I had to ask to make sure, if I have just let me know wd remove, yeah?
    And I have some questions abt Live-In – shd I address that in an email?
    Also enjoyed ur Fashion review this time, very well written, even as I had that feature on ad film making (an old post) or the film itself.
    Thanks.

  3. November 4, 2008 4:33 pm

    yes please do not discontinue summary posts as you have done now, as I too access them from the Reader along with other posts and come here only when I feel I must say something to you. Its easier this way. Rather than having to do one summary and another for posts.
    Thanx.

  4. November 4, 2008 4:47 pm

    Thanks Trisha for the feedback. And no I am not going to discontinue the summary posts. I didn’t do it the week before as I was in a bit of a hurry to leave for my holiday and this saturday I plan to do a summary for two weeks at a go. Mostly it will be weekly though. And Trisha I don’t mind it at all if you post a link on your blog to my post. In fact I should thank you!
    About questions about live-in relationships you are welcome to write to me ofcourse. If it is not too private you can always write a comment on the post itself as that always interests readers and at times helps them too. Whichever suits you.

Leave a comment