Skip to content

Some interesting posts of the past and this weeks as well…

March 20, 2008

I am traveling for the next week and therefore will not be posting for a week or so. Most probably will post on 26th. However I shall try my best to keep track of comments, although I might be a little late in replying.

Before I take off I’m going to air a few older posts of mine which I liked. Here they are summarized…and in case the subject interests you don’t hesitate to plunge in.

Designations matter a lot in India...Last week my cousin’s colleague resigned from his job because the top management of the company he worked for refused to change his designation. He resigned even though that he had an excellent job, good pay, a good boss, and a professional working atmosphere with growth prospects… (short opinion piece)

Celebrities may be narcissitic but politicians are worse Politicians are worse than celebrities where narcissism is concerned. They often suffer from some kind of megalomania, which is several steps beyond narcissism!…Here are some quotes from India as well as the West which would reveal politicians’ delusive thinking and their self-obsession…some real howlers from Sonia Gandhi, George Bush, Lenin and Laloo… (basically funny quotes)

Faces from a small town in India These are the pictures I took on our trip to Daman. Faces interest me a lot because I feel that they tell the story of a person’s life… (a few photos)

Do we know why we follow certain rituals? The idea of women starving themselves to prolong the life of their husbands seems archaic. Yet millions of women from all over India continue to do it….There is no ritual in Hinduism which requires a man to fast for the life of his wife…Today in urban India widows re-marry…in today’s nuclear families, it’s very hard for a man to manage if something happens to his wife…So shouldn’t this ritual be changed to include men too? Shouldn’t men also fast for the life of their women? (short opinion piece)

Murder by domestic servants in India When a servant attacks you, no amount of fortification by heavy iron grills, intricate locking arrangements or sophisticated alarm systems can stop a killer from striking. Domestic servants can be the most formidable killers, because they catch their victim unawares and they stop at nothing…and often, they know their victims only too well… here are some precautions that you can take to… (I wrote this article for The Telegraph, Kolkata. I have added a list of dos and don’ts by the police at the end of the post)

You’re fat because you want to be Warning: This article is only for those who want to lose weight, not those who are happy with their weight! So if you are happy with your weight, don’t read further!… You want to lose weight but it’s impossible, isn’t it? You’ve had a medical check-up and there is no medical reason for your excess weight. But diet plans and exercises haven’t worked for you, have they? Ever wondered why… (short opinion piece of mine which was published in The Telegraph, Kolkata)

These are the 4 posts I wrote this week:

Are (or were) Meghalaya and Kerala matriarchal societies? One hears a lot about matriarchal societies. One hears about Kerala and one hears about the north-east, Meghalaya in particular. The fact is that neither of these states ever practiced Matriarchy…When descent and inheritance are traced through women it’s called a matrilineal system, but the matriliny is only a sub-system of matriarchy…However, women in the matrilineal/matrilocal system have a higher status in society than women in a patriarchal system, even if matriliny is not practiced anymore and even if women do not hold more power than the men…

The greatest peril of modern society – Celebrity Culture Celebrity culture has spread its tentacles in urban India. And what’s worrying is that we aren’t worried. In western countries people have started sounding alarm bells…Modern society is a jungle. Children left to learn things on their own or even left to develop at their own pace can get into trouble. In those days the peril was from an over-strict upbringing that could stifle a child’s personality…and today the peril is from too much freedom…

27 Dresses – Movie Review It’s a chick flick of the boring kind. O.K. Not so boring as it’s entertaining enough…but it leaves you with a hollow feeling at the end of it. Its a ‘romantic comedy’ they say, but this ‘romantic comedy’ did nothing for me. I didn’t laugh even once and nor did my eyes become moist at any point of time. It was all fake, the emotion was all fake. And so were the dialogues and the situations.

Movie Quirks – A Blogging Meme I am not into blogging memes or tags but more so the ones that elicit personal information. A tag about the movies is something I wouldn’t like to miss. Amit has given me an opportunity with his blog post on his movie quirks. He listed 10 movie quirks peculiar to him. Half of them I share and I’m listing these five first…

See you all after a week! Happy Blogging.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. axinia permalink
    March 20, 2008 5:14 pm

    Nita, I like your idea of posting some interesting posts of the past! – great stuff!!

  2. March 20, 2008 6:11 pm

    Have a safe and fun time away.

  3. March 24, 2008 11:58 am

    I have been following your blog from sometime now, although I have never left a comment. I think its a prefect blend of “entertainment” and “relevance to present times”.
    Its one of the best blogs I have seen in recent times. 🙂

    Thanks Amit. Good that you commented, because otherwise I would never have known you are following the blog. 🙂 I have seen you around on Ruhi’s blog… will drop in at your blog soon 🙂 Nita.

  4. Jackie permalink
    March 25, 2008 4:03 am

    Ms. Nita, I wholeheartedly agree with Amit. Enjoy your well-deserved break. We will try to behave in your absence.

  5. March 26, 2008 1:35 pm

    Want to thank all of you who came here and thought of me. 🙂 Thanks.

Leave a comment